We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and perfectly ok for the price”
Review of Smile House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smile House Resort
Ranked #42 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

For the price we paid we cannot grumble. Basic accommodation, the bungalows were quite sweet, the air con did pack in in first night, they did send someone to fix it quickly but never felt like it worked quite as it should after.

For the price this place is reasonable. There was a gorgeous hotel (hassan beach bar) which must have been fairly expensive down the coast close by which are worth going to for cocktails and a bit of luxury. I can definitely vouch for the Tom yum martini!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for Smile House Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 635 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have stayed in Thailand many times but were particularly impressed by our recent stay at Smile House. We were upgraded to a 3 bedroom bungalow (1 more than we needed tbh) and loved the decor, cleanliness, quality and size of the bathrooms etc.
The choice of 2 pools meant we could decide how much sun and company we wanted with the shadier, quieter one right outside our bungalow.
The breakfasts were excellent although the restaurant was less good for lunch and dinner (as mentioned in other reviews) - nothing terrible, but pricier than necessary & average quality - there are better places away from the main street of Fisherman's Village.
With accommodation above average for the price, it is somewhere we would definitely be happy to stay again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Gem of a hotel. It is situated in a lovely village a small minute stroll to lovely bars and restaurants. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Was only there a night but would have most definatley stayed on if we hadnt a flight booked the following day!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank heatherDheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I've stayed on Samui many times and I often say I'll write a review and then never do. However, our stay here has been so good I'm writing this on the morning we are leaving.
We arrived for our 5 night stay at about 11pm and were upgraded from a two bedroom bungalow to the three bedroom and three bathroom one. The brochure describes this bungalow as "sprawling" and it's not wrong. All of the three bathrooms were bigger than our biggest one at home. The room could not have been better. Small details are important and the pillows were really great. The whole place was really clean and beautifully decorated. Even the art on the walls was great! The two bedroom bungalows looked just as good and as our kids like to share a room we didn't use the third bedroom or bathroom.
The whole resort was fantastic. Both pools were excellent and the buffet breakfast was great.
All of the staff were lovely (although I've never experienced anything else in my 20+ trips to Thailand).
I would highly recommend this resort. In fact if anyone can find a better place for £90 a night including breakfast for 4 people then please let me know!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Location in the "fisherman village" but only tourist's shops and restaurants, no "real life", every thing expensive.
Nice pools but lots of chlore and nice garden.
Comfortable bungalow but very dark inside, no curtain so no privacy because many go back and forth in front of the bungalow.
Bathroom very strange, bath sink "home made" not very clean, should be replace by a standard one.
Air con. very noisy inside and outside, if you switch off you hear your neighbour's one...
Breakfast not so bad but the smile is not there ! So where is it ? At the reception desk maybe ?
When we went to the lobby to check out (one night with no extra charge) two ladies were very busy at the reception desk with clients bill's, one of her said just "hello please wait" without asking us our room number and carry on... Long minutes later, she gave me a bill witch wasn't mine !
So the smile was not here and it was the less comfortable (and curiously not the cheaper) rooms we had during our holidays. Try another one if you can.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another one hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cécile D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Location: The resort has a very good location, nearby the sea. The gardens are lovely to walk in. At the beach side of the road is the restaurant (and breakfast room) and of course the sea (where you can have a beach chair if you're staying at the hotel). At the other side of the road lies the garden with the bungalows and swimming pools.

Room: We had the superior bungalow. We started with clean towels and clean sheets. But we stayed 5 days and after the first day the sheets and towels we get weren't clean anymore. Black stains on the bath towels, a lot of stains on the sheets. The towels are very old. The douche is not practical, it has a very low stream and tempature varies. Also it wasn't stable.
Be sure to check if everything they can charge is available in the room from the beginning! As i read the paper with chargeable things, I discovered that there was no "no-disturbing sign", but on the paper in the room they say clearly they would charge 500 bath only because you 'lost' the sign. So be sure to check these things!
We had also a problem with our toilet. Our toilet was leaking, so we were with our feet in the toilet water. We asked someone to repair, the first time they looked to it but without solution because after the night, the toilet had leaked again. Only after they came a second time, the problem was solved.

Facilities: Swimming pools were great. Only beware of some annoying guests who think they have the right to "reserve" the chairs hours before using it, you might get irritated by them, as I was.
If you want a taxi to the airport, price is 400 Baht.
You can leave your luggage (but it isn't an official option on their booking sites)

Breakfast: There is a big buffet. Not very quality-full but good enough and enough choices.

So as everyone said already: where is the smile in that house? Especially at breakfast it looks like the staff only could give us some sad faces...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeenFerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at Smile house and can recommend it highly. The value for money was probably the best on our trip through Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand, whilst the location is awesome. (across one road from the beach) The HUGE buffet breakfast (included in rate) was easily the best throughout our travels. The cleanliness was good and the general feel of the place was great. (happy helpful willing staff etc) The swimming pools were always clean and the staff always respectful and helpful. I really think that this must be the top place to head for on Koh Samui, given the value for money and general location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Graham51sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#17 of 184 in Bophut
989 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#55 of 184 in Bophut
312 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#94 of 184 in Bophut
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#36 of 184 in Bophut
1,574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samui Diving Resort
Samui Diving Resort
#3 of 157 in Bophut
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lawana Resort
Lawana Resort
#75 of 184 in Bophut
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smile House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile House Resort

Address: Bophut Beach 95 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#48 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £32 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smile House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Smile House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smile House Hotel Koh Samui
Smile Houseresort Koh Samui
Smile House Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing