We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goods stolen at Saboey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saboey Resort and Villas
Ranked #45 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Goods stolen at Saboey”
Reviewed 8 December 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Saboey for 5 days in September 2007 as part of our honeymoon. The hotel gives to the beach, which is its main asset; we also appreciated the free DVDs that were readily available. On the other hand, our watch, credit card and mobile phone got stolen from our room during our stay and the Saboey management refused to refund any of it although it was clear that it was their staff who stole the goods. This is why we would recommend not to go the Saboey; in addition, the restaurant is expensive and the food is poor, you’ll find much better places in Bophut for much less money.

  • Liked — DVDs
  • Disliked — Goods stolen by staff
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank RoelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BabsWindsorblighty, Manager at Saboey Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 16 December 2007
With due respect, we were unfortunately notified by you of this apparent incident 3 weeks after you had left the resort. With no police report, no travel insurance and no proof, you had expected the hotel to give you money otherwise you would post negative feedback on us, which is akin to blackmail. You had admitted that you had not put your valuables in the safe provided in your room and no hotel can be held liable for personal belongings if you do not use the safe. You had also signed an indemnity form upon your check-in that clearly states that you will not hold the hotel liable for personal belongings. We were not informed at the time that you had apparently discovered your things were missing and instead you decided to tell us weeks after you return home. You must appreciate that this puts us in a very difficult position. We did our utmost to look into trying to get some compensation for you from our own insurance company, despite the fact that you had absolutely no evidence to back up your claims, no police report and none of your own insurance, we did not need to do this for you, which you fail to refer to. Naturally, the insurance company would not make any pay-out. Travel insurance is there for a purpose; if you choose to take the risk of not taking this out and then expect the hotel to pay this for you, this is not very fair. To make comments about the food that other guests have not made, is rather unfounded. You had initially made a 1 or 2 night booking and then extended your stay by several more days. If you did not enjoy your stay that much, you surely wouldn't have chosen to stay longer when there are plenty of other venues to stay at. This sort of feedback is totally unconstructive and does not help others who I am sure will look at all feedback as a whole and sensibly make their own decisions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    140
    26
    18
    19
See reviews for
82
265
24
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
spaghettibug
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2007

My boyfriend and I decided to splurge and stay in a beach villa at the
Saboey Resort for $250/night. The initial welcome was lukewarm, and we
were disappointed with the lackluster service (with the exception of Ken, who was always smiling and friendly and spoke the best English of
all the staff we encountered). The room itself was nice, but it wasn't
as large as it looked in the pictures and the "jacuzzi" was a joke - it took forever to fill up with water, and the water was always lukewarm and never came out hot! You'd think they'd have hot water available at a luxury resort. The noise from the airplanes isn't too distracting and the hotel is only a 30-second taxi ride from the port (if you don't have much luggage you should walk, or taxi drivers will try and rip off unsuspecting and naive travelers such as ourselves for
a 150-bhat ride for about 30 feet!). The private beach had a cute oyster-shell chair that I liked lying in, but that was pretty much the
highlight of having the private beach villa. It wasn't worth the extra
price we paid, as we stayed at the Tongsai Bay earlier in our trip and
it was ten thousand times nicer for the same price. The pool, room, service, and amenities were just mediocre, the breakfast was tasteless
and unappetizing (do NOT order the "American-style pancake," it's more
like disgusting doughy corn bread), and the pool was disappointingly small. Not a b ad place overall, but definitely not worth the price and shouldn't qualify as "luxury."

  • Liked — The oyster/clam chair on the private beach, it was cute and comfortable
  • Disliked — Everything else - the lackluster service, disappointing accomodations, poor food, etc.
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank spaghettibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#17 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Privilege Hotel Ezra Beach Club
1.0 mi away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
#67 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Tanamera
Villa Tanamera
#49 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saboey Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saboey Resort and Villas

Property: Saboey Resort and Villas
Address: 51/4 Moo 4 Bangrak Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Bophut
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saboey Resort and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saboey is a beautiful, secluded resort, designed to maximize serenity, space and privacy. Nestled amidst lush tropical gardens and landscaped around a double-infinity freshwater pool and Jacuzzi, allowing stunning beach and sea views. A contemporary Asian design, offering 14 spacious villas and 6 suites. Saboey is an intimate retreat, with personalized and attentive service. Indulge with the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saboey Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saboey Resort And Villas Hotel Bophut
Saboey Hotel Bophut
Saboey Resort Bophut
Saboey Resort And Villas Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing