We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back yet again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #20 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Back yet again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Have just got home after what we have worked out must be our eighth visit. I believe in an earlier review I said that we never go back to a place, so you can tell that it must have something! (Flying a total of 13k miles in economy each time is no joke). For us it is the ideal place to relax, both as a base, and with its position, bang on the beach at the quiet end of the Fishermans Village. The rooms are always spotless and are well maintained, as are the grounds. The staff, from the maintenance man, the cleaners to the girls in reception are always friendly and helpful. A recent review criticised the 'river' to the side of the hotel for being smelly and having mossies. Having spent two weeks there in close proximity to it, I can't say I noticed any smell, or mossies. ( I think I got bitten twice in all the time I was there). In any case it hasn't rained for months, and it's pretty dry) breakfasts are good, and pretty substantial, with lots of choice. Hot food is cooked to order, unlike many of the bigger hotels where it is left in hot trays.

It's not a 5* establishment! - it doesn't pretend to be. It is small, personal and it does what it says on the website. Ticks all the boxes for us, and the dozens of returning guests from all over the world. We always meet people who have been before, and in some cases we have even met them before.

Already looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    122
    48
    24
    12
See reviews for
171
577
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for 5 days after 5 days in Bangkok-what a delightful idylic place.
Pool gorgeous after a comforting breakfast.
Rooms and facilities very adequate .
Near enough to night life -or far enough away to enjoy the solitude.
5 stars !!
Want to return ASAP!!

Room Tip: They will all be good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampong Cham, Cambodia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was really disappointed by this hotel. Never seen in Asia staff like that: impolite, unfriendly, lazy.
Small rooms, not very clean. We chose "beachfront" bungalow but didn't have beach view ! The beach was ok but there was a kind of stagnant water with bad smell and a lot of mosquitos.
Limited breakfast with only fruits in the buffet ! Aging decoration.
Very expensive compare to the other hotels around.
Positive points: location in the village, swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pascale792014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

If you ever visit Koh Samui in Thailand "The Waterfront"is a must.Right on the beach.lt has everything,the rooms are lovely,new larger pool,sun beds to die for,amazing food,not to mention the owners Sue and Robin,always there to help,also their son Michael a lovely family run boutique hotel.Their staff are all lovely,Pa who does the Thai massage,cooking,the cook,all great staff.lf you ever visit this wonderful island make your home The Waterfront,you won't be sorry, most of their guests visit more than once. Lots of brilliant restaurants,some they set up on the beach right on the waters edge very romantic.My husband and l will be back......soon l hope.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susiecusie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Waterfront is exactly what you need from a relaxing holiday in Thailand. Good value, friendly staff, superb food, excellent location - my four year old son is already asking when we are going back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichB660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Returned to this beautiful little Hotel for the 4th time in February My wife Maureen and had a wonderful 12 days, catching up with all the delightful people we have been lucky enough to meet over the last 4 years. Sue and Robin the friendly ever so attentive owners have a way of making every guest feel so special, with lovely flower arrangements for every return guest, created by their delightful staff. they are the happiest most pleasant people, always with a smile on their faces.
Now we have a new pool to enjoy and a lovely bar serving all kinds of delights, breakfast is delicious and 'Cooking's creative meals are always so special.Cannot wait until next February for more of the same.

Room Tip: We love no 3 with a beautiful view of the sea and Ko Phangan
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMaryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Waterfront was just what we were looking for: Koh Samui at its best. The Waterfront is quiet, beautiful and very well run! A low-key resort feel without all the glitter and crowds and trance music! It's walking proximity to Fisherman's Village, beach dining and local flavor of Koh Samui is ideal. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast each day excellent. My husband, 15-year old daughter and I spent our last morning wondering how quickly we could return. Thanks for making our introduction to Koh Samui and Thailand so memorable!

Room Tip: We loved our second floor vista. Room 18 is great for a suite arrangement with family. Bungalow 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greenam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.0 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#53 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#77 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smile House Resort
Smile House Resort
#37 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.1 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing