We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #17 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Stayed at the waterfront with a friend for the last leg of our 5 week holiday.Beautifully kept hotel with breathtaking views from the garden area.The little personal touches on offer here,ie, airport pickup, mouthwash in the bathroom,dvd player in room(with a fantastic range of films to watch!) were very much appreciated. A very well run but friendly establishment gave us a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. The only "mishap" that occured during our stay was whilst showering the shower tap came away from the wall! Trust it to be me! You can imagine my embarrasment but Richard the owners son was really professional about the situation and all was fixed and cleaned up in 20 minutes of the unfortunate event occuring! So thanks for that Richard and for sparing my embarresment! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and theirs no need to write anymore praise as plenty have done that before me and said all that needs to be said.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gailmilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

698 - 704 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2009

Enjoyed probably the most relaxing holiday ever. Our breakfasts were idyllic. Sitting on the decking with the amazing views of Koh Phangnan and the perfect calm seas gently lapping on the beach. Robin & Sue and all the staff were excellent, going out of their way to do everything they could to make our holiday perfect. We were picked up from the airport and also dropped off there by Robin at the end of our holiday, another great bonus was being able to have the use of a room to shower and change in as we did not have to leave till 5.00 p.m . The location was also perfect very quiet but minutes walk to numerous eating and drinking places . We enjoyed the company of many like minded guests while sitting around the pool and bars areas. Would not hesitate to recommend the Waterfront.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

The Waterfront Hotel can’t please all of the people all of the time but it can please most of the people most of the time. We returned from a very peaceful 3 weeks holiday where the Waterfront helped us to relax beyond belief. From Robin picking us up from the airport we felt looked after but never crowded by the efforts both he and the staff made. The rooms were immaculately cleaned every day. If you wanted something then you only had to ask. On one occasion our toilet broke. Within 10 minutes of informing a member of staff, a new part was fitted and it was up and running again. I wonder how long this would have taken in a larger, less personal hotel? The price of the hotel was very reasonable especially when you compared it to the other hotels nearby. The breakfast was inclusive and plentiful and you could have whatever you wanted. There is no scrimping where the Waterfront is concerned. If things aren’t quite the same as they are at home then it is worth remembering that you are in a developing country in SE Asia and they have ways and tastes different from your own. That’s surely the point of visiting? The hotel is situated at the quieter end of Fisherman’s Village and this certainly helps to get a good nights sleep. There are numerous restaurants to choose from within a pleasant walking distance but the Waterfront’s cook does some pretty darn good Thai food herself, so it’s worth staying in one or two nights if you have the time. I noticed that other hotels were having issues with the sun beds and it was a case of ‘towels at dawn’. Robin & Sue obviously had the foresight very early on to see that this does not make a relaxing holiday for people. Hence their sunbed’s out number their guests. The pool is a nice size and cleaned daily. Finally I must thank Robin for looking after us up to the last possible minute. Our taxi was very late picking us up to return us to the airport. However Robin had his eye on the clock and decided that it was not feasible to wait any longer, so told Pim to get the old truck and take us to the airport. He threw our bags in the back and off we went. I think we would have missed the flight had it not been for his attention to detail even for departing guests. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letsdoit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

booked over the internet effortless, robin picked us up from airport and to our delight gave us a tour of the town of bophut fishing village, we were treated to a lovely drink on arrival from his lovely wife sue and the staff who showed us to our airconditioned beachfront room which was spotless, the food at the bophut is great value and very tasty, the bar is always well stocked and after going out for the evening the bar is always open for a nightcap. i have stayed in 5* resorts the world over but nothing comes even close to the holiday at the waterfront, the boutique style of the hotel and the close knit friendly guests.we felt like one of the family. i will book again for next year... oh as addition the honeymoon suite became available and robin upgraded us at no extra charge excellent...thanks again a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maydayUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

Our 4 day stay at the Waterfront was just what is says on the tin. Relaxing, friendly and great value for money. the view through the palms and hammocks was idilic and even on our short stay we were able to share many of our travel stories while seated at the perfect triangle of pool beach and bar with the other guests.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topcat1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

After a wonderful welcome from Robin, at the airport when we arrived, we stayed at the Waterfront over a period of three weeks with side trips in between and Robin had worked his magic in finding the perfect room for us each time we returned, even though the hotel was full. Great breakfasts with daily English newspapers and lunch under the shade of the beautiful trees of the tropical garden. A delightful, peaceful sanctuary in Bhoput with all the local restaurants within easy walking distance. The staff could not do enough to make us welcome and comfortable and without exception rushed to give us hugs goodbye when we left. The hotel is right on the beach and the ocean is just the right shade of blue. We have already booked our return trip

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bishopsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Stayed for 14 nights on our third visit to the Island. We had previously stayed at larger chain hotel but wanted something more relaxed this time and The Waterfront did not disappoint.

A great hotel with lots of nice touches not least the great owner Robin (Sue was in the UK when we stayed) the friendly staff and the other guest. The location has lots to offer re local restaurants and during the day you can always hire a car via the hotel if you want a better beach.

The breakfast was great and no need to get up early as served till 11am, great choice for lunch. The bar was great for pre dinner drinks and a chat - after dinner for a night cap we always found some lively conversation!

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdhd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6.5 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#6 of 51 in Lamai Beach
718 reviews
3.5 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort, Koh Samui
9.6 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
426 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 185 in Bophut
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £45 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing