We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time - Still Good.”
Review of Smile House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smile House Resort
Ranked #48 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our third time at Smilehouse and it's consistently good. We've read some reviews entitled "No smiles here" or "No smiles at the Smilehouse". We've never encountered this?
Look guys, If you rock up after 20 hours travel, grumpy, shouty etc It doesn't work, I guarantee If you give a smile and a Sawadee you'll get one back. We never encountered anything other than friendly help.
Possibly our last time here as we've just about exhausted Fishermans Village. The Smilehouse is clean the grounds kept immaculate by the small army of groundsmen. Thoroughly recommend this resort right in the centre of Fisherman's Village. Wouldn't normally give anything 10 out of 10, nothings perfect eh? This gets 8 on merit and the extra 2 for consistency... 10/10

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the resort are near the smaller, secluded, quieter pool, there is a rear entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Just returned from two weeks at this resort in Thailand. Absoloutely beautiful, friendly accommodating staff, bedding and towels changed every day. Plenty choice for breakfast, hot or cold with wonderful views of the sea while you are eating. Two large, very clean pools with plenty of umbrellas. Lots of restaurants and bars to choose from in the Fishermans Village area and not one bad meal. A few steps from the road and it like staying in the jungle with plants, fronds and palm trees. As with all hot countries we were pestered by mosquitos but we were advised by a thai lady to buy Tiger Balm, takes the sting out straight away. Apparently unseasonably hot for the time of year and hell it was hot, hot, hot. The only thing that would stop me going again would be the length of the time to get there and back but I will try to find a quicker route but highly recommend Smile House and Bophut.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forresty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I've stayed in Fisherman's village a few times and decided to book at Smile House due to the good room rate we found on Booking.com. As were planned to be out a lot we didn't want to spend much on accommodation. We booked a superior bungalow (number S5) which is the closest to the front pool and street than the other Superior bungalows. We were pleasantly surprised with the size of the room and amenities were all good. Unfortunately, the hotel grows high foliage in front of the balconies for privacy, but it does tend to make sitting on the balcony feel a bit claustrophobic and stops any breeze.
The breakfast was more than adequate. As some others have mentioned here, the name of the resort is a little conflicting with the reality of the people who work there. We don't worry about these things too much on holiday, but it was only really the cleaning ladies who greeted us with smiling faces.
I would recommend Smile House for families as the big family bungalows look really spacious and nicely set out towards the back of the resort around the second pool. We thought this pool was nicer to swim in as the water is cooler and the trees provided shade. The front pool was often like a warm bath due to extreme heat during our visit. Personally I would prefer a smaller boutique style resort like Baan Bophut which is beachfront in the Village however for our purposes on this trip, Smile House suited us fine.
The Friday night Street Market is fantastic! Plenty of arts and crafts, plus good street food and entertainment.
The ambience of the Fisherman's Village makes up for the beach/sea which is not the best on Samui for swimming, but very nice to look out over a cocktail or yummy meal at one of the many
restaurants along the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JessGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed in April 2014 in a Dulux Bungalow. The room was lovely, comfy and quite spacious. The resort was beautiful with all its lush garden and well layed out with two pools to choose from and a restaurant and spa.

The location was great, convenient to the main part of Fisherman's Village to all the shops and restaurants. We stayed with a large group of family and friends celebrating a birthday but its a great place regardless if your travel circumstances are different. Food was great at the restaurant. They even allowed us to bring our own wine for dinner (for a small charge), none of the other restaurants in the area we went to accommodated that request.

The staff were very accommodating with all requests, from getting transport to organising laundry or what to do and see. All the staff were very friendly, happy and very polite.

Such a wonderful place and such a great price. We had been to Koh Samui 3 years ago and stayed elsewhere on the island and were a little disappointed, It was no where near as wonderful as Smile House or Fisherman's village. Will definitely be returning to Smile House next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DawnW08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now and both times have loved it! Bophut beach (fishermans village) is the perfect location if you want great restaurants & beautiful beaches, away from the hustle and bustle. Smile house resort is so much nicer than the big hotels, it is very private and tranquil!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4taco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We hired two bungalows for 8 days and it was superb. The location of Smile House is excellent, it is an awesome place to bring your family to as it does not have all the go-go bars and adult shows like Chaweng Beach has. The pools are lovely, the breakfasts are brilliant, I cannot understand how previous visitors say that the b/fast was bad, there is more than enough variety to keep your mouth and stomach busy. The hotel is clean and has beautiful gardens with friendly and helpfull staff. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: Come here and relax, this is the place to be. Hire a scooter and zip around the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

stayed here in august last year and it is a lovely little hotel with nice pools and staff, i done loads of research and if your coming with your partner and want somewhere quiet to chill out its ideal, not far from chewing if you wan a go mad on the odd night.. fisherman's village is good for restaurants and a quiet drink but everywhere shuts about half 11.. prices are reasonable and it was better than i expected

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#18 of 185 in Bophut
1,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#58 of 185 in Bophut
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#74 of 185 in Bophut
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#34 of 185 in Bophut
1,638 reviews
1.8 mi away
Secret Garden Beach Resort
2.1 mi away
Saboey Resort and Villas
Saboey Resort and Villas
#42 of 185 in Bophut
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile House Resort

Address: Bophut Beach 95 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#48 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £38 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smile House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smile House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smile House Hotel Koh Samui
Smile Houseresort Koh Samui
Smile House Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing