We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 25 July 2007

Just got back from a lovely holiday at Bo Phut. After a very tiring journey from Manchester via Dubai and Bangkok I arrived at Ko Samui minus my suitcase. The Diehelm representative who met us at the airport reassured me that my case would appear the next day, and thank goodness, it did.

On arriving at Bo Phut resort there was a very impressive entrance and we were given a drink and a little garland which was worn around our wrists. We were escorted to our villa by a very nice chap through twinkly lit paths. The room was stunning with a super king sized four poster bed, exotic flowers, fresh fruit (which was supplied daily), and lots of other little extras like flip flops and a beach bag. There was also a handy mosquito plug with tablets, soap powder, citronella burner and scales in the bathroom. There was a very impressive lighting system next to the bed which also had an alarm facility. The turn down service in the evening included orchids placed on the bed, TV turned at an angle and slippers on the mat beside bed.

Breakfast is served buffet style in L’Ocean restaurant and you do have the opportunity to eat outside if you wish – you are not allocated a table. There is a lot to choose from tropical fruits, juices, yoghurts, bananas in syrup (very nice), eggs, bacon etc. There are also some rice and noodle dishes and dim sum.

We ate at The Sala Thai restaurant on the first night, which had a nice atmosphere and was beautifully lit up in the evenings. The meal here cost about £40. We also ate at the L’Ocean restaurant – I had one of the nicest meals of the holiday here and that was similar in price.

The pool area is very nice and there are three regular attendants who are very helpful putting the umbrellas up and down when there is rain or if you want some shade. They lay out the towels for you (unless you get up at 7.00 am like we did to get a decent space). The pool is busy and when we were there people were actually out sunbathing at 7.15 am so you do have to get there early if you want to choose a nice spot.

The staff came round about 1.00 pm each day with a slice of fruit to eat and a cold towel to cool off. The swimming pool is lovely and warm and there is a Jacuzzi section in it.

The beach is not a paradise beach with powder white sand and crystal clear water, but it is not bad. The sand is a bit gritty and the sea is actually quite murky and a bit slimy at the bottom as you go in but it is very warm. Most people did tend to go in the swimming pool for a dip.

There is also a gym and next door to that a library/Internet room with free access which came in handy.

Outside of the hotel as mentioned by other reviewers is the Fisherman’s Village. I found getting there a bit of trek as you had to walk along the beach, although it is not a long walk it is a little bit dark and obviously you do get sand all over your feet – and then down another road which is very dark and for some reason always wet (white trousers get filthy). We tried a few of the restaurants as recommended on this site and thought the nicest place to eat was the Starfish and Coffee. You can get a meal here with drinks, starter, main and a dessert for about £25. There is also a young man in the village who makes crepes while you wait which was quite enthralling to watch and these are really cheap.

There are lots of other restaurants dotted along the beach, we went to the Gecko which is about a 2 minute walk along the beach to the right and had some lovely Thai curries here (also very cheap) – don’t be put off if there isn’t anyone eating there, the food is delicious (especially the Gecko curry).

My favourite restaurant we went to was the Zazen Hotel restaurant - if you turn left at the beach from the hotel and walk straight down until you can’t go any further, it is just on the left lit up in orange. It is wonderful inside and has a very romantic feel to it. The food here was delicious we had Mediterranean food and I particularly enjoyed the violet ice-cream with cardamom custard.

We were at Bo Phut the second and third weeks of July – although the weather was hot and pleasant it was not beautiful blue skies for two weeks like you would get at this time of year on the Med. There was quite a bit of cloud, having said that weather did end up being good and we came back with good tans. All in all in only rained about four times during the day for a couple of hours but when it rains in Thailand it chucks it down and it only rained one evening. We only had one very bad day weather-wise.

We did visit Chaweng a couple of evenings but this was not our cup of tea – too crowded and sweaty and we were glad when we got back to the calm and serenity of Bo Phut. We also visited the Big Buddha which is about 10 minutes away by taxi and worth a visit. Visit early evening so you can catch the sunset.

We did not go on any excursions as we just chose to chill out. We did have a massage on the beach (second one after Coco beach bar) with a team of very amusing ladies. We had two hour long full body massages, pedicure and manicure for about £12. This is definitely worth a visit.

The staff at Bo Phut are so nice and can’t do enough for you to help. We remember Porn and Ae from the restaurant and Rat who was on duty in the afternoon always made an effort to have a bit of a chat. The staff on reception were very helpful when my suitcase got lost at Bangkok and did everything to make sure that I got it back as quickly as possible.

All in all we had a wonderful time – Bo Phut is a very special resort and we were very sad to leave.


  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank NicBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,259
    215
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
216
1,078
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in late May / early June during our honeymoon. We stayed in a deluxe room and did not regret choosing a deluxe room rather than staying in a villa. The deluxe room was spacious, clean, quiet, and had nice finishes. We feel like we got a great value for the money spent per night on the deluxe room. The stereo in the room did not have an iPod dock, so I would recommend bringing a cable with you that allows you to connect your iPod to the stereo in the room.

The pool is located just next to the beach, so it is very easy to go swimming in the ocean and then switch to the pool. The lounge chairs at the pool are extremely comfortable and the pool staff always helped us with the umbrella and with spreading our towels on the lounge chairs. The level of service was top notch, both at the pool, at the front desk / concierge, and at the restaurants. The staff always had smiles on their faces and always greeted us as we walked past them.

Prior to our staying here, we were concerned that the beach would be rocky rather than sandy (based on other reviews that we had read). We were pleasantly surprised that the beach was just perfect. The sand was not the fine, fine sand that you'd find at certain beaches around the world, but by no means was it rocky or coarse. We walked barefoot up and down the beach from one end to the other.

The quality of food at the restaurants is excellent, especially the thai restaurant. The poolside restaurant has a nice breakfast buffet every morning, although it would have been nice if they varied the selection. It was the same exact buffet every morning. The prices at both restaurants are reasonable and we enjoyed eating at the restaurants at the resort just as much as our meals that we ate in Fisherman's Village.

The concierge arranged for us to go on a snorkeling day trip to Koh Tao and Nangyuan Island. I highly encourage you to do that day trip. The snorkeling was excellent and the water was much more blue and clearer than the water on Koh Samui. And the views from the highest point of Nangyuan Island are priceless.

We took the resort's free shuttle bus to Santiburi Resort for the day just to see what it is like over there. We are very glad that we chose to stay at Bo Phut rather than at Santiburi. Santiburi is a much larger resort and we liked the cozy and quaint feel of Bo Phut rather than the sprawling Santiburi. Also, the pool at Santiburi is quite far away from the beach. So you need to either sit at the pool for the day, or on the beach for the day. At Bo Phut you can do both because the pool is literally on the beach. One nice thing about Santiburi is that they offer watersports that are not offered at Bo Phut. We enjoyed taking out the Hobie Cat and going windsurfing at Santiburi.

We went to Chaweng town for an evening just to see if the negative things that we heard about it are really true. We are glad that we went there for an evening, but once was enough. The town is congested, very commercialized (multiple Starbucks locations), and not pretty at all. Chaweng is a much, much bigger downtown than Fisherman's Village (the closest town to Bo Phut Resort) but we did enjoy spending an hour or two walking the streets of Chaweng. We are glad that we decided NOT to stay at a resort in Chaweng. By the way, taxi prices are negotiable and cheap, so it only costs between US$3 and US$7 for the 15-20 minute taxi ride from Bo Phut to Chaweng. And Fisherman's Village is only a 10 minute walk from Bo Phut Resort.

The mosquitos in Ko Samui are brutal, so be sure to wear bug repellant when you go out in the evening. The resort staff, during turndown service at night, lights citronella candles in your bedroom and also plugs in some sort of device that helps keep the bugs away from you while you're sleeping at night.

I have a couple suggestions that would make the Bo Phut Resort even better:
1) invest in king-size beds. Our king-size bed consisted of two twin-sized beds pushed together. It was comfortable and fine, but certainly not the same as a king bed.
2) the toilet area should have a full-sized door that separates it from the rest of the bathroom. There is not full privacy in the toilet area because the door that separates it from the rest of the bathroom extends from knee level up to eye level (not floor to ceiling).

  • Liked — peaceful, quiet, relaxing, top notch service
  • Disliked — the mosquitos
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
16 Thank jscharg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2007

We spent 5 nights here on our honeymoon - travelling in from Phuket and back out thru Bangkok...and it was the best reception we got. They made such an effort to make it special for us, petals in the bath, bottle of wine and a special cake, not to mention flowers all over the bed.

The room itself was very comfortable, everything provided, down to umbrellas as well - we were on the edge of the rainy season and they came in very handy. There was a cunning star ship enterprise electronic centre which housed all central switches for lights, and air con.... very handy!

As far as meals were concerned we ate in the restaurant on the first night. Opting for the international version rather than the thai section, we sat in front of the beach and watched as a man let sky lanterns off on the beach, surrounded by the beautiful fairy lights of the hotel. - A magical first evening.

We had a B&B option - and the breakfast buffet was wonderful.... I became addicted to dimsum and croissants! And their vanilla/coconut smoothy was to die for.

We enjoyed happy hour in the bar before going out one night and tried out 4 different cocktails. But mainly opted to go out for meals on the other nights as theres so much to chose from locally, as we hired a car from a hire place just to the right as you come out the hotel entrance.

I didn't use their spa as the prices were so high, but chose to go into Fishermans village where I had a wonderful massage for a fraction of the cost of the hotel.

The morning we left the Royal Princess was coming to stay for a night, so we did feel a little rushed out...and the place was crawling with security, but it just shows how highly the place is regarded if the Royals use it.

The only one downside we found was that cleaning of the rooms seemed to give preference to those with the most expensive rooms first - the villas... and as we just couldn't afford one we'd often come back to our room around 3-4pm and find it hadn't been cleaned. We live in Spain and like a siesta before the evening plans/entertainment begins, so we missed a couple of cleans 'cos of that. But they did say if we let them know when we left thehotel that night for our evening then they'd clean it right away.

I'd be back in flash given the money!! A true treat, and one I'll always remember.

  • Liked — The wonderful setting they provide which means you relax so quickly.
  • Disliked — The rain - but not their fault
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kht1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumrbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2007

Stayed here for 10 nights just before Christmas and it was nice and quiet. Hotel itself was very well maintained, staff were pleasant and helpful and the food was good also. We had a double room which was relatively spacious and nice and clean. The room was made up every morning (as you would expect) and in the late afternoon the room was prepared for the evening (scented candle, orchids etc), which was a nice touch. The bathroom was excellent with a decent power shower, good sized bath and a nice finish.
Overall the hotel was everything we expected and it would be difficult to think of an improvement. Although it can't be helped the beach was only average.
The sand was grainy and the sea was murky which ruled snorkelling out.
Lots of good restaurants within walking distance (mainly in nearby fisherman’s village), particularly the Italian one (can’t remember the name sorry).
If you’re interested in excursions don't bother with the jungle quad bike trek (or called something similar). There's very little to see and for those of us that want to let rip they won’t let you.

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — Nothing, beach was a little dissapointing though
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank webby252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2007

Sorry but I just don't recognise this hotel from the gushing reviews on this site. The property was vastly over-priced. I have visited Thailand 100+ times and have never stayed at a worse hotel in the country. Staff were amateurish. Food was abysmal - in terms of choice, preparation and service. Special arrangements for my wife's birthday (and confirmed beforehand) were discraded so that staff could leave the restaurant early for their own party. There are many better hotels than this in Samui so don't waste your money. I can only imagine that the hotel's management have been planting these glowing reviews. When I left the hotel, I felt that I had been mugged.

  • Liked — Leaving it.
  • Disliked — Everything.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank SirReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2007

Stayed in Bo Phut for 4 nights after a 5 night stay in Napasai. The hotel looked a little darker then from the website. Anyway, we were led to our room, which was a deluxe room and a jacuzzi tub on the balcony....now then, maybe I set my expectation too high, so I was a tiny little bit disappointed with the balcony....anyway, the room was clean and modern, and it's a good comfortable room. We stayed here mainly because it's sister hotel of Santiburi and we wanted to try its sister hotel. We got discounts for golf, did that twice and it was very, very good.
Breakfast was great, with a wide selection of food and drinks. The quality was good and service was good as well. We only tried its Thai restaurant once, which was only open in the evening, there was very nice Thai live music every night and the Lotus pond looked really great. The food was okay. Service was very good.
Near this hotel there are many restaurants, the one that's directly next to it was great! We returned most nights, sometimes we went there for lunch as well. The choices are unbelievable....in fact I think I prefer that restaurant much more.
Tried the spa in the hotel and it was good.
All in all, a good hotel!

  • Liked — good breakfast buffet, choices of restaurants nearby
  • Disliked — balcony could be done nicer!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tam_tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2007

My boyfriend and I spent 10 nights at the Bo Phut Beach Resort based entirely on the reviews we had read on Trip Advisor. We stayed at the hotel from 13th April to 23rd April 2007. This was during Ko Samui's hot season, and it was very hot (+90 degrees every day). We had absolutely no rain for the whole 10 days.

This hotel is exactly as the hotel photos show. It is immaculate and very comfortable. The gardens are well maintained and are lit up at night with candles and lights. It is classy and tasteful. The staff are very pleasant and can not do enough for you.

We stayed in a garden room and it was 10 out of 10. We looked at the villas, which are lovely, but for the difference in price I would advise you to stay in one of the hotel rooms.

I would recommend trying the following restaurants:-

Starfish & Coffee (Fisherman's Village)
Happy Elephant (Fisherman's Village)
Gecko (Beach)
Poppies (Chaweng)
Tongsai Bay Hotel (We had a lovely lunch at this hotel)

I would also recommend the beach massage and beauticians. There is one located on the beach about 100 metres along from the hotel on the left hand side. I had 3 beauticians giving me a pedicure, manicure and facial, all for £8 - with the sound of the waves lapping up on the beach in the background, this was one of the most relaxing experiences of my life.

I loved the laid-back feel of Bo Phut - it is a welcomed escape from busy Chaweng. It is a lovely beach and the water is clear to swim in. At night you can light lanterns on the beach and watch them float up into the stars. There are lots of restaurants on the beach and often fire work displays. It is just very special.

My boyfriend and I got engaged whilst in Bo Phut and it was the perfect place to do so.

Enjoy your holiday - we did!!

  • Liked — Spacious, clean, modern rooms.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank FKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
3.9 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
7.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
4.0 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#6 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bo Phut Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bo Phut Resort & Spa

Property: Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Address: 12/12 Moo 1 | Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#2 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#3 Business Hotel in Bophut
#6 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bo Phut Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bo Phut Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bo Phut Hotel Bophut
Bo Phut Resort And Spa
Hotel Bo Phut
Bo Phut Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing