We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Dominique_182
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Good value
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Sept 2012
We stayed at Samui Mermaid for a few nights. The room's are decent and good value, they include a TV. There's also a couple swimming pools. The staff were friendly and helpful and there is a 24 restaurant which served good food. The main downside is that the location isn't great.. but that depends on what sort of location you're looking for. If you want a quiet getaway with a few restaurants then it's good, however it was bit quiet for me and in this instance Chaweng was a preferable place for me to stay. Also it's right next to the airport so it's noisy when planes are flying overhead, however this didn't happen too often.
Date of stay: August 2012
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£229
  • Melia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.8 miles from Samui Mermaid Resort
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
£53
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
1.8 miles from Samui Mermaid Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£260
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.5 miles from Samui Mermaid Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £90
  • travelup.com
1.4 miles from Samui Mermaid Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £280
  • Algotels
1.8 miles from Samui Mermaid Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £129
  • Algotels
2.5 miles from Samui Mermaid Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £104
  • Expedia.com
    £169
2.0 miles from Samui Mermaid Resort
Free parking
Beachfront
Booking.com
  • Official Site
    £346
  • Vio.com
    £306
  • Hotels.com
2.9 miles from Samui Mermaid Resort
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    £142
  • Algotels
1.8 miles from Samui Mermaid Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £77
  • Expedia.com
    £92
2.2 miles from Samui Mermaid Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Bophut
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
61
125
83
37
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
61
125
83
37
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pools beach piers bangrak taxis chewang
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

The 490B budget ("standard") rooms at Samui Mermaid were good value for the location - you can't find anything around there for cheaper and as the cheapest option it was pretty good. Rooms were clean and had a tv and fridge. Fan didn't work that well but oh well. Room was cleaned daily and I had hem do my laundry (40B/kilo) and it turned out well. Service was pleasant if not overly helpful. For a budget price you get resort facilities - 2 swimming pools with cushioned sun loungers though they are worn which I could see as disappointig if you were paying for the more expensive rooms. There isn't much of a beach in this area but the pool sunloungers look out onto the sea which is nice. Overall, a good value for budget travelers in Samui.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Photos are nothing like the hotel whatsoever. Mosquitos are all over the place, used cans upon cans of repellent in just 2 days. Bed sheets are dirty, lizards everywhere. Half the wall is stone with holes in it, covered by a net which is clearly not effective. Pool is fine but no sun loungers. Only good thing about this place is the WIFI works. If you are also keen for aeroplanes to pass over and sound like they are about to land on you then get involved. Surrounding shops and bars are terrible and tacky. Nothing nice about this area of Samui.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahWilliam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel was good for a night, easy to the airport and had a 24 hour restaurant which was good because I was meeting people just landing there. We had two rooms, both nice well stocked rooms, one rooms ac was just blowing warm air no matter what the setting and the other, the ac was in such an odd place it wasn't circulating the room, the hot water lasted all of 30 seconds. The pool was nice and the beach was right there, not very clean beach. The staff were lovely and sweet and kind no problems there. One other thing, planes at all hours, unless you sleep like a log, your gonna get an early morning wake up call curtisy of Bangkok airways

Room tip: Check the act in your rooms before you accept it !
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simplyalouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Wanted to be in a quieter area of Samui with decent infrastructure. Decided on beach in Bophut. Worked hard to find good value.

Mermaid is best I could find for a big room overlooking water.

Understand this hotel is on two sides of main road. Smaller, simpler, bungalows on one side of main street. Bigger building and nicer bungalows on other.

GOOD:
PRICE, Great location-near terrific food market, 7-11, Tesco Express, quiet stretch of beach, close to buddha pier (access to Full Moon party), some excellent local (less touristy) restaurants and the BEST massage place in area: "Great Massage", 2 nice restaurants on premise: Mermaid Bar and Little Mermaid Bar (open 24 hours across the street) gorgeous stretch of beach, ac, super comfortable bed, decent wifi, free water, refrigerator, hot water kettle, immaculate grounds, free airport shuttle, 3 beautiful and well kept swimming pools (2 on resort side and one on other side of street). 24 hour reception area (most staff speaks good English).

BAD:
AIRPORT FLIGHT PATTERN JUST OVERHEAD!!!!! Could be annoying at times especially on simpler accomodation side of property.

Furniture is a bit worn.

No in room safe (drawer in closet with cheap lock or coin operated gym locker in reception area that you must pay every time you use).
-----------------------

Happily stayed one week.

Room tip: Before booking know which side of road you are getting!!!!!!
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJ-Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Basic and cheap

Stayed at Samui Mermaid which is other side of road from the resort however part of same set up. OK for a night if needing access to airport or ferries to the islands to the north.

Rooms are tatty and chipped but clean...which is what you want for approx 500 baht on Samui.

Not a place for your honeymoon unless looking at the landing gear of incoming aircraft is your thing

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Joma71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews