We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay there again without question”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saboey Resort and Villas
Ranked #43 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay there again without question”
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed in the penthouse in feb 2010 and even tho the trees blocked some of the view to the sea it was a great place to stay and recommend it to anybody. I travel every month to different locations and I will come back again without question. The pool is right on the beach, 2 steps and you on the beach, 20 yards in the sea, massage on the beach next door, jet ski also, very quite what more can you ask. We walked along the beach and it was the nicest hotel there, it is a very clean and tidy place. The timber could do with some weather protection as with any place in a hot climate. The room was nice, bed soft, shower clean, rooms cleaned every day, breakfast was fine, fruit and English breakfast with toast and coffee or tea or juice and if you wanted extra they didn’t charge most times. The hotel Staff were nice as normal, all smiles and they do as you asked. Miriam and Emmanuel were great hosts and too happy to help, recommend quality new motor bikes, places to eat, even gave us free drinks some nights. Being honest at the end of the 10 days, we felt it was a relaxing time, staff became friends, the hotel was clean and as long as you’re not a fussy git staying in 7 star hotels, then Asia isn’t for you anyway. OOO some mention about the airplanes, they were cool, not much noisy as most times didn’t notice until in sea and exciting to see. There are many restaurants down the street and bars and a great little place called Olive tree a few hundred meters, not a fancy place, bit of a moms kitchen so to speak, laid back and easy going, its run by a Ozzie guy and he brings in real steak from Australia and if you asked him for any food not on the menu, he would get it in the next day for you, great food, cheap price and taste nice. What else can I say, overall the island is small, some nice places to go to, get yourself a motorbike and see the island.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andypandy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    143
    26
    19
    18
See reviews for
82
273
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lombardia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

The Saboey Resort has an excellent position at Bophut, near Big Buddha, on al long, sandy beach: though a bit out of the way, you can easily reach Chaweng on a 10 minutes unexpensive ride by taxi. The hotel is nice, clean and cozy, with a small but charming infinity pool.
I stayed in a Ocean Villa, just in front of the pool and a few metres from the beach: spacious, clean and romantic, with safe and free wifi.
The spot can get a bit noisy at times, due to the airplanes flying to and from the nearby airport.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fring11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

The Saboey is a great hotel, and we had a brilliant few days there.

The rooms are large and beautifully laid out and the gardens are picture perfect. The view from the infinity pool is really lovely, and I would highly recommend the massage ladies on the beach round the corner from the hotel - very cheap amazing massages. If you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday in a very pretty place, I would highly recommend coming here. I disagree with the other reviews about this hotel - we found the location to be very good - some really nice restaurants and shops near by, and a short walk to the Big Buddha. It is also really easy to catch a taxi or a tuk tuk to the busier parts of the Island.

If you are looking for a hotel in the heart of the nightlife, surrounded by loads of different activities then this is not the place for you, but if you want somewhere quiet and relaxing for a few days, this is perfect. Staff were very friendly, drinks and food a bit overpriced (as with many hotels on Koh Samui) but loads of cheap and cheerful bars and restaurants nearby serving amazing Thai food. The room rate we had was very competitive for the standard of the resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank I_love_holidays48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We were looking forward for a romantic getaway at the villa but the service staff were unfriendly, continental breakfast that comes with the stay only includes a 2 pieces of plain white bread, fruits and coffee/tea that was barely enough to fill our stomach. Food variety was limited and expensive. The villa is also remotely located and there were no shops or F&B outlets around. We had to take cabs (which charged above the "local rates") to get to other parts for some light shopping and our meals. We were quite bored to death as the pool was tiny and the nearby beach in front of the resort was too filthy and dangerous to swim in. The best was that the villa ran out of water while I was showering and my husband had to call the staff! The reason given was as an eco-friendly resort, there were insuffificent rain water collected. I would NEVER ever stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kelly_0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResortsSVH, Sales and Marketing Manager at Saboey Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 30 March 2010
We strive to improve our standards and services as we speak. We have improved customer service training for all our staff in recent months and we have new management including Restaurant Manager.

We serve as standard for Breakfast Continentalt the following: Croissant, Toast, Muffin, fruit, juice and Coffee or Tea. If the above where not included at any time then we apologize for any individual case.

Our Restaurant has two main Menus - Mediterranean and Thai - each have over 20 listed items with a total of between 40-50 Menu choices. Our prices are based on the current market prices. We have other itmes being added and Tapas Menu.

Bangrak is minuets away from the Airport, main Piers, main attractions such as Big Buddha and Fisherman's Village. Outside the resort is an array of shops and business inc restaurants which have various styles inc Italian, Indian, Thai and Western. In fact Bangrak is the desired location for many expatriates due to reasonable pricing and amenities with services for Westerners and local. With Banks, Bakeries, Coffee Shops, Bars, Pubs, Tour shops, 7 Eleven's.

Bang Rak is away from the hustle and bustle of other locations such as Chaweng and as a result we have many guests choose this location for this very reason.

Based on the size of the resort which is boutique with only 12 Villas and 6 suites the pool is ample for all guests even at the most busy period and we are located directly on the beach.

Bangrak Beach is shallow but deep enough to swim, ideal for families and protected as it is natural Marina. You will see sail boats and local families swim here. The beach is cleaned daily in front of the resort. by our staff. You can see some amazing Sunsets here and Islands in the distance. There are no jet ski 's or anything else dangerous from our experience on Bangrak beach.

From time to time the whole Island of Samui can experience water shortages due to unique lack of rain fall this year and as we are based on a Island supply can be difficult when urgent. In any case if our staff dint give a real explanation and didnt do their best to make arrangements then we sincerely apologize, this is a unusual case.

To close we would like to think any guests would feel comfortable to talk to our team at any time during their stay and either the guest relation Manger or Resident Manager would do their very best to respond to any complaint or guests request. Our guests are a priority to our hotel and we dearly would welcome any guest back and hope they would have a improved experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sale
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We have just spent a whole month here at Saboey. The Suites were lovely, the whole grounds are like a tropical paradise and the pool!!!!!!
This is a tiny little place with (I think) 20 rooms. It's on the sea with an infinity pool and jacuzzi. Fabulous friendly staff who will do their best to grant your every need. To go further afield you can get taxis,buses or car hire is very reasonable. We had a car for most of the holiday and explored the whole island but we were always glad to get back to Saboey. If it's boom boom you want ,go elswhere, this is a chilled out resort on a pretty beach with easy acess to both Fishermans Beach and Cheong Mon. And I want to go back!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dotsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

There are almost no people there, the beach is close to port, so many boats are parked near and not convenient to swim in the sea, so we did not spend time on the beach at all. No events at hotel, cause it is small. Room was nice, villa - not, cause of the smell. food is good, staff is good. So it is good if you plan to spend all time outside of hotel and if you plan some boat trips, cause the pier is very close. Not good for a beach rest. The spa at hotel I did not like, better to use outside.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alphochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.7 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#13 of 185 in Bophut
978 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Privilege Hotel Ezra Beach Club
1.0 mi away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Choeng Mon
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
720 reviews
1.9 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#11 of 185 in Bophut
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saboey Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saboey Resort and Villas

Property: Saboey Resort and Villas
Address: 51/4 Moo 4 Bangrak Beach | Koh Samui, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Bophut
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Saboey Resort and Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saboey is a beautiful, secluded resort, designed to maximize serenity, space and privacy. Nestled amidst lush tropical gardens and landscaped around a double-infinity freshwater pool and Jacuzzi, allowing stunning beach and sea views. A contemporary Asian design, offering 14 spacious villas and 6 suites. Saboey is an intimate retreat, with personalized and attentive service. Indulge with the ultimate in relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saboey Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saboey Resort And Villas Hotel Bophut
Saboey Hotel Bophut
Saboey Resort Bophut
Saboey Resort And Villas Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing