We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Honeymoon”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #17 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
wirral
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Honeymoon”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Like a lot of peole we normally don't return to places we've been before - except here ! We were here 2 years ago and when planning our honeymoon agreed that this was where we wanted to spend it and we are glad we did.
We stayed in the fantasic honeymoon suite that has a massive lounge, large bedroom and large bathroom with double showers. The honeymoon room is also fantastic with great views out of the picture window.
The hotel has everything you could want .. good rooms, great staff; swimming pool with plenty of comfortable chairs - and it is large enough to cool down in (you don't want to swim lengths on holiday do you); hammocks in the shade or loads of sunbeds on the beach; the food is fantastic - best Thai in town - Beef in oyster sauce was my favourite and the bar is great - we met some great people having early evening drinks in the bar .... and when we got back late at night ! You don't pay a premium for drinks and food like you do in the 5 star hotels.

Robin and the team do a great job in looking after you. They sorted out a car hire for us - it was great to see the rest of the island - but fantastic to be back to the waterfront at night ! Bophut is by far the best resort on the island - loads of great restaurants and a few good bars. Waterfront is in a good location to walk into town - and we think the best place to stay.

Whilst we were there there were 4 other guests that had been there before - that must be saying something ! We will definately be going back again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tilesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    128
    48
    24
    12
See reviews for
175
592
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2009

our second trip to Koh Samui and 2nd stay at water front. Staff is wonderful and late night chatting at the bar with other guests is nice as well. Their pool is always at a perfect temperature and hanging in the hammacks with a Singha can fill the day!!

The fact that i had to go home was the only bad thing about the place!!

Korp kun kah!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pamalamalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in april and was expecting something really good but when we got to the hotel, we was greeted by a pack of stray cats who wouldnt let us near the hotel, the hotel receptionist didnt try to help us so after going around the back we finaly managed to check in. The hotel looked dirty and unclean and the food was disgusting, we ordered what was ment to be shirmp in katsu satay but when the waiter bought it over it was cold. We asked for another one but the manager said we would still have to pay for it otherwise he would have us arrested! Our room was advertised at 'luxurious and spacious' with a king size bed, we in fact got a bunk bed in what was merely a storage cupboard. The matress was dirty and unclean and their was no hot water, there were cockroaches in te bathroom and the bath didnt have a plug, there was no shower so we had to mould a bar of soap into a plug. You were kept awake at night by the screams from outside, actualy quite scary. We were also woken up at 5am every morning by wild monkeys banging on the windows by climbing up the trees outside. There are a lot of travellers at this hotel and some of the partys can put you of, running around naked and such, we even saw plenty of used condoms in the stairwell. All in all, i had a disaster of a holiday and the staff who worked there were not sympathetic whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ChelseaCasuals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

I stayed at the Waterfront with my husband in April. We booked it after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. This was our first visit to Thailand and we were unsure of what to expect. We spent the first part of our trip travelling around Bangkok and Chiang Mai and then moved to this hotel for some relaxation.

Relaxation was exactly what we got! To me it was an oasis of calm and beauty! I have read the reviews and agree it is not 5 star in as much as marble baths etc but then we didn't pay 5 star prices. The view from my balcony was 5 star by any standards! The service was excellent, very personal and much better than any 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in!

Large luxury complexes are not my cup of tea but this hotel is small friendly and personal. The whole hotel is beautifully serviced with a friendly team of staff who are very polite and nothing is too much trouble. The welcome you get when you arrive is great! The rooms are very comfortable and we had everything we needed. The air conditioning was effective and quiet and there was always hot water and a cold fridge! They even have honeymoon suites. The massages on the beach under a gazebo are wonderful for about £7 per hour!

There is also a friendly poolside bar in the hotel, where we enjoyed many a beer and cocktail and a food service all day until 6pm. The breakfast is freshly cooked to your choice and served on deck over the beach. The views are breathtaking.

The sea is not brilliant for swimming because of coral but the section of the beach outside the hotel is cleaned regularly by the staff. The pool is smallish but plenty big enough to cool off in, it has very comfy deck chairs, cold iced flannels brought by the staff which are very welcome and the most amazing views!!!

The village is just a gentle stroll down the road with lots of lovely restaurants. It doesn't have a wild nightlife but if a quiet cocktail and delicious meal at a reasonable price is your thing, this is the place for you. Many of the restaurants are on the beach and you can eat outside with fairy lights and candles and a wonderful view out to sea. Very romantic. We loved the food at the Thai restaurant on the main road. It had plastic tablecloths and chairs and no view but the food was outstanding and so cheap!

I rarely return anywhere on holiday because the world is such a big place but I have to say if I went back to Koh Samui I would definitely stay here again.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIYTravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

We stayed here last October for two weeks, having read the reviews on tripadvisor. Booking was easy and stress free thanks to Robin. It was out first time in Thailand so we were unsure what to expect in terms of culture, food and general cleanliness.
Firstly, the airport was amazing, and we were collected by Michael and taken to the hotel. After a welcome drink we were shown to our bungalow which was clean, cool, but quite basic. This was fine though because for the price we weren't expecting 5 star luxury.
The location was okay, a short stroll into Bophut which has some great places to eat and drink. The only real thing that let the hotel down was the beach. I know it says on the website that the beach isn't great, but we often strolled along the beach only to find lots of dog mess, broken bottles, and dead fish of all things!! It could do with a bit of effort from someone to keep it clean. We spent most of our time around the pool which is small but does the job. The snacks and drinks are very good and not expensive at all. Breakfast was also good with a decent choice. For what we paid you couldn't really fault it.
We ate out at some great places, you must try The Shack which is great for steak, The Pier which is trendy Thai food, Villa Bianca was my fave, an amazing but expensive Italian. Avoid Shades though, the food was terrible!!!
We hired a car for a few days and went around the Island which is a must. There are some nice places to see.
For a bit of a change we ventured a bit further one night for food, we ate at The Rockys resort, quite plush, lovely food, but a bit out of the way on a main road. We also ate one night at the Anantara hotel which is at the end of the beach in Bophut. The food was beautiful, as was the hotel. Now this is what I would call luxury, but again a bit pricey. Well worth a visit though.
Finally, the staff at The Waterfront were really nice, generally. A couple of them could be a bit grumpy at times but I can live with that. I would return, but maybe just for a week as part of a two centre hol.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrecklesChops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

What can we add that hasn't been said before by all Sue & Robin's satisfied customers - nothing - but if you are still not convinced about staying here then I can only suggest you BOOK IT NOW and see what you are missing! They have a truly wonderful hotel with fabulous staff and nothing is too much trouble to them. You can even have late check out if you have an evening flight - as long as your room has not been booked. But if it has, then there is a toilet and shower room available.

Sue found out that one of the couples in our party was expecting a baby and next morning the maids had put a congratulations message on the bedcover all done in flower petals - it was amazing and must have taken ages to complete.

Thank you Sue & Robin for running such a beautiful homely hotel and for finding such great staff. We will come back - but in the cooler months.

Almost forgot - free wi-fi so take your laptop.

Margaret & Brian

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haggisbasher48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

Just come back from 2 weeks at the Waterfront in gorgeous April sunshine.

Difficult start when our luggage was partly lost in transit by plane, but we were reassured by Robin and Sue that it would turn up in a few hours – ‘it always does’ - and sure enough it did exactly that.

Lovely air-conditioned room off the main garden area with excellent furnishings and TV/DVD plus fridge stocked with beers, kept immaculately clean and decorated with orchid blooms every day.

The central bar area and swimming pool are situated just yards from the beach with plenty of comfortable loungers and hammocks for everyone. Lots of shady palm trees as well for those who don’t want to bask in the sun all day. All areas of the hotel have views of the blue sea and the island of Ko Pha-ngan across the bay.

The staff could not be more helpful in organising trips, car hire, laundry and any other issues which arise, plus taking you to and from the airport. They even come up with a nice surprise for you if you’re having a birthday. The breakfasts and bar meals have a large range covering all styles of Thai and international cooking – a great treat when you’re relaxing poolside.

Even the occasional stormy evening was made all the more acceptable by socialising with friends at the bar and being entertained by Robin and Pol the demon barman. Because the hotel is not large there’s always a very comfortable group of friends relaxing at the bar, and you soon get to know virtually everybody there. Our fellow residents were a great bunch of people. Hello to Mark and Sharon who will be returning for their honeymoon next year, plus all the others from various parts of the North-east. Make sure you try the local SangSom rum, which goes down a treat after a nice meal and is excellent value.

Bophut is not a large place, but it has an amazing range of restaurants and bars within five minutes walk, catering to every possible taste. Particularly Thai food of course, but also French, Indian and Italian with lots of fresh seafood. We found it better than Chaweng which is a larger but more commercial resort a few miles away.

Songkran - the Thai New Year - was celebrated while we were there, which was made very lively by getting completely drenched from all directions if you ventured out, and even resulted in the occasional mild soaking ‘against the rules’ within the hotel area.

The Waterfront is a magical gem, carefully nurtured by it’s owners and just the sort of place you’d love to return to many times. We look forward to doing just that.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sookeico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
3.1 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
1,062 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 187 in Bophut
472 reviews
6.7 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing