We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great live music”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bophut
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Billabong Beach Club
Ranked #67 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Bophut
Murwillumbah, Australia
1 review
“great live music”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Just wanted to say what a great time we had at the Billabong Beach Club in Nov 2011. John is a great host with awesome advice on what to do and the best places on Samui. The food is fantastic and the staff make the best mojhitos. They have the best live music on the island with a variety of acts and bands.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We have stayed in the Billabong several times in both the normal room and the penthouse room.
The PH is very spacious with a very large balcony overlooking the sea. Stunning views, right on the beach!
There is a full working kitchen, with everything you need, pots, pans, plates,kettle, toaster, cuttlery, large fridge/freezer, microwave, etc.
There are 2 large flat screen tv's, 1 in living room and 1 in the bedroom.
The bedroom/ bathroom has a large open plan feel, with both a bath and shower and a double sink.
The Billabong is perfectly situated, slap bang in the middel of the fishermans village with plenty of great bars and restaurants there. Also plenty of shopping on your doorstep.
The only downside for us staying in either Billi 1 or Billi 2 ( the normal rooms) was the noise coming from the bar downstairs when they have live music playing, which is about 3 times a week. If you are a light sleeper it is not recommended, or just stay out till 2 and then its quite again.
Upstairs in the PH, this is not a problem.
The bar downstairs does great food and you even have an intercom in the room to order room service.
There is no swimming pool attached to the hotel but you can use the pool at the Smile House, a minutes walk up the road.
If you can afford to pay the little extra, I would highly recommend the PH!!!

Room Tip: Penthouse room, no noise from live music downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muji007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Bophut (Fishermans Village) is the best locale on the isle. Our stay at the Billi was awesome with great rooms (uninterupted sea views), top food (chilli mussels wow!!), friendly staff and John the host with the most who could not do enough for us (sunset cruise and best advice on what to do). Clean and quiet A/Cond rooms with a super comfy bed and pillows. Below the rooms is a great bar with eager staff and ballad styled singers most nights where everyone can sing along. Swim in the sea or slip up the road 2 doors (less than 50m) to Smile House pools where Billi guests are welcome. Restaurants galore with the pick being Mario's Italian and Larry's Shack Steakhouse (top aussie beef) for those who want a change from the great Thai cuisine. I know where I'll be going back to.

Room Tip: Penthouse is a suite and the standard rooms are only standard by name - cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonesyPortMacquarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We stayed at Billabong Beach Club for ten nights. We bartered on the price and got Billi 2 for 2300 baht per night paying cash for the 10 nights, which was in our opinion an excellent deal. There is no pool but the Clubt overlooks the beach and all you can see from the bed is the oceon with a few yachts and speedboats moored up - spectacular views. The room was excellent, massive bed, nice linens and towels (and beach towels), huge bathroom with a bath and two showers! Fairly decent wardrobe space (lacking at other places) Very small kitchen which was big enough to do breakfast and had the advantage of a big fridge, nice seating on the small terrace and a massive flat screen tv and dvd player. Would have liked an Ipod player, but hey cant ask for everything. Great staff, very obliging. Only drawback can be a bit noisy with live music - so if you are a light sleeper and want early nights each evening then maybe not for you, to be honest it didnt bother us at all.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKLeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2008

This hotel is very small. I think it only had 3 rooms in total. 1 penthouse and 2 suites. The accomadation is above the billabong restaurant, that sits on a busy road fully of restaurant, in the fisherman Village.

I was on a trip with 2 other friends, so we were upgraded to the penthouse. The stairs were 2 flights up and narrow, especially if you have loads of baggage. And you'll have to carry it all up yourself.

The room is gourgeous, overlooking the sea, which boasts a varanda with sundecks,and a breakfast round table. The penthouse is equipped with a kitchen and dining table. It has a living room,with modern couch and a plasma TV. A seperate bedroom, consists of an open plan bathroom.. which created problems for me as i was travelling with 2 other guy friends, and i was the only girl... It had a shower, and a bath tub, that was in the middle of the room... So basically you are showering near you bed...

But don't read me wrong, the room is beautiful and suitable for a romantic couple.. There is no pool in this accomadation, only the beach.

But i would recommend this place, it's beautiful!!!

  • Liked — The beautiful decor of the rooms
  • Disliked — The stairs to the rooms and no pool.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Liralovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

This is a great place to stay! An awesome place to stay. It is clean, with friendly staff, great views, tremendous bathrooms, and an absolute bargain. The apartments are very modern and a good size, spotlessly clean and super comfortable. This is one of the better resort areas on the island and the Surf Club is a great place to stay within that. The lack of a pool is more than made up for by being right on the beach, which is very tranquil. Close to some excellent restaurants. We only booked a night - which was gutting as we could happily have spent a week here.

  • Liked — Chic rooms with superb views within the pleasant Bophut Fisherman's village
  • Disliked — All good!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marklongmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2005

We have just returned from Ko samui and had to let you know about the great time we had at both the Billabong and Chaweng Bungy.
Billabong is in Fishermans Village in Bophut and was only a short walk along the beach from our hotel. Its hard to say one thing that is so addictive about this place as there is so much to say! Firstly it is so friendly, far more inviting than any bar in Chaweng (and we went to a lot!). The staff are hard working, happy to help and also extremely funny!(see photos!) Overall they make you feel like one of the family which I suppose is why we kept going back. The food is excellent, pub style menu but absolutely mouth watering. The entertainment is great, live acts on most nights which are all top notch and have a good rapport with the audience.
This leads us to Chaweng bungy not far from the reggae bar. We went on a sunday when there was a free BBQ and live DJ. Again great atmosphere and great food but make sure you eat it after you jump! My husband was mad enough to do his first bungy jump and it was well organised and overall very safe.
All this is run by aussie Mark AKA 'Doctor Mark', an extremely busy man but that does not stop him mingling with his customers every night at the billabong and overseeing things at the Bungy.
Please check these places out as you will not be disappointed.
See the forum for more details.

Helpful?
3 Thank browne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.0 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.0 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#6 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Beach Club

Property: Billabong Beach Club
Address: 79/2, Moo 1 | Fishermans Village, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Bophut
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Billabong Beach Club Hotel Koh Samui
Billabong Beach Club Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing