We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing short of perfect!!”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #20 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Once again, we had the most perfect of holidays at The Waterfront. This was our 5th time staying at this hotel, and once again it didn't fail to amaze us. From the moment you get picked up from the airport to the time you get dropped back, the fantastic owners Robin and Sue, and the amazing staff go out of their way to make your holiday super special. The rooms all have amazing views over the beach, they are fantastically clean and comfortable (thanks to the lovely Khun Serm and Khun Supee), and have everything you could possibly need in them. Breakfast is fantastic, with fruit, cereals, croissants, pancakes, or a proper fry up among other things, all prepared by the lovely 'Cooking', and the girls who looks after reception and the bar are some of the nicest people we have ever met!!! Big hello to Khun Raine, Khun Lamai, Khun Fon, Khun Carol, Khun Joe. The location of the hotel is perfect for peace, quiet and tranquility, and the village with amazing shops, bars and restaurants is literally only 3 minutes walk from the hotel - perfect!!! I really don't know what more i can say about this hotel, and the people that work there apart from if you are planning a trip to Koh Samui, and want to find a boutique hotel where the owners treat you like a person rather than a customer, then you HAVE to book The Waterfront. There are a lot of 5* hotels on the island, which charge an absolute fortune for meals and drinks, and yes they are lovely (having had (very expensive) drinks in some of them) but with their 200 plus rooms you can't expect that personal service that you get from a smaller hotel....... it might not officially be a 5*, but you definately get 5* service. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else on the island, and there are a hell of a lot of guests who go back year after year - so that has to tell you something!!!

We've booked up for our 6th visit already, next Easter, and even though we only got home yesterday, I am counting down the days already!!!!!

Don't think about it - just book it........ you will not be dissappointed in this gem of a hotel, in a magical location on a fabulous island xx

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

We were pleased with our stay here for 2 nights. We only booked for 2 nights because I had read previous reviews regarding the beach not being suitable for swimming but wanted to check out Fisherman's Village for its shopping and restaurants. Sue and Michael kindly picked us up from our hotel in Chaweng which was a good start. Sue was very helpful with information about the area. Room was very nice - a good size and a large bathroom. Lots of useful information about local restaurants and bars provided in a folder in room. I thought it had a lovely relaxed atmosphere with lots of nice comfy outdoor loungers both by the pool and out by the beach. Pool was nice enough but small which is a shame because the beach is not really suitable for swimming out in front of the hotel. All of the staff very friendly and helpful. I particularly liked the restaurant area which is lovely to sit out in and look out to sea. Breakfasts were good too. Fisherman's Village is lovely - very relaxed after Chaweng. Lots of good restaurants and bars. Overall, good value for money and a good place to stay as long as swimming is not one of your top priorities.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wendy_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We were a couple on our honeymoon touring Thailand for 2 weeks. We struck it lucky by finding the Waterfront, which was the nicest place we stayed in Thailand.

On the way to Samui we had nothing booked, and I picked this hotel after reading the reviews (which were some what mixed). After staying there I am not sure where the bad reviews came from because we had a great stay, and the staff and owners were great. We stayed for 2 nights and then headed off to Koh Tao, after 2 nights in Koh Tao which has fantastic snorkeling we decided to head back to the Waterfront and finish our trip there and stayed 3 more nights.

Location - Walking distance to a nice selection of restaurants and bars. The hotel provides a package describing their fav places which was a nice personal touch and we found it very useful. My favorite was Kama Sutra, and my wife's was the pancake man! The area is relaxed and low key, and doesn't feel too touristy like other parts of Samui. From the hotel you can walk the beach to some places and eat right on the beach.

Hotel Description - Very relaxed feel, the staff are cute and pleasant, the owners are chilled and friendly. We stayed up late with them one night watching a soccer game and chatting about how they ended up in Samui. The room was like a guest house, with a private porch viewing the ocean. The pool is small but prefer the sea for a swim anyways. There were lots of beds to lay on outside, in the shade or in a hammock. My only negative was the sea water on the beach was not clear and stony in parts, however I swam in it a few times.

Food - Only tried the breakfast which was good, the English breakfast had real sausages and bacon, only place in Samui I came across this!

Overall - If you want a relaxed stay in nice surroundings with great food options a stones throw away, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bahearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Right on the beach and close to a variety of beautiful restaurants. Breakfast was lovely, room was small but clean and again right on the beach. Pool area is very small. Staff are all very helpful and friendly. Good all round.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dolp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Sue & Robin and all the staff at the Waterfront make your visit so special, you continue to look forward to the next visit. The waterfront is unique, in its beach location, its atmosphere is so friendly and welcoming.
This was our 6th visit and we are already looking forward to our 7th visit next year.
I would highly advise anyone thinking og goint to Koh Samui to make this hotel a must for your visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The best place we stayed in Thailand! We arrived on a late flight and robin's son came to pick us up then gave us a short tour of the main part of bophut village which is just a 2 minute walk away! We loved everything about our stay, it's a lovely small resort with a very personal touch and if you want some where to relax this is the place! The room was very clean and had everything you could need, the grounds were nice and the pool was big enough! The pool side bar is also good and the food was very good too! This place was a lot more personal then other places we stayed and all the staff were really friendly and helpful! A couple of nice touches were the library of books and DVDs you could help yourself to! We met some really nice people there and all we'll say is that we wished we had more time there, it is no surprise to is that people cone back here!

Thanks Robin, sue and all for making our stay there a great one!

Laurence & Gemma

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence_En
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We have stayed here twice and each time met some great people. Robin and Sue (the owners) look after the guests well and even transport you to and from the airport FOC when possible. If there son Michael drives it will be a white knuckle ride, be warned. The small pool and bar next to it are great for meeting people during the day or when you return from a walk round Fishermans Village in the evening. The one downside is the conversation will be totally about football if there son Michael is there. Because there are only about 18 rooms around the gardens it is quite intimate. We have been fortunate to have met some really nice people on both occasions and not met anyone with badly behaved screaming children yet, but it is a small family friendly place, so you take your chances. Although you cannot really swim in the sea by the hotel you can further up. I have attached some photos of the beach in front of the Waterfront Hotel taken from the Beachfront Apartments further along in Fishermans Village which I would also recommend.There are some lovely places to eat and drink if you walk along the beach or through the town (which is easier). The Waterfront staff are all very friendly apart from one who has an attitude when Robin or Sue are not around. Fishermans Village is the best place to stay on the island if you want to avoid noisy nightlife but enjoy eating and drinking. Although there are some Brit style bars with big screen TV showing never ending football, there are also some nice tasteful bars and great restaurants for people who have a life. If you are booking any boat trips it is cheaper to book them in the town than at the hotel.
If you want a relaxing, small friendly hotel in a great location you must try the Waterfront.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teefer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6.5 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
726 reviews
3.5 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui
9.6 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Privilege Hotel Ezra Beach Club
6.3 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#10 of 51 in Lamai Beach
434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#34 of 185 in Bophut
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £46 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing