We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #21 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic Honeymoon to Thailand. The second part of our stay was spent on Ko Samui at the Waterfront Hotel in Bophut. We chose this hotel given the high ratings it receives on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.

The hotel is small and reasonably basic (it is NOT a luxury five star hotel) - however we found it to be clean, very comfortable and loved the luxurious touches - orchids left on our bed every day, really good breakfast included in the hotel price, cold flannels brought to us when it got hot round the pool etc.

The breakfast had a great choice and the food was always really good. Food was also available all day until early evening. We ate there most lunchtimes and found the quality to be high and the prices to be very reasonable.

The owners, Robin and Sue were so friendly and went out of there way to make sure that all the guests were well looked after. The other staff were also really friendly and pleasant and were helpful in arranging trips for us.

Given that the hotel is small, it felt very intimate and we got to know several of the other guests fairly well, which was really nice.

We spent Christmas day at the hotel and were pleasantly surprised. Sue and the staff had gone to a lot of effort - we got a small christmas gift in the morning, were served bucks fizz and then had a full sit-down turkey Christmas lunch (which tasted really good!). The rest of Christmas was spent drinking with the other hotel guests well into the evening. We had a fantastic time.

Bophut is a really nice place to stay. The beach isn't the best on the island and for that, we went to Chaweng. However, Bophut has managed to maintain some charm and has not been over-developed. The restaurants are very good and the resort has a quiet, romantic atmosphere.

We intend to return to Thailand to travel round this beautiful country some more and would hope to drop back in at the Waterfront!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NewMrsDickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
There are newer reviews for The Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

720 - 726 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2008

Great little property, right on the edge of Bophut, very quiet, just the way my wife and I like it.

While it's definitely not the Ritz, the Waterfront is beautiful, comfortable and we definitely enjoyed our stay here a great deal. The food is great (breakfasts are excellent!), Robin and Sue are really warm and welcoming and the staff are extremely attentive, while allowing us all the privacy we wanted/needed.

The Waterfront is also a 3 min walk to the heart of Bophut, where all the restaurants and bars are, but even then, it's not terribly noisy. In our experience, this is far from party town, and that was exactly what we were looking for.

Only complaint, if any, was the lack of a real(any) beach, but I'd say that would be a wide comment on the whole of Bophut, and not just The Waterfront.

EW

p.s - we arrived the night that the protesters left Bangkok airport, so it may have been extra quiet due to the slowdown in tourists that have to get to Samui via Bangkok

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank eugewong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2008

Just spent two weeks at the Waterfront, Bophut and had an excellent time. Robin & Sue are lovely hosts and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were charming, efficient and always cheerful they are great ambassadors for this lovely country. Would have no hesitation in recommending the Waterfront to any of my colleagues and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Falcon-360dtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

As part of a broader trip to Thailand, I visited Koh Samui for four nights. I chose the Waterfront based on its TripAdvisor ratings. While I cannot say the Waterfront was bad, I found it to be way overrated.

First the positives: The hotel was located right on the outskirts of Bophut with less than a 5-minute walk to the village. The rooms all faced the water, and the views were great. The basic room was was spotlessly clean and smartly furnished. The bathroom toiletries (bath gel, shampoo, and conditioner) were top rate. The hotel offered a large number of videos for viewing in your room (as long as you didn't mind riffling through two big wicker baskets without any sort of order), and they had a basket of fresh fruit in the lobby that you could help yourself to at any time. The also offered use of the internet.

The negatives: Contrary to other reviews, I did not find the hotel to be exceptional in any way. First, the hotel didn't really have a beach, per se. There was an outlet into the sea that cut across the hotel property. This didn't really bother me, but if you were looking to use the beach, it would certainly be a disappointment. The grounds, while not unkept, were not especially well maintained. In the open air lobby where breakfast was served, cushions from the outside lounge chairs were stacked up against the wall, a third way to the top, and there were soda crates in the corner with empty bottles. The reception counter was covered with brochures. All of this amounting to just a lack of attention to detail. As far as the room goes, the bathroom was very basic with a shower and a single water source. That is, no separate hot and cold water. You needed to adjust the wall mounted heater to your desired temperature. The bathroom sink itself, only had cold water. None of these things were especially bad, but certainly not what I expected based on the TripAdvisor reviews.

Summary: In short, the Waterfront Bophut was okay, but if you're looking for a really nice hotel, you can probably do better.

Side note: I visited Koh Samui in November. I was well aware that the island still gets a lot of rain this time of year so I had expected it. But during my entire stay, there was no sun at all - so I definitely would recommend going a different time of year.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank John-from-Colts-Neck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

We were picked up at the airport and welcomed to Koh Samui by a very friendly Robin (Owner of the Waterfront) and taken to the hotels reception to check in and have a refreshing drink! The hotel itself has a very informal, family feel about it and is very relaxing. We were very impressed with the standard of the room and attention to detail. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The beach out front wasnt great, it wasnt a white sandy beach but it was clean. The hotels gardens were lovely and pool was very nicely maintained. The only thing that spoiled our trip here was the weather, it rained the two days we were there. When we go back will stay at the Waterfront again and hope it doesnt rain!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kirsty1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

Sus and Robin have thought of everything! Everytime we turned around we were surprised to notice yet another little extra that made our stay so perfect. Free internet, robes, a vanity with hair blower and electrical converter, large makeup mirror, safe, free bottled water, a minibar with good assortment of snacks, umbrellas in our room, hundreds of DVD's and book to enjoy and orchids everywhere to name just a few, there was so much more. Around the pool VERY comfy chairs with footstools.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful (we were there during the Bangkok situation). They helped us find a way home, booked everything and made the stress level come down significantly.

The rooms are clean, very comfortable, very well equiped and the property is lovely. Our room included a wonderful breakfast, buffet and a la cart.

We noticed they offered babysitting, arrange tours and offer advice on local cuisine.

I would return in a heartbeat. Hats off to them and their staff. They know how to do things right!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Carolj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

We loved everything about the Waterfront Bophut. It is small, intimate and cozy, a private beach paradise at the end of the main road of a former Chinese fishing village. The owners are gracious and attentive hosts, with Sue taking special care of each visitor, checking each day on your well-being. She has written a full guide to the hotel, the town, the shops and the restaurants--distributed in every room; we followed her suggestions with excellent results! Even when the hotel is full, as it usually is, there never seems to be a crowd. The pool is lovely, the bar is great, the Thai staff are lively and friendly and efficient, and the food is actually better than many of the local restaurants; not to mention the full English breakfast. We loved our well-appointed beach bungalow and view of the pool and the ocean: with minibar, two large bottles of fresh water daily, TV and DVD player, ac and fan, a fabulous shower and a very comfortable queen-size bed. The price was right. We were there at low season and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank barbaraGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
3.5 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
731 reviews
3.0 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
409 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 184 in Bophut
1,111 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#4 of 184 in Bophut
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#12 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £44 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing