We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Michelleys
London, United Kingdom
149
Pleasant short stay
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Oct 2012
We stayed in May 2012 for one night. We booked a suite with free airport transfer and were picked up from the airport by a minivan without much hassle.

On arrival, we were greeted with a delicious cold beverage and was told we were upgraded to the Ocean View villa. The room has a lovely view of the pool and ocean. It was a clean room but with slight sign of age - this was not a big issue as we could still walk comfortably barefoot in the room. We were also given a complimentary fruit platter.

The only disappointment was the food - we ordered fried rice and phad thai. The rice was fine - nothing special but the phad thai was pretty much noodles in tomato sauce. Definitely not what I expect to eat in Thailand! The restaurant across the road however has lovely local food.

We did not venture out to the beach for long as it was raining but we could smell diesel from ships anchored nearby. This may be due to the rain but it was noisy too.

Overall, we did enjoy our one night stopover at Saboey en-route to koh tao.
Date of stay: May 2012
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£318
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.7 miles from Saboey Resort and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£88
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.8 miles from Saboey Resort and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£430
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    £426
  • Booking.com
2.8 miles from Saboey Resort and Villas
Free parking
Pool
Melia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    £349
  • Hotels.com
1.9 miles from Saboey Resort and Villas
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £126
  • Priceline
1.4 miles from Saboey Resort and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £388
  • Algotels
2.4 miles from Saboey Resort and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    £165
  • Priceline
2.3 miles from Saboey Resort and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £133
  • Booking.com
1.8 miles from Saboey Resort and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Anantara.com
    £235
  • Booking.com
2.3 miles from Saboey Resort and Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £171
  • Priceline
2.0 miles from Saboey Resort and Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Bophut
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveller rating
349
170
37
22
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
349
170
37
22
20
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 598 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

The Saboey is a delightful resort set right on the waterfront in Bophut, a quiet and tranquil part of Samui. The hotel is comprised of spacious well appointed rooms that are nicely furnished and well maintained. There is a decent sized pool facing the beach, and a small jacuzzi. The breakfast room is sleek and modern, and rather than a vast buffet, your choice of Western or Asian style breakfast is cooked upon order. The hotel is close to the Fishermen's Village which gets very busy on Friday night when there is a weekly night market. The street outside the hotel are full of small cages and shops. THB2,000 for a double room with breakfast... Great deal for a lovely hotel. Recommend!

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilatesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This was our first hotel in Koh Samui and it was a big disappointment. We chose this hotel based on the trip advisor reviews and we expected so much more. The hotel is located literally on the main "highway" of Koh Samui and has a very unimpressive, run-down entrance. The woman who helped us at reception was very kind and welcoming, but the good news stops there. We got to our deluxe suite which had been described as having a large beautiful balcony that we could have romantic dinners on. The "balcony" was, indeed, large, but rather than a balcony, it was more of a large slab of cement attached to our room with two small, uncomfortable wooden chairs. A few other things that quickly decreased my appreciate for the room:

1) While it was spacious, the floorboards creaked terribly- so much so that when my husband or I would wake up during the night to use the bathroom, the noise of walking too and from the bathroom would wake the other person.

2) We found a live lizard in our bathroom. While it was small and somewhat cute, we felt the need to keep the door closed at all times for the remainder of our stay so that the said lizard would not find its way into our room.

3) There were ants in our room that ended up inside of our computers. They are still crawling out.

4) There was no hand soap in the room- we had to use the body wash from the shower when we wanted to wash our hands.

5) Next to the bottled water and coffee maker, there was a box of condoms. Enough said.

To be fair, there were a few things we liked about the Saboey:

1) The infinity pool overlooking the beach is beautiful and usually we had it almost all to ourselves.

2) Breakfast, that was included in our room rate, was very decent.

3) All of the staff were very nice and helpful

4) There were many inexpensive and legit places to get massages right around the hotel

The straw that broke the camels back was when we woke up this morning and had no electricity or water. I had heard that this happened from time to time on the islands, and when we called the front desk to ask what was going on, we were told it was a minor problem and everything would be fixed in 2 hours. When we came to breakfast an hour later, we were informed that now the water and electricity would not be fixed until around 4pm, and given that it was 10am, they hoped we had something we could do that day off of the property. We took this as our sign to find another place to stay, and spent a sweaty hour in our dark, air condition-less room packing and trying to book another hotel with our remaining computer battery life. To the hotel's credit, they were very accommodating about making sure we would not be charged for the 3rd night since we were leaving a day earlier than planned. We also thought it was incredibly hospitable of them to provide us with what we thought was complimentary transfer service for the 20 minute ride from their hotel to our new hotel. That was, at least, until we got to the new hotel and were asked for 500 baht for the car ride. After speaking to the hotel manager over the phone to try and figure out this unexpected cost, we settled on 400 baht just so that we could move on to the next phase of our trip, even though we felt slightly taken advantage of that the price for the transfer was not made clear to us from the start, though I would like to give them the benefit of the doubt and assume it was somehow lost in translation. If we had known the cost, we would have just taken a taxi, as it would have been less expensive.

Overall, an unimpressive and disappointing experience.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dulcinea76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SaboeyManager, Manager at Saboey Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

I am sorry if a guest is unhappy with my resort, as my staff and I try very hard to fix any problems straight away, while I would like to thank this guest for her review of Saboey, I would like to point out a few items that she may have forgotten to mention in her review.

Saboey is on the Big Buddha beach road,which is a small two lane road along the beach front,it is NOT the main road on Koh Samui or anywhere near it.
The balcony is a large and made from polished concrete,so I am not sure what the guest was expecting it to be made of? There are also two high backed wooden chairs with cushions and a table.

Koh Samui is a tropic island,so there are insects and lizards everywhere on the island also on the resort, the beaches and Forests, if you do leave your door open,you may find insects inside your villa.

The hand soap dispenser next to the wash basin,had been broken by the previous guest and has now been replaced.

This guest booked a discount last minute non refundable offer and thought the resort was in the main night life area of Koh Samui and wanted to leave straight away when they found out it was not.
My staff explain that they have booked with a company that did not give a refund for early check out,so the guest resided to stay at Saboey resort..
The day in question,the whole island had no electricity, we had informed our guests,as soon as the electricity company had contacted us about this.We also informed our guests at 8.30 in the morning that there would be no power till about 4 pm and offered them complementary drinks and lunch at our white bar. Most of our guest were very happy about this and understood it was beyond the control of the resort.
This guest wanted to check out and move to the night life area of chaweng ,as we were very sorry about the inconvenience of no electricity we offered to help them out and refund their last night with us,even though it was a non refundable booking.
They asked my staff to book them a taxi,we informed them what the cost of a taxi would be and offered to take them to their for a cheaper price.They were informed of the price before the car was booked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a Birthday Party at Saboey for a group of 12. We were there for 10 days. The staff & Management were wonderful and nothing was a problem. We visited great restaurants, played Golf at a wonderful course and had lots of nice Massages.The Pool overlooks the Beach & Ocean. The rooms were clean and the breakfast was good value. Happy Hour for cocktails was fun. We all had a great time and I recommend this resort to you.

Kind Regards Michael Coffey Melbourne Australia.

Room tip: They picked us up from the airport and delivered us back to the airport and gave us advice on what to do and see.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This small resort is beautiful. We were staying with a group of friends for 11 nights and it was great. The staff were so attentive, they couldn't be faulted. From the chef cooking individual omelettes every morning, to the bar staff (they were given a workout) who made our cocktails for "Happy Hour" every evening, none could have done better.
We had an Ocean Villa (No. 3) the view from our door was breathtaking and three steps to the sunlounges, pool and spa. The rooms where just how they look in the photos on their website.

The Manager Jon was a god send, we only had to decide what we wanted to do and he and his staff would organise everything. This included golf, mini bus hire, car hire, spa days and tips on the best places to eat and shop. We had a wonderful time there and we will certainly be returning.

Room tip: We loved our poolside, Ocean Villa but I would suggest 3 and 4 are the best ones. closer to the pool and beach.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We have just returned from an amazing holiday at Saboey. The manager Jonathan and his team have taken customer service to a new high. You are the only guest and your every whim and request is attended to with a smile :-) We stayed 12 nights in the Ocean Villa which is about 6 steps to the beautiful pool with gorgeous ocean views. Just a short ride into Chaweng and we loved using the Songtheows to get around. Make sure you visit U2 across the road for some great local food, and a massage on the beach is a must. We were there for my 50th birthday celebration and had a fabulous event organized by Jonathan. I can't thank them enough for making our trip to Samui so special.

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank bronwyn2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews