We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and dirty and don't buy bfst there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carpe Diem Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #161 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Carpe diem has very unusual style, rooms and all the interioir designed in an unexpected manner. And look good and impressive.

This hotel has wonderful location in Bo Phut fisherman's village, not far from the Pier restaurant.

Staff speaks strange language except of the one girl at the reception. It is impossible to get any cooperation in the evening, because the guy who sits in the restaurant doesn't speak.

All the equipment looks pretty old and weary and dirty.

The biggest disappointment for me personally was that despite we had our breakfast included it was impossible to get it.

The whole restaurant was empty except a group of friendly people from China who went to the kitchen and made breakfast for themselves.

May be this is some sort of a neat experience for the guests but was unprepared for this and had to look for breakfast somewhere else.

The amount paid for breakfast wasn't reimbursed after a couple of my requests. I decided to seize the argument.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adkovalenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Carpe Diem Hotel Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

This hotel was located on a quieter side of Kho Samui, something that kind of looked like a small fisherman's village. It is a relatively small hotel, with maybe around 30 rooms. Some ground floor rooms have their own little pool out front. The rooms are very spare, with stylish concrete floors and nothing on the walls. The bed was very confortable, the bathroom large with a warm(ish) shower. As is common in thailand, the shower didnt have a stall, it was just a on the wall in tha bathroom and we got everything incl. the toilet paper wet! The balcony is very pleasant. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful (incl. getting us Full moon party passes and wlaking us to the full moon party boats). Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely recommend it if you want to stay away from the noise andparty scene of Koh Samui. Note that the beach there isnt very nice, and you're better off taking a taxi to Koh Samui Marina.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anneceline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I am presuming the hotel was once really nice but the pool is not nice to lie around. It is old, no shade and only a few beds with no cushions. The breakie is nice but takes a long time to come out as onyl 1 man is cooking. It says it has a restaurant but it does not, only open for breakfast for guests. Nice area of Bophut. Rooms looking old and the little dip pools in some of the villa rooms are old with cracked tiles. We did not use ours once.

Room Tip: lower floors the best as they have a private dip pool - though not very nice to sit in
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We (two couples) stayed in the Carpe Diem hotel for a week. It's small but staff is very helfpul and the place has a nice charm about it. Breakfast was awlays nice and the music they were playing was extremely relaxing - that's all you need in the morning :)

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty much the same. If you are lacking anything or have any problems (which can happen a...
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank an12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed in the standard double room which had a fridge, tv , fan and aircon. The room and bathroom was big and clean, yet very simple. Despite the hotel not looking too good from the street (see attached photos), the hotel had a nice interior.

Unfortunately there was a lot of construction work directly opposite the hotel, therefore resulting in a lot of noise. My guess is that it would be finished by about February/ mid February 2012. However, it must be noted that there is a lot of construction all over Koh Samui, so construction opposite this hotel is nothing out of the ordinary.

The hotel staff were really friendly and professional. They responded to emails promptly and were quick to offer any assistance. The lady at the front desk helped us confirm our ferry transfer - which was much appreciated!

Overall, our stay at Carpe Diem was a good one. One would struggle to find another hotel in the same price range and as well located.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bwil001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed there in low season so got the room for 12 UK pounds a night. For the money we paid it was great value. The rooms were clean with a balcony. We stayed in the basic room and that was enough for us. All the rooms look to be the same apart from some have a garden and a plunge pool. The pool was ok but there were only a few loungers so not the best for sitting around. We ended up staying for 3 weeks as it was the cheapest and best value we could find at the time. The beach is a 5 min walk away as is the main hub of the village and every Friday there is the market just outside the hotel. The staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

photos are obviously very old. we booked because it was in a nice area and the pool also looked nice but its totally different to the photos, looks like the tiles have been ripped out at some stage so its just bare patchy concrete. the water didnt look inviting at all so we didnt use the pool during our stay. we seen the rooms with the private pool in the terrace but it didnt look nice at all, a small tiled tub that didnt look very clean. usually in places like this the service would come out on top then you dont mind so much but not in this case, just felt like an inconvenience most of the time

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.0 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#75 of 184 in Bophut
202 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#18 of 184 in Bophut
990 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#55 of 184 in Bophut
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#93 of 184 in Bophut
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villagian Samui
Villagian Samui
#62 of 157 in Bophut
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
L' Hacienda
L' Hacienda
#71 of 157 in Bophut
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Diem Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Diem Hotel Restaurant

Address: 3/28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Price Range: £36 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carpe Diem Hotel Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carpe Diem owners, Jean-Christophe and Vincent, brothers from France, cordially extend an enthusiastic welcome, providing you with their unique charming, seductive mixture of French & Thai hospitality. Opened in December 2005, Carpe Diem offers you a pleasing warm environment, impressive well appointed rooms, swimming pool, gastronomic restaurant set in a wonderful tropical garden. Situated at Bophut, in the Fisherman Village, is Carpe Diem a peaceful hidden oasis of tranquility within 10 minutes easy access to many of the island most popular places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Carpe Diem Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carpe Diem Hotel Restaurant Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing