We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bandara Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hotel grounds are stunning... Lovely well maintained gardens and easy access to the beach. Rooms are a bit dark and dingy and in need of a good makeover. I have no problem with traditional thai style decor but, compared to other hotels we have stayed in for a better rate, room was a little shabby. Bathroom needs a good overhaul and the curtains have more than seen better days. Comfy bed though and good air conditioning.
Housekeeping staff were lovely and left us little treats each day. We were in room 334. My partner had his 40th birthday whilst we were there and the staff made our room look lovely. The cake I pre ordered was delicious.
Got a transfer from the pier and although the driver was lovely, it isn't worth the 1000 baht fee. You can book a 150 baht transfer via the ferry company.
The bar near reception needs a good make over, better lighting and and chairs and a better ambience. We never went there because it never looked inviting. Move the pool table nearer the beach area.
Breakfast choice is great and the restaurant staff were lovely and really friendly. The hot plate staff even accommodated my request to make a toasted cheese sandwich one morning. A Bloody Mary station would be well received as would a better choice of fruit.
Pool areas were lovely. Ate BBQ buffet one night and it was fab. The wee mariachi band were lovely. The food in the restaurant was good but hotel would benefit from having more than one place to eat at night. We might have eaten here more often.
Would stay here again due to easy access to fisherman village and, compared to other local hotels, is good value for money but does need renovation and reception staff do need to be a little bit more jolly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HellyJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May K, Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We are very appreciate your review via Trip advisor. Actually, your pin points in regards to room- decor and beach bar-decor have planned to makeover in soon future. Thank you very much that you had enjoyed many facilities of us and appriciated our staff. we are streiving to provide the exellence servcie interm of people and facilities.
Thank you very much and hope to serve you again.
Yours faithfully
James Taywakone
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,747)
There are newer reviews for Bandara Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our stay at Bandara was a breath of fresh air. The staff were welcoming and extremely helpful when it came to arranging taxis and finding a local laundry service. The food was also delicious--eating it on the water was an added bonus. My two friends and I stayed in one of the villas--it was so beautiful that we spent an entire day by the private pool. I would 100% recommend this resort to any traveler visiting Ko Samui and hope to return one day!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amreynolds08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May K, Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you very much for spending your time sharing your comment through Tripadvisor. Your praised comment is very much appreciated. We are striving to be better in term of facilities and people. We are looking forward to serve you again soon.
yours faithfully
James Taywakone
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The main problem was to do with the pool, it was dirty and looked unhygienic and therefore we didn't use it encase of illness. The wood pool surround was grey/black making it look very cheap and not maintained! Would advise against this place, all in all it was poor and unacceptable,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May K, Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your valued comment. We was realized the the pool filter had been out of order in a few days. This issued has been rectified after that. I would like to invite you to visit us again to see the crystal clear water in our main pool. anyway thank you for your comment.
Yours faithfully
James Taywakone
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon at Bandara Resort and Spa in a Koh Samui.

The attention to detail was great and we often found little treats in our room after the room had been cleaned.

We never used the spa as it was very expensive and there weren't any deals for residents available.

Our pick up from the airport was late but staff were very apologetic.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmcgui11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May K, Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We are very much appreciated for your sharing comment through Trip advisor. We are striving to provide the best service to your guest in term of peole and facilities. In regards to Bandara spa. We are the Signature of Samui in this business. The treatments and therapists are second to none. Thank you for your comment.
Yours faithfully
James Taywakone
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My family just stayed at Bandara and enjoyed the week at the hotel and surrounding Bophut area. The hotel offers four swimming pools which never made the pools feel busy and a beachfront which included sun chairs and beach bar to relax. The staff were friendly and efficient.
The location benefits from being 400m from fisherman's village and its variety of restaurants,bars and shops on offer. Across the road is laundry, convenience store and local restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank paule585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May K, Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for spending your time sharing a valuable comment via Trip adviser. We care about guest. we are very appreciated with your good comment. We promise to keep up a good work.
your faithfully
James Taywakone
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had our Thai wedding ceremony here 4 years ago and continue to return to Bandara to see our Love Tree grow which is looking healthy. This year we celebrated our daughter's wedding in Thailand and chose to stay at Bandara once again with a large number of our family including my grandson who enjoyed the pools. It is like coming back home. Everything is as we left it. Immaculate gardens, friendly staff and great service, breakfast was as always amazing. As in previous review, I agree that breakfast would be nicer at the beach restaurant but where it is located is just as good. Family Mart, laundry just across the road and regular visits to our favourite small restaurant, K-siri just a few doors down to the left of the entrance.There are many choice restaurants at Fisherman's village, just a 10 minute walk, but I think this area is starting to get pricing for meals. Probably because of it's popularity. Bandara needs a bit of a makeover but it remains very cosy and comfortable. No uncomfortable bed complaint here. Had a massage at the Spa located at Bandara and it was bliss. Pricing but heavenly. Bandara is located on a quiet beach opposed to Chaweng where the beach is lovely but a bit noisier as it is the main shopping and tourist area. we also noticed the sea was not so clear as usual but this could be due to the rains that we received due to the monsoon in Taiwan .I think the only thing that spoiled the view on the beach was the increased amount of boats moored out of Bandara. I hope this will not be permanent. Would we be back, most certainly if luck has it that we are able to return.

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe or even better for a little more $ book a Villa
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blazert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May K, Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We sincerly appreciate for your valuable feedback and very glad to know that you are keep comming back to Bandara resort & spa, Samui Island. We are always striveing on providing the best service to our guest. Thank you again and we do look forward to your next visit soon.
James Taywakone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from 3 weeks in Thailand, 1 week of which we spent at the Bandara. We had a great time, standard/deluxe rooms are getting somewhat dated and dark, we upgraded to a pool villa. For 8 nights it cost us an extra NZ $500, as this trip was for a special birthday, we decided to indulge and it was pure luxury! We found staff to be friendly, however, as 'earth explorer' has stated, reception staff could do with a course in customer relations!
I can't work out why the breakfast buffet isn't at the beach restaurant instead of at the restaurant at the front of the resort, however, buffet was very good, resort set in beautiful manicured grounds. Beach was good, however, when we were there, there was copious small 'jelly' stuff in the sea and was really yuck, our swimming costumes were also covered in brown sludge, on the inside. This does make me wonder if it is quite polluted??
If a great beach is really important to you, then Bophut is not the place to go. Fishermans village is really close for some good restaurants, laundry directly across the road. For the price, this is a good resort. Not sure that I would return to Bophut, or Koh Samui for that matter

Room Tip: Upgrade if this is an option for you, the pool villas are amazing
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PRICIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
May K, Manager at Bandara Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback after staying at our hotel. Your comment points will be brought to improve our services also including upgrading the hardware. Thank you again and we do look forword to see you again.

James Taywakone
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 184 in Bophut
2,350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 184 in Bophut
1,602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#36 of 184 in Bophut
1,574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zazen Boutique Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 184 in Bophut
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bandara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bandara Resort & Spa

Address: 178/2 Moo 1 | Tambol Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 Family Hotel in Bophut
#20 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £74 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bandara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bandara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bandara Hotel Bophut
Bandara Resort And Spa
Bandara Resort Koh Samui
Bandara Hotel Koh Samui
Bandara Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing