We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not overly impressed”
Review of Cabana Grand View

Cabana Grand View
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabana Grand View
Ranked #144 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not overly impressed”
Reviewed 5 March 2009

My partner and I booked this hotel over the internet without doing a lot of research. When we showed up to the hotel we waited in reception for 10 minutes before someone greeted us. We arrived at about 7pm and there was not a soul to be seen in the bar, restaurant or reception.
Our room was beautiful, no complaints there. We went down to breakfast in the morning and we were the only people in the restaurant. The wait staff advised us that they would cook us breakfast as we were the only guests and they wouldn't be having a buffet. Our waiter was overly attentive, it actually scared me. He stood at our table the entire time talking to us and asking if we needed anything else. Some would say this is a good thing however we just wanted to eat in peace!
We went to have a swim in the pool and it was green, also the bar was closed the whole time we were there.
The hotel is too far from Chaweng centre. We ended up hiring a scooter to go us into town and back. The whole time we were at the hotel we never saw another guest and I was actually scared to walk into the hotel at night as it reminded me of a horror movie.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerby1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

We walked in off the street looking for accommodation after we were dissattisfied with where we had booked elsewhere.
Unbeknown to us the place was virtually empty and they were very enthusiastic in showing us a selection of rooms available - we liked an end suite (401) which had fantastic views over the whole coastline (especially at night with the fireworks over Chewang beach)
The staff couldn't do enough for us and were very friendly - it was like having the whole place at your disposal.
The hotel deserves a lot more patronage as it is a great place to stay - it is further from the beach than other places but the view is worth it and they provide a free shuttle service all day.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2009

I stayed here in June 2007 for 6 nights and thought it was absolutely perfect.
We stayed in a corner suite which had the most amazing views over chaweng beach.

the hotel is set on the hill side near the airport (never caused any disturbance) so you need to get a tuk tuk into chaweng centre or during the day the hotel offers a shuttle service to it's sister hotel called Chaweng Cabana which is directly on the beach (chaweng south).

The staff couldnt do enough to help us during our stay and rate the buffet breakfast as excellent!! It was low season when we stayed so the hotel was quite empty, but we would deff recommend it. We are going back this year, but think we will opt for somewhere directly on the beach as we love strolling up and down the busy streets!!

could not fault the hotel or the staff!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachlovestravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Samui
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Cabana Grand View in Chaweng and had the best time! The service couldn't be faulted and the staff were happy to help with all our questions and queries. I understand that the hotel has recently had a change of management and it really shows. We stayed here a few years ago and were disapointed by the hotel and the staff but after hearing there had been a big overhaul of the hotel we decided to check it out. We are so happy that we did as the hotel is ten times what it was!! The pool on the roof has an unbeatable panaramic view that goes for miles all round. We spent hours swimming and sitting at the pool bar admiring the stunning views and taking in the beautiful sights and sounds of Koh Samui from a distance. The hotel is in the perfect place for easy accessibility for the centre of Chaweng without being in amongst all the noise. It took us two minutes to get into town either by rented motorbike or using the shuttle that the hotel kindly provides. The beach is just down the road from the hotel and the whole place is just great! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and we will be back next year for sure. Keep up the good work!!

  • Liked — The friendly staff who were happy to help us with anything from diving trips to hiring a bike!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jamkatKohSamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakhon Sri Thammarat
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We stayed for 3 nights, and really wished could stay longer. The evening atmosphere at the rooftop pool bar was fantastic, with excellent cocktails served by polite staff.

We'd read the previous reviews, but my wife was insistent on the views. Seems like they've really turned it round.

  • Liked — Spacius suites with incredible views
  • Disliked — Spa was being refurbished at time of visit
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank samuitone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa del sol
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2008

I booked into the Cabana with my girlfriend for 10 days.
The staff were really helpfull and nothing was to much for them.
Our room was 601 right by the roof top swimming pool, large bedroom with a lounge as well.The room was clean and really cool.
The hotel is a 15 min walk from the main street in Chaweng but only 2 mins in a taxi.
great hotel to chill out and relax in.

  • Liked — people and location
  • Disliked — no dvd player in room
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JasonCostadelsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2008

The Cabana Grand view has a few bad reviews on this site. And that’s really a shame! We just stayed there 2 weeks, and got to know the place, and the history behind it. The hotel had a period with bad management in the past, but that’s all in the past. The owner of the hotel closed the hotel for a period, and hired new staff and a new management. Then the hotel re-opened as a true 5 star hotel again. It’s the tallest hotel with the greatest view in Samui, and they have promotion offers during the high season – which is rare in Samui. The rooms all have a great view, balcony, minibar, room service and good furniture. The breakfast is really delicious. They have a great pool (you have to try their massage in the pool area) and the staff all speaks very good English - and are very service minded. They have a car waiting for you – free of charge – if you would like to go somewhere in Chaweng Beach. They arranged some good trips for us around the island, and provided is with maps and motorbike rental. I can really recommend this great place – I can’t wait to come back.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Sawadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Cher Ville Boutique Resort
Cher Ville Boutique Resort
#182 of 186 in Bophut
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 186 in Bophut
1,089 reviews
2.5 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,810 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabana Grand View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabana Grand View

Property: Cabana Grand View
Address: 91/15 Moo 2, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabana Grand View 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cabana Grand View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabana Grand View Bophut
Cabana Grand View Hotel
Cabana Grand View Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing