We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saboey Resort and Villas
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Amari.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
OZOHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bandara Resort & Spa(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan Samui Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sareeraya Villas & Suites(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Beach Resort and Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Dance Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveller rating
313
151
29
20
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
313
151
29
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite barinfinity poolocean villamanager jonbig buddhakoh samuithe general managerdeluxe suiteflight pathfisherman's villagelittle piece of paradisequiet beacha stones throwsmall hotelwelcome drinkfantastic holidayhappy hour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 531 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the Garden Villa's (#8) for 7 nights and had a great time. The hotel itself is beautiful - great pool, beautiful beach all to yourself, and a decent restaurant. The view and hotel grounds are beautiful and very romantic, especially in the evening. The villas are very nice - both Ocean and Garden villas. That said, I know that I would not have enjoyed the stay as much if I was in one of the suites, which were clean but very basic. I would not have been happy in a suite - so it is worth getting the upgrade.

The best part about Saboey is the staff - they are very helpful and super friendly. We actually left our bathing suits drying by the pool on the day we left, and when we called the next day, they were able to find them and Federal Express them to us in Denmark!

The down-side to Saboey is the location - the area around the hotel is not very nice. In general, Koh Samui is our least favorite spot in Thailand so far, and the area around the hotel is dirty and quite ugly, with not many (good) options in terms of food or anything. It is a shame, because the hotel itself is so nice.

The only other thing is that breakfast could have been a bit better - but in general, for the price, it was a really nice stay with very nice people.

Room Tip: Garden Villa #8 was really nice. Our friends also had Ocean Villa #2, and that was even better! Do not stay in one of the suites - you definitely want a villa!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruscelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We travelled as a couple back in August 2011 and stayed here for 3 nights. We got upgraded from penthouse to a villa upon check in. Welcome drinks was nice and the staff were very friendly. We booked our excursions through them and they were very helpful.

We had a bad start on day 1, as there was no hot water for literally the whole day and the shower was not powerful, in fact it was dripping with water.

Overall, the swimming pool and the beach is amazing. Beautiful view from both the sunbed and pool. Location is ok i guess. We had an amazing time there as the resort felt very cosy. Food & Drinks is top notch.

One thing I have to mention is how flimsy the door locks are, feels like one kick and the doors will open up which doesnt feel very safe.

I would still return despite some minor issues

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anima888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

Ive been on many hotel in many countries, some nice and some is not nice! But this hotel was the most horrible hotel ive ever been on! The personal was so rude, the room was ugly, and the service was the worst! The hotel was like a 1_star hotel!

We have booked 8 nights here and when we arrived we was so mad that we took our package talked to the personal, manager and the CEO (no one could talk English) and we asked to refund, 10 minutes after arrival, they refused and was mad and my girl was close to crying for this bad hotel! Everything was really bad!

So we took our bags and took the first taxi to another hotel on koh samui, a Lovely one! But we still got waisted on our 8 nights without refund, but it was impossible to sleep at that Crap Saboey Luring Villas!

Please all trust me! Dont go there! You will get a bad start on your holiday like we did!

Best Regards,
R

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ralle12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaboeyManager, General Manager at Saboey Resort and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

We always welcome guest feedback, but in this case the guest did not even check into the resort and did not even leave the reception area.

At no time did the guests go to the room,they did not have any service from any department ,apart from speaking to my reception staff, so their comments about the rooms, the service and not able to sleep here are simple not valid.

The guests had meet friends on the flight to Samui who were going to stay into a hotel in Chaweng .
They came into the hotel and told my staff , they did not want to stay here and they wished to cancel their booking to get a full refund, so they could be with their friends.

They spoke to my front office manager Mr Att, who speaks very good English and my reception staff who also speak English. My staff and manager tried to explain the booking policy of the booking they had booked with, but the guest only wanted a full refund.

As general Manager I was at reception and asked by staff to explain to the guest, as I am English. I explained to the guests, in very clear details , it was peak season and not possible to get a full refund under the booking policy they had booked their stay with, for this reason.

The guest informed me ,if he did not get a full refund he would write a bad review, I informed him that, if he wished to do that, it was up to him, but our many good reviews would show our future guests that we do proved a good service.
I was at reception, the whole 25 minutes the guests were at the resort and my staff were all very polite to the guests until they left.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Genuinely helpful, friendly and beautiful resort with romantic views and relaxing atmosphere! To start off with, our pick-up had to wait 45 min. on us due to a delayed flight, but he greeted us with a big smile. We were checked in in a manner even the Four Seasons couldn't achieve, because the level of service together with a really genuine welcome cannot be matched in my opinion.
The food and beverages were at a slightly higher than average price range compared to local cafe/restaurants, but for roughly 3.5 euros pp more you get a totally romantic setting with a whirlpool to soak your legs in together with your cocktail. And one of the best/cheaper local Thai restaurants (Shambala) was just up the road from the resort.
The suites were adequate with all the usual amenities. The staff were incredible... running up to your room after you just left reception, because they can hear you fiddling with the doorknob to lock your room or to hand over your key that you left in your rented scooter, always on hand for any request ... Receiving a voucher for a complimentary dinner of choice because they had to use a generator a little longer than we previously had been informed of and on another occasion my fiancee even received complimentary Thai wine when the general manager, Jonathan Feaver, found out it was her birthday.

Positioned relatively near Fisherman's Village, Ad Hoc Beach Café, a mini plaza, a local market, the airport and STILL quiet enough as a beautiful beach getaway: in one word.. fabulous!

Room Tip: Suite 17 has a great view!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Archangelike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

we had to wait 45 minutes adn then made a call to the resort to get picked up, despite sending a reminder that day that we were coming. Later found out that they are using a external vendor to make their pickups, and the vendor is the one that forgot.

Anyway, everything else after that was thoroughly enjoyable. We'd booked 2 garden villas for my family of 5 (kids ages 10 -14). They gave us a larger garden villa and a nice ocean villa. They were not side by side, but they were a stones throw apart. Villas were very tropical in feel inside. Well furnished and comfortable, horizontal surfaces and floors almost all in hardwood. As a previous review had said, mattresses were firm to hard, but with a nice pad on top. Although our bed at home is firm to soft, we found the bed quite comfortable and supportive and woke refreshed after every night. No need to call for extra padding for us. Beds were a good kingsize, and our 3 kids had no problems all sleeping on that one bed in their room.

They also have a wall couch, which our youngest 2 found worked very well as a bed when they wanted to get away from the others. The floorboards, being of a tropical style, so make some noise occasionally when stepped on, but this is to be expected. They wern't loose, but they some did creak a little naturally. If you are expecting European plush beds and carpeted floors, try somewhere else. If you like charming, good tropical styles, these rooms are great.

Bathrooms are slate and stone floors, very charming, and the lemon grass shower gels were great. The water pressure could be improved on a bit though, but still, more than sufficient to have good showers.

The pool was wonderful to laze by, or to wind down in after a day out. I used it every night and had low alcohol cocktails at happy hour (half price) every evening. Normal price for the cocktails range from 180 baht to 280 baht.

There is a beach masseuse just beside the resort on the beach that does a nice thai massage for 200 baht an hour. Car rentals via the resort get you nice cars at 1500 baht for a toyota vios (compact car) class.

The beach in front of the resort is decent, in the 'ok' range. Nice to walk on, ok to swim in, but it seems mostly occupied by the boats anchored in the lagoon. Still, its clean and safe for the kids. No real complaints there, but no real complements there either.

OK food located across the street at the mermaid's restaurant. Seven eleven 1 minute away, and laundry a couple of minutes walk down to the road. Ask the staff.

All in all, a very nice resort. Wonderful staff. Decent location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimmyPang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews