We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterfront

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Waterfront
Ranked #18 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

Had a great holiday staying at the Waterfront, Koh Samui in Thailand. Have been there many times and if we had known how lovely the Waterfront was we would have stayed there before and have no hesitations about staying there again. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the owners Sue and Robin were excellent hosts, who could ask for more.

Sara and Gary from Suffolk.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpsses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    735
    122
    48
    24
    12
See reviews for
171
579
52
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

We have just returned from our third stay at the Waterfront Hotel and found it to be just as excellent as the first and second trips. Robin and Sue's hospitality cannot be faulted and neither can the attentiveness one receives from all off the staff. I don't think it is necessary to say anymore when reviewing this hotel except who would return three times to the same place unless the sevice and amenities were second to none (actually, if we had to find one fault with the Waterfront it would be that the pool could be larger ...... but then who wants to swim a marathon when on holiday)!
Jan and Bob Sims

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Endcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

We stayed for 10 days at the Waterfront after 3 weeks traveling around Thailand and this was a perfect end to our holiday.
Having visited Thailand many times, this was one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in (and not the most expensive). This is a small family run hotel and as such, the service we found was very relaxed and friendly. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
On our arrival at the hotel we were offered a very welcome drink of our choice - Gin & Tonic in our case- as opposed to the usual fruit juice or nothing!
The room was very comfortable and clean and contained a folder of detailed information of the shops, restaurants & bars in Bophut, provided by Sue and very useful.
We spent many a happy hour cooling off in the pool and chatting to the other guests. As this is such a small hotel you cannot help but make friends and our evening chats around the bar were also particularly enjoyable with Robin, Sue and their son Michael often around and joining in.
We particularly appreciated the free pick up from the airport and transfer back at the end of our holiday (which we were advised by Robin they always try to do if possible).
All in all we agree with all the positive reports of this hotel and definitely intend to stay again on our next visit to Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millymollyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

I felt I had to write a review about the Waterfront Boutique after seeing a couple of poor ratings - please don't believe these. My husband and I stayed in this hotel last September on our honeymoon. After a long journey and a tiring stay in Bangkok, the warm welcome we received by Robin and his son Michael was just what we needed. Michael picked us up from the airport and took us on a trip around the local village, showing us the best places to eat, and Robin gave us a welcome drink and took our cases to the room.

Our room was a good size and was absolutely spotless. Robin and his wife Sue (who was in the UK when we visited) had thought of everything you could need, and if you needed anything else, you only had to ask. A lightbulb went in our bathroom and within 10 minutes of telling Robin, it was changed.

All of the bedrooms overlooked the sea and the island of Koh Phangan. We spent our days lazing on the sun beds on the sand, reading and listening to the sea. We did not swim in the sea due to the coral, but we were fully aware of this as it is stated on the hotel's website. Similarly, the pool is tiny and is not suitable for swimming, however, this was stated on the website. The pool did come in handy for cooling off on one of the many days we had fantastic weather. The lush gardens surrounding the hotel are very well maintained too.

The hotel is in a lovely location, just out of the way enough to be peaceful, but only a short walk up the road / beach if you want something extra.

We originally looked at staying at one of the more 'luxurious' (expensive) hotels for our honeymoon, but decided to stay at the Waterfront because of the fantastic reviews. We were both so pleased we'd made that decision, as we knew we couldn't possibly have received the same customer service as we did from Robin and the staff. Even whilst we were there, a couple went to another hotel to get married and stay for a few days - when they came back to visit friends who had stayed at the Waterfront, they said they wished they had not changed hotels.

We had lunch most days on the decking overlooking the sea. The staff were very friendly and the Thai food was gorgeous. We weren't big fans of the cooked English breakfasts, so had croissants and left space for lunch!

We had access to a computer with internet, shelves full of books and DVDs (for if it rained). A couple of evenings we had a drink in the hotel bar, which was very pleasant.

We ate out in the Bophut village every night and can recommend The Shack (for delicious steaks) and The Pier (ask for a table overlooking the sea). We also enjoyed cocktails in The Billabong Bar.

In all, the Waterfront Hotel was a lovely place to stay and was great value-for-money.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alis0n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley south yorks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

Stayed at the waterfront with a friend for the last leg of our 5 week holiday.Beautifully kept hotel with breathtaking views from the garden area.The little personal touches on offer here,ie, airport pickup, mouthwash in the bathroom,dvd player in room(with a fantastic range of films to watch!) were very much appreciated. A very well run but friendly establishment gave us a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. The only "mishap" that occured during our stay was whilst showering the shower tap came away from the wall! Trust it to be me! You can imagine my embarrasment but Richard the owners son was really professional about the situation and all was fixed and cleaned up in 20 minutes of the unfortunate event occuring! So thanks for that Richard and for sparing my embarresment! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and theirs no need to write anymore praise as plenty have done that before me and said all that needs to be said.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gailmilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2009

Enjoyed probably the most relaxing holiday ever. Our breakfasts were idyllic. Sitting on the decking with the amazing views of Koh Phangnan and the perfect calm seas gently lapping on the beach. Robin & Sue and all the staff were excellent, going out of their way to do everything they could to make our holiday perfect. We were picked up from the airport and also dropped off there by Robin at the end of our holiday, another great bonus was being able to have the use of a room to shower and change in as we did not have to leave till 5.00 p.m . The location was also perfect very quiet but minutes walk to numerous eating and drinking places . We enjoyed the company of many like minded guests while sitting around the pool and bars areas. Would not hesitate to recommend the Waterfront.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

The Waterfront Hotel can’t please all of the people all of the time but it can please most of the people most of the time. We returned from a very peaceful 3 weeks holiday where the Waterfront helped us to relax beyond belief. From Robin picking us up from the airport we felt looked after but never crowded by the efforts both he and the staff made. The rooms were immaculately cleaned every day. If you wanted something then you only had to ask. On one occasion our toilet broke. Within 10 minutes of informing a member of staff, a new part was fitted and it was up and running again. I wonder how long this would have taken in a larger, less personal hotel? The price of the hotel was very reasonable especially when you compared it to the other hotels nearby. The breakfast was inclusive and plentiful and you could have whatever you wanted. There is no scrimping where the Waterfront is concerned. If things aren’t quite the same as they are at home then it is worth remembering that you are in a developing country in SE Asia and they have ways and tastes different from your own. That’s surely the point of visiting? The hotel is situated at the quieter end of Fisherman’s Village and this certainly helps to get a good nights sleep. There are numerous restaurants to choose from within a pleasant walking distance but the Waterfront’s cook does some pretty darn good Thai food herself, so it’s worth staying in one or two nights if you have the time. I noticed that other hotels were having issues with the sun beds and it was a case of ‘towels at dawn’. Robin & Sue obviously had the foresight very early on to see that this does not make a relaxing holiday for people. Hence their sunbed’s out number their guests. The pool is a nice size and cleaned daily. Finally I must thank Robin for looking after us up to the last possible minute. Our taxi was very late picking us up to return us to the airport. However Robin had his eye on the clock and decided that it was not feasible to wait any longer, so told Pim to get the old truck and take us to the airport. He threw our bags in the back and off we went. I think we would have missed the flight had it not been for his attention to detail even for departing guests. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsdoit2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.0 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#52 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#80 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smile House Resort
Smile House Resort
#39 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
1.4 mi away
Secret Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing