We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of The Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Waterfront
Ranked #16 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 4 September 2010

I actually stayed here a few years ago (July 2006), but just got around to writing reviews for everywhere I've been, because I'm lazy.

This place is superb, Robin, Sue, Michael were great hosts and would do anything to help out. There were one or two members of staff that seemed to have a bit of a poor attitude but this did not detract from our holiday. Rooms were great, food was great, resort in general was great! Special mention for Banjon, so sad to hear he passed away, absolute legend, RIP

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    753
    128
    48
    24
    12
See reviews for
175
591
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed for 12 nights and had the most amazing holiday. Everything was perfect. Will be booking again for next year most definitely.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz-W69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and could not have wished for a more beautiful hotel in a better location. Situated in a wonderfully quite area of the island, but in a lovely village with a huge range of places to eat and drink (although the cook at the hotel is so amazing we only managed to eat out for dinner as we were unable to resist her amazing breakfast and lunches!). From the moment we arrived at the Waterfront we recieved very personal, first class service from the owners who even arranged a beautiful flower decoration in our room when the found out it was our anniversary. Their priority is to ensure that all of their guests have a wonderful stay and have no problems whilst at the hotel. We stayed in a bungalow with a beautiful view of the beach in a paeceful location. At the time of year we went we were unable to do more than paddle in the water directly opposite the hotel but with the swimming pool in the hotel and the wonderful views this did not matter to us, and all the information about the beach outside the hotel is on their website. We cannot sing high enough praises of this hotel and have already recommended it to friends, we can see why people keep returning here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CampervanCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Having spent 10 wonderful nights at this resort, it is easy to understand why it gets such good ratings and such a high guest return rate. It was a truly fabulous way to end our month in Thailand.

We were allowed to check in early at 8:30am and were given a complimentary breakfast. Simple touches that got our stay off to a wonderful start and the service just continued on a friendly and guest orientated level throughout our stay.

Throughout our stay nothing was too much for the staff or owners and it was with real sadness that we had to leave! The personal touches and attention to detail was superb throughout our stay (cold towels & free pineapple around the pool, the numerous restaurant & trip recommendations, staff calling everyone by their first names, etc etc etc).

Our room was compact (Room 1 Seaview Bungalow), but really quaint, clean and all in working order. The grounds were immacualtely looked after by an around the clock gardening team. The pool, whilst small, was fine and the loungers and foot rests so relaxing. Never a problem finding loungers around the pool or on the beach.

Breakfasts (cooked to order) and lunches were good (a very wide choice and all food great) and with so many wonderful restaurants in Bophut (including the local restaurant opposite) you are spoilt for choice.

However, the biggest plus for this place is its home from home feel and how you are truly welcomed in to the extended family. The interaction with staff and other guests was wonderful (it certainly attracts a friendly bunch from all around the world).

Bophut itself is a great little village with a number of quaint bars and restaurants, which more than compensates for not having one of the best beaches on the island.

As someone who has travelled many times throughout Thailand, each time staying at a different resort, I have to say this is one place we will be coming back to.

We just don't think the five ratings allowed by TripAdvisor are sufficient enough for our stay at The Waterfront!

STEVE & KELLY

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_G_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

As an earlier reviewer said "we don't go back to the same place twice" that was our mantra and it's a big world so why not go and explore some more of it, well we have explored a lot of it and when the time came to decide where our holidays would take us this year ideas of places not visited came up but each time were disregarded with "well, will it be as good as the Waterfront ", and so we found ourselves back for our third visit.
It is more akin to staying with friends (even for first time visitors) rather than an anonymous hotel.
Robin, Sue, Michael and their excellent staff, create a wonderful relaxed atmosphere, where everything is provided for and nothing seems to be any trouble.
It is excellent to meet some old friends amongst the guests and enjoy the company of some new friends which we certainly did yet again, and the guests are an eclectic mix, families with small children, young lads getting round the world, honeymooners, singles and couples and everyone rubs along nicely sharing tips on where they have eaten and trips taken etc.
The Waterfront is a gentle flat stroll into Fishermans Village with its wonderful array of restaurants and bars but if something more lively is required then it’s a short cab ride to Chaweng or better go local style in a cheap Songthaew.
I’m only writing this because the Waterfront deserves it but personally I’d rather tell no one about the place and keep it a secret amongst us lucky ones who have already found our little tropical paradise.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chefsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2010

The Waterfront WOW - What a beautiful and enjoyable place to stay!
We stayed at The Waterfront (as a couple) in 2004 and it was fantastic, so we thought we would go back again, but this time we have a little boy 1 1/2 and we were sure if it would be as nice as the first time. We were not disappointed, actually the opposit everything was so easy. Sue, Robin and Staff made our stay just perfect.
The thing we least liked about The Waterfront was that we had to leave.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canterbury UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Well we have finally got round to writing a review and am really glad to as this is definitely the best hotel we have ever stayed at!
It is everything that all the ‘nice,honest’ reviewers have already said!
Friendly, welcomed by Michael at the airport, by Sue on arrival and then by all the staff , all the time you are there. Nothing is too much trouble for them, whether it is helping you book day trips, to making the bed more comfortable for someone who likes a ‘softee’ mattress!
The staff are as they say , really friendly and this helped make our holiday even more special, whether chatting with Carol about the worry of her son going off to Uni or learning Thai with Pla!.
We had picked The Waterfront based on the reviews we had seen. Please note these reviews only get written like that because the guests really have a great time at the Waterfront, this is a one off place in paradise, and any negative comments made should be viewed in that light i.e. the persons writing those kind of negative comments are simply impossible to please and would be unhappy wherever they stayed or they are actually just small minded vindictive idiots who shouldn’t have the privilege of being able to stay at such a wonderful place as The Waterfront. The comment about the alleged theft made by ToreGluppenhavna is particularly irksome because not only would this not have happened at the Waterfront but I know we left money , jewellery and other valuables out and nothing went missing – everything just got tidied up- Im sure their comments will have upset the staff and that is unforgiveable as Im sure that any ‘missing’ money is likely down to their own kids and no one else!
Enough about them and back to this wonderful place. We met up with our son who has been in Australia for the last 8 months and meeting him here made it all just perfect!
The pool is small , but certainly big enough for toddlers to learn to swim in which many do it seems , and just right for cooling off. But also being small means its ideal opportunity to talk with other guests and many friendships are started here before moving onto the cosy beach bar – that never closes (Joe will keep pouring all the time you want to keep drinking!) You can keep yourself to yourself if you wish, but it is great to get chatting to other guests and Sue and Robin have certainly created a place where this can happen very easily, and most often does, with Sue ensuring that all new guests are introduced to those already there so everyone feels welcome, and I like many others before me wonder how she manages to remember everyones name! This does , as other reviewers have said before, make you feel more like a house guest then a hotel guest.
Our youngest son, Cameron, enjoyed playing table tennis with Michael (and beating him!) and working for the railway I realised that Michael knows far more about railways then I do!
The beach is rocky , particularly as it is at its lowest at the moment, but then you could happily sunbathe on this part of the beach without getting constantly interrupted by beach sellers which occurs often further along the beach as we found out.
It is these little touches that make the place special, like the complimentary cool towels and pineapple on sticks that the staff bring out to everyone at the hotel around lunchtime, or the free mineral water in the rooms, or the very reasonably priced drinks and massages which are available. There is never the need to go out early morning and ‘reserve’ your sunbed as often happens in larger hotels as there are more than enough to go around and lots of choices of where they are, from the pool, to the beach, to under the palm trees or even hammocks!
All the so called ‘negatives’ are made abundantly clear from their website and so why anyone should even comment on them is beyond me as in reality they aren’t ‘negatives’ anyway as I have pointed out they just help add to the ambiance of the hotel and ensure that everyone has a peaceful and friendly time.
We spent 9 days at the Waterfront and cant wait to go back, which we are planning to next year, maybe even spending Christmas and New Year there as I cant think of a hotel in the world that would make you more welcome for the festivities!
We miss the lovely view with our lovely breakfast, beautifully cooked by ‘cooking’ and Carols dulcet tones as she asked’ More coffee for madam, more coffeeeee’
Well done to Robin and Sue for creating a little bit of heaven on earth and well done to all the staff (and Michael) for making it happen everyday for everyone!
To misquote Arnie

‘We’ll be back!’

Justin, Dorothy Will and Cameron

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justin4772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.8 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
689 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,553 reviews
3.1 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
1,060 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
471 reviews
1.3 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront

Property: The Waterfront
Address: 71/2 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, small, select and peaceful, yet only steps away from excellent restaurants, bars and boutiques.All rooms are beachfront and the view of the sea and outlying islands is spectacular. Many guests extend their stay, recommend us to others or return themselves, often to meet other guests who have now become friends. Its like coming home, they say. Lots of little touches to make you feel welcome including free pick-up and free internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Hotel Bophut
Waterfront Bophut
The Waterfront Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing