We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor staff and lousy rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of L' Hacienda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
L' Hacienda
Ranked #69 of 151 Bophut B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location, poor staff and lousy rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

I was wowed by the photos on the website for this hotel, but the reality was very different.

We arrived two hours later than planned after a nightmare journey and were greeted by a rude woman who snapped at us for being late, and then directed us the other Hacienda building a couple of doors down, where the man at reception was pretty unhelpful. Our twin bed room was simple and cramped, and most bizarrely didn't have a door on the en suite bathroom, which was inexplicable and annoying. The air con was very loud, too, and there was no window except a tiny square in the bathroom through which you could just see the sea.

We were allowed to visit the swimming pool in the main Hacienda building, but it was very small and crowded.

This would be a one-star review if it weren't for the breakfast (which you have to pay for), which was tasty, and the great location in Fisherman's Village, which was fun to explore. It wasn't a nice stay, but it wasn't as expensive as much of the nearby accommodation. Why Lonely Planet raves about this place I don't know.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allneonlike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    59
    30
    19
    10
See reviews for
31
138
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed in this hotel as a couple on our honeymoon and stayed in a sea view room. The sea view from the room is brilliant. The room was kept very clean. The location is good but the food in the restaurants here are over priced. The cons of staying here was that there was no hot water in the shower at all. We did complain about this but nothing was done about it even after complaining. The receptionist was very rude on answering any of our queries. She was like "yes what" without a smile every time we went to her. The shower had literally no water once. I would recommend you staying in places like chaweng and lamai since you will have better food options and better and cheaper accommodation. Here there is literally nothing to eat for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YashasTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

This was a fab place for a one night stop over. The room was small and didn't have a window so wouldn't want to stay any longer in this particular room. This wasn't mentioned in the booking.
The hotel staff were really helpful
It was very clean, cool, pretty and in a great, quiet location
The seaview rooms looked fantastic

Room Tip: Check what sort of room you are booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine007190761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and were hoping to be able to book an ocean view room based on the reviews below but these were fully booked so we went for a hillside room instead. The only downside of this was that the balcony over looked the main road which could be a bit noisy at night particularly on a Friday when the fisherman's village market took place (definitely worth a visit by the way-lots of cheap street food, drinks and souvenirs and sales people not pushy at all). The hotel was perfectly located for this market with the stalls starting right outside the front door. The room itself was immaculate and cleaned daily with thai features and a lovely pebbled bathroom. The room included air con, mini bar and tv and a very large double bed. Overall considering the location and the standard of the rooms this hotel was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becs116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

We booked the room from Booking.com. There were no mention that the room is eco-room.. There were no balcony, no sea view, room was so so little and no door to the bathroom..
Room was very clean and nice decoration. Also restaurant was nice and staff was helpful. The location is good, it is peaceful but still there where everything happens.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We were originaly booked into this hotel until I found out that they had a new hotel a few doors down from here, so after a couple of emails we were able to change our booking to a seaview in the new Hacienda Suite. All my emails were answered promptly and they were very helpful to me. They also arranged a pick up from the airport, great service.
We arrived at Hacienda Suite and the staff were waiting to assist us and escort us to our room. Afer a quick check in the girls carried our luggage up 3 flights of stairs to our room, (we were on the top and 3rd floor) glad they were carrying them!! The stairs turned out to be a bit of a struggle for my husband after a few days, so if you have any mobility problems book a lower floor room, but the view from the top was just amazing and worth all the stairs to get there,180 degree sea views, and a lovely 6mt long balcony with glass panels, awesome! the room was lovely and new, massive bed where you could sit and look out over the beautiful sea view, flat screen TV, lovely decor and the bathroom was spacious and clean, security safe and plenty of storage and wardrobe space, the only thing missing was a kettle and tea/coffee. The mini bar is well stocked and well priced. The room was serviced daily cleaned and new linen and towels, and the maids were all so friendly and lovley.
We had a good stay and the only 2 negatives (if you can call them that) are: no tea/coffee in the room and the bed was extremly hard, I know it is the normal thing in Thailand having been in many resorts/hotels but this one has to be the hardest yet, maybe as it is so new? I did ask reception on the 3rd day for a mattress topper but the girls didn't seem to know what i meant? but that evening i think they had put something there as it seemed a bit softer.
The views and the lovely new room made up for everything.
Would we stay again? Yes, but only because of my husband not coping with the stairs much we would take a lower floor room, maybe not so good of a view but it would still be a good sea view.
Thank you to the staff for a lovely stay at Hacienda Suite, see you again one day :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mossy043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

This hotel was really chilled and relaxing, the room we stayed in (number 4!) was immaculate and had a lovely unobstructed view of the sea... The reception staff were really friendly. It was a little cloudy the night we stayed so did not take full advantage of their roof top pool, but certainly took a peek and it was also immaculately clean with fantastic views and a chilled music (you could also put yr own on too). Would def go there again!!

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#52 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#81 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#92 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hacienda Fisherman's Village
0.1 mi away
Enjoy Beach Hotel
Enjoy Beach Hotel
#6 of 151 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelegrin Hotel Samui
Pelegrin Hotel Samui
#9 of 151 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L' Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L' Hacienda

Property: L' Hacienda
Address: 98 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L' Hacienda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your L' Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hacienda Koh Samui
L' Hacienda Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing