We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you can find better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa
Ranked #132 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“you can find better”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Good coffee. The staff just didn't know how to serve in basic things. (One younger lady was really nice) They said they would bring you towels but nothing happened.. and everything was meant to make customers feel relaxed but when the staff start to become too relaxed its a bit worrying.. we had ants and a cockroach in our room.. no soap by the sink. water pressure bad in the shower. one day when we came home in the afternoon, the cleaner had left our door unlocked so anybody could've gone in and stolen stuff. also there is nobody in the reception after 8pm which sucks. For example one couple came to the resort after 8pm and nobody was there to help them. the breakfast is tiny and you have to go out for lunch directly after. there is no restaurant at this hotel, so no food at any time. but otherwise everything was ok..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GwynplaineLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    75
    33
    14
    19
See reviews for
16
74
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Best place in the area. Service is amazing girls working there felt like family. Close to everything and down the road from epic thai food. Best value cant wait to go back one day!!Breaky is not good but doesnt matter you can eat amazing food down the road. Pool is great felt like paradise. Room great cool layout. Genral place is magestic. I stayed on two occasions and in two different rooms the first room
Was nicer than the second time going back but still was fine!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The hotel is just perfect - big rooms, great swimmingpool and nice staff. It is not at the beach but I like that, because the area is not touristy and quiet. You can reach the beach and Fishermans Village in 10min by foot. You have a DVD Player in your room and plenty of movies you can take in the lobby (no charge). The breakfast is small and you have to choose from 3 different meals, after a while a bit boring. If you like go down to Fishermans Village and eat breakfast there.

Room Tip: Go for the Bungalow with Swimmingpool View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa17490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Quaint rustic little place. Came here for a spa service. Nice little dip pool and sauna, with very peaceful environment. Located in the middle of a forest, nice authentic nature sounds (birds, water, crickets). Very surreal feeling. Only let down was the service. Massage was actually quite decent except for the times when the masseur had to leave halfway to the counter to handle guests or another who was using her phone between the massage. Unprofessional. Anyway, location on Google Maps for this place is inaccurate, don't use it for directions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This lovely place is a haven, away from the traffic and tourist mecca but still only a short walk to Fisherman's Village and the beach. Spacious room and huge bathroom, fridge, A/C. Lovely large pool, Spa facilities. It is off the beaten track and up a lane from the main road (the tuk tuk does not come up here, but taxi's do). Only drawer back is they do not have a restaurant so you have to go out for lunch and dinner. Coming home alone at night is dark in places along the lane but safe, you need a torch. A market is opposite for market food. Breakfast is a large bowl of muesli with yoghurt (no fruit) coffee and orange juice or an egg between two pieces of toast. Two small bottles of water are given each day and your room is cleaned each day but you have to ask for clean towels and sheets if you want them, Staff are friendly and helpful. Wifi is free but it is not in your room. I enjoyed this place for the quiet, the pool and its ambience. For $20 a night it is fine. Just wish they had a restaurant because I often didn't feel to go out to eat.

Room Tip: I was up the back, amongst the jungle, and enjoyed it there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Sunday's Sanctuary is is named perfectly - it is definitely a sanctuary!! We came for a few days and extended our stay for two weeks, because we were enjoying it so much. It is a 15 minute walk to the shops and restaurants of the fisherman's village, but they rent scooters for 250 B per day, which is a great way to get around the island.

The rooms are spacious and nicely designed. We stayed in the mountain rooms, which are not as nice as the pool side rooms, but had a lovely jungle feel to them. The breakfast area is lovely, and the pool is big and dreamy.

And the staff is fantastic - friendly and helpful.

We would definitely recommend this charming hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrncssMBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

As soon as we entered, I thought we were in the wrong place. It was just so beautiful and even better than I imagined. You are hidden away off this little road and I felt like we were in the middle of a rainforest, yet you have the beach 5 minutes away. We had mopeds so it was easy to get around but if you don't its a 5 min walk to the main road. The pool and spa were amazing. There is no wifi in the rooms though, so you have to sit down at the open-air lobby to use internet. Prepare yourself with tons of bug spray if you want to use internet at nighttime - although the sounds of the forest make up for it. The rooms are huge and we loved the modern design. Lots of bugs though and had lots of geckos sneaking into our room. We got a free breakfast which only had three choices - egg sandwich, toast, or museli. We had a family of 5 and only got breakfast for 2 which was kind of a let down. If you want breakfast for extra people it is 100 baht or so. The food was bland and such a small portion that we gave our kids the food and went without. The atmosphere of the hotel was incredible and made up for the minor inconveniences. I would absolutely recommend this hotel, and will be staying here again if we ever go back to Samui.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livetotravel263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.4 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#81 of 187 in Bophut
190 reviews
1.6 mi away
Samui Mermaid Resort
Samui Mermaid Resort
#121 of 187 in Bophut
244 reviews
2.5 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#29 of 104 in Chaweng
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Nantra Chaweng Beach
Nantra Chaweng Beach
#71 of 104 in Chaweng
117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samui Heritage Resort
Samui Heritage Resort
#84 of 187 in Bophut
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa

Property: The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa
Address: 165/4 Moo1 Tumbon Bo Pud, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore more of Koh Samui while staying at The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa. Stay in your serene secret little home. See the island from different angles. We welcome you into our community just like our friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sundays Tropical Hotel Koh Samui
Sundays Tropical Hotel
The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing