We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“High quality”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Met our every need and whim. Staff made all feel special and could not do enough for me and my family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaraSamui, General Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Kate D,

Thank you for your comments posted recently after your stay with us in April, very happy to know you all enjoyed your holiday and that our staff helped to make your holiday just that bit more special!

We hope to see you back and to be able to provide our Bandara Hospitality to you again soon!

Best Regards

John MacNeill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    553
    158
    34
    14
See reviews for
335
934
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

originally booked a slightly more budget accomodation further down the beach, but ended up relocating due to size and security concerns. we booked at Bandara for a very reasonable price, and upon arriving were very happy we made the switch. Rooms/AC were mildly dated however very comfortable and problems rectified quickly. Resort amenities great and staff were very friendly. Grounds were well kept and provided a variety of different pools.

location was far enough from fisherman's village to avoid premium prices, but only about 10min walk away. good proximity to combination of both local food stalls/shops and tourist highlights.

would be happy to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank defaultcontent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaraSamui, General Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Defaultcontent,

Thank you for kind words from your holiday with us back in July 2011, was pleasing to know you enjoyed your holiday on Koh Samui and that you found our resort to be reasonably priced and provided facilities and services to your satisfaction.

I also was pleased to read you would return, and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future,

Best Regards


John MacNeill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We arrived to be greeted by reception and led to the lounge area and given a free drink. Check-in was painless. We were on the fourth floor facing the road, but only in the dead of night could we hear slight traffic noise. Room was just the job, with big balcony, and all was well til I sat on the bed. After two nights of wide awake misery, and having picked up a bad back I had had enough. You could feel the springs coming out of the side of the mattress and I had found the world's most uncomfortable bed. But fair play, I informed reception and by the time we returned from our trip they had put a foam mattress on top of the offending bed. It made the world of difference and at last I got some desperately needed sleep. I have to ask though, why a hotel like the Bandara expect people to have sleepless nights because of poor quality, or past their sell by date mattresses. The grounds were awesome, the pools stunning, plenty of sunbeds (comfier than the mattress) and a real clalm about the place. At night we never saw anybody in the resort after 9pm - and the excellent barman Toe was the only human we had contact with. He is a top bloke. Staff top class, loved the breakfasts. Lots of sunbeds at all times on the beach, which is not my idea of a holiday beach, fine shingle. Oh, there was free wifi and you got a code which allowed access in your room. That was a big plus - what was a minus was the abysmal amount of clothes storage space and the six hangers that came with it. Bizarre. On the funny side, you need to be a pygmy to access the safe - it is free - and I lost count of the number of times I banged my head. Oh, just along from the safe, built into the same unit,was a speaker with a blue light. We woke in the middle of one night with the light flashing on and off, filling the room police car style. We asked reception to sort it - they did - but it kept coming back on. We had to block it off with books in the end. So great hotel with niggling things, but I would definitely visit again, only test the bed before taking my room! Details of location and hotel's closeness to Fisherman's village is mentioned elsewhere. I would say though the tour shop directly across from the hotel did good tour deals at a cheaper price - first class they were, too. Also recommend the Italian across the road if you don't fancy trekking out. Bophut is very quiet generally.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christheblueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaraSamui, General Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Christheblueboy,

Thank you for your comments after your stay with us in early April, pleased to note in general you did enjoy your stay, and appreciate your feedback about Khun Toe from the Bar, i am sure he will be very pleased to know he made a positive impact during your holiday.

I do note your experience with the mattress in your room and do apologise for this, we are in the process of sourcing new mattresses and will have this taken care of in the near future. We do indeed expect to provide a great sleep experience, after all you are on holiday to relax, and we do wish our guests to have wonderful holiday experience not only by the beach and swimming pools but also in our rooms.

Thank you again for your comments, and do hope you may return again,

Best Regards

John MacNeill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Nice hotel, clean and spacious rooms and big bed! Great pool and friendly staff. Breakfast was fantastic with a large selection. Beach was nice, although not so clean when we went. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaraSamui, General Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Suzidal,

Thank you for your kind feedback, glad to know you had a great holiday here on Koh Samui and that you liked our Resort.

We hope to see you again soon,

Best Regards

John MacNeill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Staff are so friendly and helpful from the time we were picked up at the airport till we left the resort. The resort was a relatively large one and the environment was relaxing. The room was comfortable though there were some features of mild wearing. The resort had four nice swimming pools and a big garden leading to the beach. Free kayah and windsurfing were available at the beach. Free Wi-fi and computer room were also useful for us. Breakfast was ok and it could be better if there were more food to choose from. The location of the hotel was also convenient.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are further away from the main road and the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ykeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaraSamui, General Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear EricykCheung,

It was very pleasing to read that we made a positive impact with you for your holiday on Koh Samui from the moment you were met at the airport until you departed after your stay.

We are in the process of doing preventive maintenance on the resort and our aim is to freshen up all areas, including our rooms, and do note your point about mild wear and tear. This is being addressed and thank you for highlighting this to us.

We do hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards


John MacNeill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed in one of the villas at The Bandara which have their own little garden and plunge pool. They are a bit more expensive but worth it I think. The bedroom and bathroom are spacious and have everything you need. There is even an outdoor shower and bath should the mood take you. The staff are all very friendly and attentive, greeting you with a sawasdeeka at every opportunity. We reported a couple of things not working and someone came straight away to fix them. Our only complaint would be that as the nearby restaurants and bars are so much cheaper than the hotels, everyone goes out in the evenings, leaving the hotel a bit dead. Caz

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazza00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaraSamui, General Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Cazza00,

Thanks for writing about your holiday and experience with us recently. i was pleased to read you enjoyed your villa and that you had a lovely and relaxing stay.

I do note your point about the excellent variety of restaurants and bars in the locailty of the Resort, and it certainly does offer lots of options and sometimes at cheaper prices, however we feel the hotel pricing is in line with many of the 4 star Resorts on the island. We will certainly consider how we can entice our guests to use our bars and restaurants more often.

Thank you for choosing Bandara Resort and Spa, look forward to having another opportunity to look after you again,

Best Regards


John MacNeill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

After 3 busy days in Bangkok it was so lovely to arrive at the peaceful and beautiful resort of Bandara. The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for us, we had one of the villas which was fantastic, we had our own garden with day beds, a plunge pool and table and chairs. The room was decorated to a very high standard, we not only had a shower in the main bathroom but also had an outdoor rain shower, very liberating!! The pools were lovely, our favourite being the one by the pool bar and beach, the views are so wonderful it is difficult to tear away from them. We chose this resort because it was only a 10 minute walk in to the Fishermans Village, an area full of lovely restaurants and bars, many of them overlooking the beach and the sea. We did venture in to Chaweng on a couple of occasions, but really not our cup of tea, OK for shopping but more for the football shirt wearing brigade who just want to drink all day on the beach, far too busy for us! Some of the restuarants in the Fishermans Village were pretty pricey but if you turn right out of the hotel instead of left (you would turn left to go to Fishermans Village) there are a few restaurants and bars along the road which are excellent and very reasonable. Unfortunately we did not experience the Spa at the Bandara, it was very expensive, approx £60 for a back neck and shoulder massage! however we found a lovely little massage parlour (there are lot's of them around) just a few minutes walk from the hotel, £6.00 for the same massage, although you wouldn't have all the other luxuries that the Banadara Spa would offer. Breakfast was lovely with everything you can imagine. We attended a couple of the hotel events, a barbeque on the beach and a traditional Thai evening with music and dancers, the food was amazing and so was the entertainment, John the Manager is Scottish and every Tuesday invites his guests to join him for cocktails on the lawn, a great way to meet him and the other guests. All in all a lovely holiday, thank you Bandara.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms at the front of the hotel as it can be noisey from the traffic, if you can af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaraSamui, General Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Mercedes2010,

Thank you for providing your review of our resort after your recent holiday on Koh Samui, great to know you had a wonderful time on the island.

I do understand that a Resort Spa may be comparably more expensive than the local massage parlours that can be found, however our Therapists are trained to a very high standard with strict adherence to Thai Spa Standards, plus of course as you mention the little luxuries and ambience of our Spa is a bit different.

I am glad you enjoyed the Cocktail Party on our BanyanTree Lawn and also the Beach BBQ and Thai Night, these are great ways to try lots of different tastes and have some fun entertainment as well!

Thank you again and hope to welcome you back!

Best Regards

John MacNeill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#14 of 187 in Bophut
2,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#13 of 187 in Bophut
966 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 187 in Bophut
472 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Property: Bandara Resort & Spa
Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 Family Hotel in Bophut
#19 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing