We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I always review places before I visit and I appreciate some people will find fault with anything, however you will be truly struggling to fault this. Set in a perfect location in BOPHUT this is a superb place. The rooms are lovely and all have balconies with a separate bed on! Dont bother upgrading as all looked great just ask for one pool side. If you are 18-25 looking to party into the early hours then look elsewhere. There is a serenity and grace about this place, fronting onto a private beech and only 3/4 mins walk to the popular bars and restaurants in Fishermans Village. The grounds are huge and very well maintained, the main pool is easily 60 metres long with 8 elephant fountains emtying into it, the best pool I have ever seen. Also there are cabana type lounge areas with their own fans to escape the sun, no extra cost. There is a lawned area plus 2 extra pools leading down to the beech and bar. The staff were friendly and the breakfasts great. If you are after peace and relaxation and are going to Samui, then this is the place.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room but didnt seam any difference between these and the lowe rate superior. Go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffo1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaraSamui, General Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Jeffo1911,

It was great to know you had a most enjoyable stay with us recently and that we were able to exceed your expectations of our services and facilities, not to mention our location in Bophut.

It is truly rewarding to be able to pass on such positive comments to our team who I know will be so pleased to learn how delighted you were with your stay at our Resort for your holiday on Koh Samui!

We do look forward to seeing you both again on your next visit to Koh Samui, and to welcoming you back!

Best Regards


John MacNeill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    540
    153
    33
    14
See reviews for
326
900
52
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We came here for our honeymoon. Before moving to this resort we stayed in two other resorts on the same island, and this one is definitely the best out of the three (and more expensive, but you get what you pay for). The hotel has a private strip of beach and it is close to the fishermen's village (about 10 minute's walk).

The first thing we noticed was the service at the lobby. They never let you wait too long, and it seems that every staff scan the room all the time to see if someone needs help or has been waiting too long. We were serve with a cold drink and a snack, and while we were waiting for the lady to come back from the front desk a couple of staff members came to make sure we are okay and if we need more drink.

When we entered the room, there was a big "Happy Honeymoon" spelled out in leaves and flowers on the bed! I mean, I am sure it is a fairly common thing for the resorts to do but we didn't get that in the other resorts, so I was pleasantly surprised. The outdoor bathtub was filled with water and rose petals, and a few plumeria flowers from the tree above fell in to make it even more beautiful. There was a private backyard with a small pool and two shaded resting areas beside the pool. They also send over champagne and some fruits and dessert after we checked in. The room was very clean and they had an electronic mosquito repeller installed in a discrete place in the room so we were not bugged by insects. A couple of odd insects did get into our room at some point but that cannot be avoided, we are on a tropical island after all : ).

The breakfast was very good and had a lot of variety, and they have an automatic pancake machine that produces little individual-sized pancakes! Very cute. They also have smoked salmon which was a popular item, also oatmeal, heart- and star-shaped fried eggs, and all kinds of fruit. You can also take food back into your room if needed. Their juice is also the best out of the other resorts we went to, it actually tastes like real juice and not sugar water. The guava juice was really great.

The pools are very nice, and the beaches are too. There is a little hut near the beach where you can get cheap Thai massages. We didn't go because it was raining and very windy the few times we tried to go, so we went into the fisherman's village for the massages.

We had a very relaxing stay at this resort. The price is reasonable for the kind of service you get. I would recommend this resort to anyone visiting Koh Samui.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Junashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaraSamui, General Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Junashi,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments from your recent honeymoon at our Resort, was delighted to know you had a great stay and our service and facilities were to your satisfaction. I am glad you liked the little touches in your villa, it is our way of saying, "Congratulations on your recent Nuptials!"

We hope you will return to celebrate your 1st Wedding Anniversary with us!

Best Regards


John MacNeill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I'm writing this review sat on the Bandara's beach on our last day. We have come to Thailand for the first time for our friends wedding and I wasn't sure what to expect. When we arrived it was 11pm and very hot. Whilst checking in staff brought us a lovely refreshing drink and then took us to our room and gave us a tour of all facilities, controls etc.

We had a standard room and we were amazed by the size. There is a huge, comfortable double bed, lounger, desk, tea and coffee facilities, mini bar, TV and DVD player. A bath overlooks the room with a seperate shower and toilet. We had a large balcony overlooking the main pool. For £80 a night it's amazing.

The resort is big compared to The Anantara and Bophut Resort and Spa (friends were in either so we checked them out). Although the other two are more 'polished' we had no complaints. The loungers all have cushions, there are 4 pools, we spent most of our time on or near the beach.

The beach is very quiet and calm. Lovely warm water but the sand is quite course. Great as it cleans easily but it won't be to everyone's liking. The views are stunning. The only problem is that due to the position of the beach, all the resorts here lose the sun about 4pm, so if you're a sun worshipper it's an early start or another part of Koh Samui for you.

Staff are all very friendly and helpfull. Wifi is available throughout and is very good, even on the beach. The gardens are beautiful and very well kept.

The bars are reasonable. Compared to the UK prices are fair and happy hour(s) do 2 for 1 cocktails and 3 for 2 beers. However when you compare prices with the shops it's a lot. Water is 60 baht (about £1.20) here but the same bottle is 8 baht at the Family Mart across the road. Food seems reasonably priced and room service was decent, although more expensive than the local restaurants.

The resort is a 5 minute walk into the Fishermans Village and there are plenty of great places to eat. This does mean the Bandara is pretty quiet on a night. Generally it's cheap in Bophut, food costs on average £4 a dish for Thai food and we've yet to have an average meal. Drinks are more and spirits are quite pricey in the village, around £4.50 for a vodka.

If you have children the Bandara is the place to choose here, with 4 pools it's ideal for babies and young kids. Bophut Resort and Spa has one pool and I would suggest there for honeymooners or couples after a quieter place.however the Bandara is not full of kids, quite the opposite. It's mainly couples.

I would definitely recommend a day trip to Angthong National Marine Park (our friend booked us at another hotel but I'm sure the hotel offers the trip) as you'll see literally, paradise. It's the park where the fictional island in the book and film The Beach is set (although it was filmed elsewhere). We were also here for Sondkran, Thai new year. Expect loud dance music from 8am and a dousing if you leave the resort. However, it's brilliant.

Overall I cannot fault the Bandara. We've had an amazing time and 100% recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaraSamui, General Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear JamesT17,

Thank you for your great review of our resort after your recent holiday on Koh Samui, very glad you all had a great time, and that our resort facilities and services were to your satisfaction.

We are indeed blessed with a great location near to FisherMan Village in Bophut and do acknowlege that you may find local and private restaurants and bars that may be cheaper that our Resort, however our pricing is comparable with many 4 star resorts and hotels on the island and in the region.

Thank you again for your very positive remarks and hope to welcome you back on your next holiday to Thailand,

Best Regards


John MacNeill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Apart from an initital issue on the scope of the full board purchased through a tour operator that tour operator resolved, we are having a great time. The food is excellent, the staff genuinely friendly and the accomodation, in spite of needing some freshening, is very good. After a tour of the island we are pleased to have chosen this area as it is peaceful and relaxing, Fishermans Village a reasonable distance away.

Room Tip: We were at the front and there is traffic noise. From there the restaurant iwhich s on the beach, is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaraSamui, General Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Mike T,

Thank you for your review of our Resort after your recent stay with us, glad to know you had a relaxing holiday with us!

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our food offerings, that our staff were friendly, and that our rooms and the quallity of sleep was good.

Thank you again, and hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards


John MacNeill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Having booked some 5 months in advance and having our reservation confirmed and guaranteed by credit card, never in our wildest dreams did we EVER think that the hotel WOULD NOT honour the booking! With a minimum cancellation of 7 days from the arrival date required by the hotel, they KNEW we were coming as we DID NOT cancel the reservation. They waited until we arrived at the hotel (arriving after some 12 hours of flying) to tell us that they had OVERSOLD the accommodation in the hotel and DID NOT have the room that we had booked available. Are you kidding us – we travel regularly and never have we arrived at a hotel to find that the hotel has oversold their rooms in the hope that some of the guests would just not turn up – I’m sure we would have been charged if we hadn’t!

Upon arriving we were shown to a waiting area and provided with a drink. We were also asked to fill in an arrival document (with our personal details), provide our passports and our credit card which were taken away. We were then asked to wait as the guest relations manager ‘would be with us shortly’. The warning bells started to ring as we’ve never come across a ‘manager’ checking in guests. The manager arrived (we won’t mention his name) and proceeded to give us some inane commentary about how they had overbooked the hotel, the room we had booked was not available and could we please help them out. He then went on to say that it wasn’t the hotel’s fault – again, are you kidding – who’s fault was it – ours?? THEY took the bookings – more than the rooms that they had – so they should be held accountable. What type of establishment does that to people – and why does their management team think it’s ok to do that to people – especially when you’ve flown a significant distance to get there! And why take our personal details, passports and credit card – why not wait until we had spoken with the manager if you knew that you didn’t have a room available?

He did offer us another room – downgraded from the room we had booked, however this room was assigned to another incoming guest so we knew that if we took this room, another guest would have been in our situation – without a room – and we didn’t think that was fair. We only had 6 nights to have a break, so to find out that the hotel you’ve booked has oversold the rooms and you were one of the unlucky ones not to get a room brings a range of emotions – from anger to tears to what are we going to do now! There were other people in the waiting area who appeared to be experiencing the same amount of frustration we were – so no prizes for guessing that they too were denied a room. We appreciate the whole ‘mai pen rai - nevermind’ approach, and we’re usually all about taking things as they come, but the attitude of the management of the Bandara Resort & Spa needs a serious makeover – to not even contact us prior to our arrival and advise that there was a problem with our reservation when they knew very well that they were oversold shows a complete lack of respect for their guests.

We told the manager that we were not prepared to accept anything less than we had booked so left him to find us alternative accommodation of a similar quality. About 45 minutes later he came back with an alternative – but some 15 minutes from where we wanted to be based. We’d spent hours researching the various options in Koh Samui and Bophut was where we wanted to be, Mae Nam (which we will review separately) was not within walking distance and unless we were prepared to ‘settle for less’ to stay in Bophut then we had no option as there wasn’t anything of a similar type available in Bophut for the time we were going to be there.

The manager accompanied us to our new accommodation (which we will review separately) and allowed us the opportunity to look at the room prior to committing. The room itself was lovely so we decided to try it for one night and go from there. The manager of Bandara Resort & Spa did offer spa services, transport and drinks at the Bandara Resort & Spa as compensation for what had happened, but other than using their car a couple of times to get into Bophut, we wanted nothing to do with the Bandara Resort & Spa – and would never recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Koh Samui. Nothing that this resort could offer as compensation or excuses can make up for their poor customer service and practice of overbooking the hotel.

At the end of the day, the move to Mae Nam worked out ok, but unless hotels such as the Bandara Resort & Spa are held accountable for their practices (and from our discussions with other people we met in our travels we weren’t the only ones denied a room at the Bandara) then the policy of overbooking will continue and people who travel long distances to experience all that Koh Samui has to offer will leave with a very bad impression. Luckily for us, the wonderful people we met in Mae Nam made up for the poor management of the Bandara Resort & Spa, so we will return to Koh Samui again, just NEVER to the Bandara Resort & Spa.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank SuziQ68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaraSamui, General Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear SuziQ68,

I was sorry to read your comments about your experience on your arrival to Koh Samui and to our Resort, and indeed accept that we failed to honour our side to your booking.

We did experience some overbooking during the time you arrived however were glad to know that the alternative accommodation provided, with the service you received from the staff of that resort, you did have a good holiday in Koh Samui.

We do apologise again and hope you may reconsider and allow us an opportunity in the future to look after you, and make ammends for the disappointment you endured on arrival in Koh Samui.

Best Regards

John MacNeill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Met our every need and whim. Staff made all feel special and could not do enough for me and my family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaraSamui, General Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Kate D,

Thank you for your comments posted recently after your stay with us in April, very happy to know you all enjoyed your holiday and that our staff helped to make your holiday just that bit more special!

We hope to see you back and to be able to provide our Bandara Hospitality to you again soon!

Best Regards

John MacNeill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

originally booked a slightly more budget accomodation further down the beach, but ended up relocating due to size and security concerns. we booked at Bandara for a very reasonable price, and upon arriving were very happy we made the switch. Rooms/AC were mildly dated however very comfortable and problems rectified quickly. Resort amenities great and staff were very friendly. Grounds were well kept and provided a variety of different pools.

location was far enough from fisherman's village to avoid premium prices, but only about 10min walk away. good proximity to combination of both local food stalls/shops and tourist highlights.

would be happy to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank defaultcontent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandaraSamui, General Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Defaultcontent,

Thank you for kind words from your holiday with us back in July 2011, was pleasing to know you enjoyed your holiday on Koh Samui and that you found our resort to be reasonably priced and provided facilities and services to your satisfaction.

I also was pleased to read you would return, and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future,

Best Regards


John MacNeill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
3.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
3.6 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Property: Bandara Resort & Spa
Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 Family Hotel in Bophut
#19 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing