We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene - sort of”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa
Ranked #136 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Serene - sort of”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived late at the hotel and there was a warm friendly welcome. We'd booked a mountain room and having looked at the bungalows we decided to upgrade.

We did spend one night in the mountain room which was pretty good. The room was really spacious. Lots of concrete and the wooden balcony railing (which was really loose) meant probably not the most kid friendly of hotels but it's not as of this place markets itself as a family hotel so no issue (just something to bear in mind)

We upgraded due to the low price difference and the bungalow was clean and very comfortable all week.

The resort itself is a lovely setting as you can tell from the pictures. The hill on which it is placed is sometimes a little too much in the heat but good exercise.

The pool and communal areas very nice. Staff extremely helpful and pleasant.
We ordered taxis,bikes, breakfast - all treated with swiftness and a smile.

There were some renovations going on throughout our stay - whilst no big deal and good for future travellers, the noise levels (whilst no way extreme) didn't suit the setting and therefore led us to spend our days away from the poolside.

Overall a very good stay in Samui. For the price I'd say this place is hard to beat. Way better than budget bungalows and a good shot at making cheaper accommodation feel like one of the big luxury resorts.



Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gazfarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    75
    33
    14
    19
See reviews for
16
74
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a good stay here at Sundays Sanctuary. The staff were very friendly and always happy to help us. The rooms were more than we expected for the price we paid. Te property is set in small tropical gardens and when sat out on the terrace in the evening, it was so tranquil and relaxing!!

The only negative from our stay was that the swimming pool was not totally full of water nor was it clean. When mentioned to the reception we were told that some works were about to be carried out on the hotel and that the pool was also having work done. Had we known about this prior to booking we may have looked elsewhere.

All in all we were happy with our stay there despite no pool to use.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I've been to Sundays as someone booked it accidently for me, toilette and room facilities are very basic like a little home for low to medium rank person with aircon and hot shower. I stayed in room no. 11 and a few thing I cannot accept is
1. The picture frame over the bed head is shadow of a lady and a boy frpm the back side so it make me feel hooorful when looking at that so I keep the light turning on for whole stay (2 nights).
2. Lot of dog hairs falling on the sofa at the lobby where I having breakfast.
3. Limited choice for breakfast: just 3 choices (egg sandwich, cereal with yoghurt or toast with yam) with orange juice and coffee or tea

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 948Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at the Sunday for five days (November 2012). After a harrowing stay at Koh Phangan (long story), I wanted to go somewhere where there is modern civilisation but far from bustling Chaweng. The resort met all my expectation:

The Good: the resort is tranquil, surrounded by wooded area and just quiet. The pool is big and somewhat deep so perfect for swimming (although there are some broken tiles so you may want to watch out otherwise you'll get a cut) and cleaned daily. The room was spacious, with cable TV, good working A/C and spotlessly clean sheets. Shower was adequate (hot water not lukewarm) and can't say anything bad about the room. The staff was kind. I spent days either on the pool watching as the day went by or on the balcony. You can hear birds chirping and perfect peace.

The Not-so-Good: The resort didn't have a restaurant. They served breakfast but it had very limited selection, meaning I had to go out to forage food. At daytime, this was no problem, as the resort was on a well connected path to the main Ring Road, but after sunset, became a whole new story - the path was not lit... so it was a bit scary (being a solo traveller) after the dark. Wifi didn't work at the studios but it is serviceable in the restaurant area. If you do not have any mode for transport, going to be beach may mean approx 30 mins walk under blazing sun.

There wasn't anything bad about the resort, especially considering the price. If you are looking for a quiet time For me, I would consider staying at Sunday again.

Room Tip: Take a lantern the pathway from the restaurant to the hotel rooms can be quite dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It's hard to give a rating for this resort, as the facilities and services are of varying degrees of goodness. The pool is great, the counter lady was a bit disinterested, the rooms - whilst big and spacious with a good bed the toilet had wall stains and appeared not too clean. Simple maintenace on small issues would make the resort so much more pleasant to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nosfartu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Rai, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I booked this place by accidentally found in Agoda website. At the beginning,I didn't expect to see such a lovely place like this place.I arrived late but staff was very helpful esp,her english is fluently.Nice swimming pool ,quiet ,greeny areas and clean bed that made me feel wonderful for spending 5days at The Sunday.This place could make everyone feel like living in a small oasis in Koh Samui:-)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bombeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Samui
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice, big swimming pool with trees all around. The bungalow is clean and spacious. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Perfect place for relaxing. 15 minutes walking from Fisherman's Village or 5 minutes with tuktuk/taxi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Veerle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.4 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#73 of 186 in Bophut
199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 186 in Bophut
2,296 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Samui Mermaid Resort
Samui Mermaid Resort
#119 of 186 in Bophut
255 reviews
0.8 mi away
Samui Heritage Resort
Samui Heritage Resort
#85 of 186 in Bophut
145 reviews
1.4 mi away
Samui Pier Resort
Samui Pier Resort
#66 of 186 in Bophut
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa

Property: The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa
Address: 165/4 Moo1 Tumbon Bo Pud, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore more of Koh Samui while staying at The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa. Stay in your serene secret little home. See the island from different angles. We welcome you into our community just like our friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sundays Tropical Hotel Koh Samui
Sundays Tropical Hotel
The Sundays Sanctuary Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing