We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent location and lovely stay”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have been to Koh Samui many times and Bophut is most definitely the place to escape the hustle and bustle with enough choice to keep most tastes satisfied. If you are after a nightclub type holiday, this place is not for you. If however you like a variation of pubs, thai local restaurants, dinner at a quiet beach then you are at the right place here.
The room we had though was in the 100 number bracket and on the fourth floor facing a busy road. If you are a light sleeper this could pose a problem. Earplugs will deal with this though. The room was comfortable and kept clean. Sadly the bathroom showed signs of neglect and had mould on grout of the tiles and the net curtain met with lots of grubby fingers. This is the worst over with and for all the good points this hotel has its negligible in the bigger scheme of things.
The grounds are vast with 3 infinity style pools, lots and lots of sun beds and shades and all kept beautifully. Some renovation was in progress when we stayed there and the hotel gave is a very generous voucher towards our food/beverage or treatment. This worried us at the beginning but as it turned out we never noticed any construction noise to the point of thinking we may have misunderstood on arrival.
If you need to use a hairdryer bring your own as the hotel one is not very powerful.
The balcony has a fan and nice seating which is great for staying out and sit and chat.
The breakfast buffet is second to none, i have never seen such a variety of different foods for different cultures than here. All fresh and hard to choose as all is so yummy.
The food and drink are very reasonably priced and very good. Happy hour is a generous 50% off drinks between 5 pm and 9pm. A great opportunity to meet other guests as also is the managers drink reception. Other guests varied in age from honeymooners to families to retired.
If you like lunch on the beach turn left and go to the Cactus. The food is great (garlic chicken or pad thai) and the beer is the most reasonable priced on the beach apart from a little local bungalow shack across the river past the Zazen (the nicest resort).
If you like massages on the beach the ladies at the Sandy Beach resort are very good, the place is clean and well kept and is also good for lunch.
Friday night is market in Bophut which is fantastic. Its only a 5 minute walk down the road turning left out of the hotel. Food is good and you can take it, buy a beer at Big Mama, listen to the band and eat.
Also turning left out of the hotel is Addy siam restaurant and cooking school, its on the opposite side of the road and the best Thai food, try the glass noodle with giant prawns or the sun dried fried beef.
Joachim's, a german eatery also serves very good food and has genuine Weissbier. The hairdresser near by called my hair will give you the best wash and straightest blow dry I have ever achieved in a humid country.
Turning left out of the front of the hotel is a place called K Siri. This is another fab place for dinner and also well priced. The food is prepared in an open kitchen, all fresh and perfect.
On a rainy day a local bus taxi set us back 100 THB each way per person to Nathong. Great place to visit for a stroll and still mainly unspoiled by us tourists.
Maeenam is also worth a visit for dinner. A local bustaxi is 50 THB per person each way. Beware prices will vary after sundown. Negotiating what you are prepared to pay is essential.
Eat at The Twins on the main road. The restaurant is very hygienic, the service fantastic and the food excellent, also You and Me deserves a mention. There is so much more everywhere but these are just our favourites that we go back to again and again
Sadly there are also some monkeys and other animals dragged onto the beach possibly sedated at the best of time to make them easy to handle for tourists to have their picture taken with. Desist and these guys hopefully stop this unsavoury habit. There are tours where you can visit animals in a better way.
Beach food is cheap and we had no heath issues. The papaya salad is freshly prepared and we also sampled the prawns, mango and spring rolls. Worth a try.
All in all I would not hesitate to recommend the Bandara to anyone and we hope to be back.
The beach vendors are friendly and will accept a no, but will check every day weather you like to buy. Great boutiques in Bophut too.........

Room Tip: Try and avoid the 4 storey building on the main road, I think the rooms are numbered in their 100s
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art C, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

Thank you for the lovely review and tips to other guests. We do apologize for the shortcomings of of our bathroom. We will ask the Housekeeping Team to be more attentive to all the little details. The 100s rooms are all our Superior rooms. As they are at the front most of the hotel, they are most vulnerable to outside traffic. If it is possible for your next trip, we would like to recommend you to stay with us in our Deluxe room, far away from the traffic noises.

Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your memory.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    568
    163
    34
    14
See reviews for
351
961
53
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were due to stay at the Bandara for 10 days but this ended up being 3 weeks due to a medical emergency. We were there in quiet season and found the resort relaxing.
We were so glad to have a villa, the bed was very comfortable and great to be able to sunbathe and cool off in privacy. The gardens of the hotel are beautiful and we enjoyed the pools and beach. We enjoyed the long happy hours at the beginning of the holiday and the fresh coconuts. Great selection at breakfast and enjoyed a number of lunches and dinners at hotel, great to sit and watch the light change about 5.30pm. If you have a sweet tooth try the sticky rice with mango dessert. The beach bar service could have been a bit faster. We could hear some construction noise at times but we knew that was a risk when we booked. Close to walk to fishermans village along the beach, the sand is a little coarse so it's a mini work out. We got quite a few mosquito bites despite sprays and plug ins but as it was going into rainy season that's to be expected. The spa is more reasonable than home and a lovely experience.
We found the Bandara team to be very kind particularly when one of us was travelling to and from the hospital every day, they provided a car for free which was of enormous help. Art in particular helped with translations, came to visit us in intensive care, sent a fruit basket and secured our room for us for an extra week. The illness was absolutely nothing to do with the hotel or Thailand. We found the Bandara team to be very helpful and can recommend the Bangkok Samui hospital if the worst should happen- check your travel insurance today- you never know when you'll need it!

Room Tip: Great to have the space and privacy of a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art C, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

We are all very glad that you and your partner have arrived safely back home. The transport and all the arrangements were the least we could do to assist. Please feel free to come and have your vacation again! We look forward to welcoming both of you back to have the "perfect vacation". We are just really really happy that everything turned out fine in the end. Thank you for the positive review, we will definitely pass your message to the rest of the hotel.

Warmest Regards from Bandara Resort & Spa,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Samui
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Beautiful resort, spacious rooms with big balconies, great breakfast buffet and very long happy hours at the beach bar. The only thing was the front desk staff could have been better.
On the morning that I left, the front desk staff told me that the port was an hour's drive away and that they would arrange the taxi which would cost 600bht. I thought this was odd as it only took about 20mins drive to get there when I arrived and had cost me 150bht (although it was a minivan), but thought that I must be leaving from the other port for it to be that long a drive. Anyway, it took 20mins max! And was the same port I arrived at. Very strange!!?? So, my advice would be to be careful with taxi negotiations - I understand they don't have taxi meters on the island so you have to do a deal with them.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art C, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

We apologize for the misinformation that you have gotten from our Front Office Team. There are two main ferry ports in Koh Samui: Nathon and Lipa Noi. Normally we will inform that Nathon's ferry is approximately 20 - 30 minutes away while Lipa Noi is approximately 45 - 60 minutes. With regards to the price, THB 600 is our standard Taxi price from Bophut to Nathon Pier. It is quite expensive if you compared to the public transportation available from the pier. However it is the standard price of taxi on Koh Samui. We apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for taking the time to give us this constructive feedback. We will definitely strive to improve our communication skills. We would like to welcome you back to our Resort anytime. Please let us know when and if you will be coming to Samui!

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to Bandara in less than 12 months, this time taking my daughter to celebrate her 30th birthday. There was only one downside to our stay. On arrival we had been allocated a room with only one king bed. We certainly didn't want to share a bed, so I had to pay extra to upgrade to a room with 2 beds. I had queried with my travel agent whether we would get 2 beds and was assured by her we would, but was told on check in they didn't even have any superior rooms with 2 beds. Apart from this glitch we had a wonderful holiday, once again well looked after by all the staff. We also received 7500 baht for the inconvenience of the building works which we didn't see or hear. Couldn't put it towards our room upgrade though. Loved the 4 hour happy hour, new favourite cocktail is a mai tai. Yum. The pools were a little bit murky but didn't stop us from swimming everyday. Loved the little extra touches like a bowl of bananas left in the room one day, and long kong another. We also had a massage at the spa which was lovely. The food was excellent again, we only ate elsewhere a couple of times. Wouldn't hesitate to come back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jubyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art C, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

We apologize for the mix up with regards to bedding configuration. We sadly do not have any Twin Bed Setup in our Superior room. With regards to the pool, it is now fixed and clear. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back too Bandara Resort & Spa. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your memory.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Me and my family recently stayed at the Bandara resort (2 kids aged 3 and 7 months). We stayed in a villa and were really able to relax. The pools were excellent (a little murky of the first couple of days but were fixed and crystal clean after a couple of days) . Really enjoyed the large offering at breakfast and staff were excellent. They were all very friendly to not only us but our children. We were always greeted with a smile. A special mention to the guys out the front who were always wiling to help us cross the road and would wait for us to get what we needed and then help us back. The food at both the restaurant and room service were good quality and tasty. Traveling with 2 young children we really enjoyed the Bali type huts around the main pool, they were perfect for our family to stay for the day whilst swimming and enjoying some food and drinks. Having been to Samui 3 times in the past and staying at Chaweng we decided on a change. This was the perfect place close walk to the fishermans village with strollers. I would recommend this hotel to both families and couples. Any questions let me know.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a pool villa definately worth it. Loved having a bath outside and watching the geckos on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunbagsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art C, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

It is always nice to hear that our guests had a nice time at our resort. We will definitely let our staff know that they are doing an excellent job. Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your memory.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Sawadeeka. We have been back nearly two weeks now and the tan is fading faster than my lovely memories. What can I say, there is nothing much to critique about the Bandara.

On arrival, mid morning after a nearly 14 hour flight, reception staff greeted us with smiles, ice tea and flannels to freshen up. We had deluxe rooms overlooking the main pool which were spacious and clean, comfy big beds, efficient air con, as others have said the replenishing of bath towels was a bit hit and miss some days, but not a major problem and always solved quickly. We were all given a 7500 baht room credit due to buildings works in the resort of which we never actually heard any. Nevertheless, this was much appreciated and spent on the Thai Buffet nights and lots of yummy cocktails, particularly when they are 50% off between 5pm and 9pm.

Breakfast was absolutely fab, with nice bread, fresh eggs cooked to order, noodle station and pancakes. I don't think there was anything they didn't do. It must take them hours to set it up ready for 06.30. Always very fresh and also very clean. We had lunch by the pool a few times and whilst sometimes it took a while to come it was always good. The smoothies and juices were also scrummy.

The hotel has a small gym which is adequate. We didn't use the hotel Spa as it seemed expensive compared to other local places. Particularly to one a few minutes walk along the beach.

The pools were never busy or crowded, but agree with other reviews one or two days it did look a little murky. The beach is also lovely and despite the hotel warnings we often had a bite of lunch from the beach vendors, very cheap and very tasty. A short walk along the beach brings you to Fishermans Village which has a good selection of bars and restaurants and a few shops. Friday night is the night market here which is also good for 70 baht cocktails. Wifi is a bit hit and miss in certain parts of the hotel.

We got a tuk tuk to Big Buddha Pier and took the ferry to Koh Pangan for the day and sat ourselves down on the Sunset Beach which has the most beautiful finest sand I have ever come across. There were a few dogs on this beach, which freaked my non dog loving daughter out, as they were very friendly to the point of laying on your beach towel with you!

If you want fake branded (Mulberry/Jimmy Choo etc) handbags the best place is probably Chaweng, but don't forget to barter, we got ours for 1000 baht in the end (approx £20). Although the best night market is probably in Lamai.

Special thanks must go to the two guys on security for seeing us across the road safely and always with a smile. Our room maid who I think was called Kwai or Kai, who unfortunately went on holiday halfway through our stay. And the ever smiling and always helpful Cristina who works Front of House.

In all we can't wait to come back to this little piece of Gods tropical paradise and would certainly stay at the Bandara again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art C, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying with us at Bandara Resort & Spa!

We are very happy to hear that you had a great time at Bandara Resort & Spa. Pleas be rest assured, the pools are now clear. We will tell your praise to the Security Team; they will be thrilled that their actions are being appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort!

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbelltown, South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Booked a villa through an online site who had a spring sale on so we saved some money on a villa. Heard nail guns and angle grinders quite badly on the fourth day of our stay so complained, someone came to our room and said would be finished by 4pm and no longer would hear it again. Still heard it everyday to point it woke me up and on the last day had enough,so rang the manager who was completely rude to me, yelled at me and said we got our room cheaper because of construction. We got our room cheaper due to a spring sale according to my booking details, so was lied to once again. Other people had been given compensation but we would not be given any because we got our room cheap in the first place. I just thought it was due to it being wet season. Yes it warned us of construction but judging by other reviews it sounded like it would be minimal. Also bamboo between villa rooms had large gaps, resulting in a lack of privacy. The pool filter is really loud, room servicing is patchy and were often left with only one towel, hand towels and face washers were never replaced past the third day. The rain leaks through the window in the toilet. Mosquitoes are really bad in the resort. The grounds are well maintained and very pretty but the resort pools are really murky. The view from the beach is nice. The restaurant staff are very attentive and friendly. The reception staff are friendly but English is poor. Location wad very good. Hired a scooter from across the road, which meant we could go anywhere. Overall spent a lot of time away from the resort due to the noise. Stay here if you don't wish to spend a lot of time here, at least til November anyway when construction finishes. And don't complain if you have issues, you will not get anywhere due to their rudeness and the large language barrier.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolly711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art C, Guest Relations Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for staying at Bandara Resort & Spa!

Firstly, we apologize for the negative experience and any inconvenience Bandara may have given to you. As the resort is currently under construction, we do always try to minimize the disturbances as much as possible. The work that was disturbing you and your partner is exactly replacing the bamboo fences of the villas. Again, we apologize for disturbing you and your partner.

With regards to compensation, it normally shows on all online sites that there is construction and that booking under the special rate will not receive any compensation. Please allow us to look into this issue as it is a very rare occurrence that the clients are not informed about not receiving compensation from booking the special promotion.

The murky pool is an issue in which we have solved. They are now clear and lively with our current in-house guests. There was a problem with our filtering system and the heavy rain exacerbated the problem.

We sincerely apologize for being unable to make your holiday a dream comes true. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to show that we have improve. We thank you for your constructive criticism.

Best Regards,
Bandara Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#14 of 186 in Bophut
2,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 186 in Bophut
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Property: Bandara Resort & Spa
Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 Family Hotel in Bophut
#18 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing