We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay at a reasonable cost!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carpe Diem Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #160 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Having decided to extend our stay on Koh Samui, we decided we would spend a few days in the Bophut area. We looked online for some accommodation and decided on Carpe Diem – which turned out to be a good choice! The rooms are spacious, clean and secure. The staff were also very friendly and helpful, always happy to offer advice on things to do/see. Our room rate also included breakfast, which was excellent and kept us going until dinner (make sure you have the ‘Eggs sleeping in bread’!!). Carpe Diem is only a couple of minutes walk from the beach and the swimming pool is a good size (unlike some places we saw!). If you are planning to visit the Bophut area, we would strongly recommend being there on a Friday when the main road is closed-off to cars for an excellent Walking Street Market. If you are looking for reasonably priced accommodation, without the budget-feel, then Carpe Diem ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnnyH_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2010

We stayed at this hotel back in 2008 and I must say it was one of my favourite hotels in Bophut!. We arrived back this year and not only found the rooms are priced at 3500 Baht (last year they were 1200) this hotel has now been re-decorated!!!!!! The rooms no longer have DVD player and are painted bright Yellow and the charm has now gone!! they have even enclosed the bathrooms, swimming pool was half filled and green and only 2 sunbeds around the pool even though they have over 10 rooms at this hotel!!!!. The jaczuzzi's did not have any water in them this hotel has been ruined how can they charge this amount of money!! Will never go back! .

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
2  Thank Georgina30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

This is a review of the restaurant only. The dining area is very pleasantly decorated mostly in white with tall ceilings. We were not prepared for the beautifully presented, terrific food! One appetizer was small cylinders of hollowed out cucumber sitting on end and stuffed with chopped duck meat, a gorgeous presentation on a long plate. Our other appetizer was steamed squid rings reassembled into two squids with tentacles on one end in a great Thai spicy sauce. One main was beef cubes in a tasty curry, and my pad Thai was elegantly encased in packet of a thin egg omelet with a large prawn peeking out. The jasmine creme brulee was frozen on the bottom but softer on top where the sugar had been carmelized. It was not a texture I prefer, but was nicely flavored and not too sweet. What imagination and creativity they have in this kitchen! The location is not on the beach and on the quiet end of Bo Phut's Fisherman's Village, but I enjoyed the quiet and the nice music. It was 1680 baht for a delicious meal for two.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Good hotel, nice rooms, clean... but for the money, im sure you can find a better one in Samui. It has no views to the sea and the hotel lacks charm. The staff are friendly but the location is the hotel is not the best. Bohput beach is not the best spot in Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarcelonaAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Stayed 6 nights there with my girlfriend in the end of April. Really liked the hotel, though we had some concerns, having read reviews on TripAdvisor. First, the construction is over, so no noise whatsoever. 2nd, the kitchen is great, lovely breakfast. 3rd, Service - superb, very helpful staff. 3rd, the pool is great. 4th, rooms - nice overall, basic, no frills, however, the yellow color didn't bother us as much as some people in reviews here. 5th, location - Fisherman's Village - is absolutely awesome - small, cozy, road full of nice restaurants, more expensive hotels, bars, shops. It is a paradise at night. There's no night life in terms of clubs in this area of Bo-Phut, but if you need it - take a cab to chaweng for a little over 5 bucks. But we felt happy that our place felt very exclusive and so cozy. 6th, great value - stayed 6 nights, paid for 4. Checked prices around - you are likely to pay twice as much. Recommendation - take 2nd floor rooms facing the pool - nice view. 1st floor rooms don't have the same view. Walk to the beach - I recommend going to the beach of some of the expensive hotels there, you can't get a chair to lie on, but you can lie on their beach. AND - on Chaweng and Lamai - we got stung by sea lice in the water - not really nice feeling, not so on Bo-Phut (though the water is not transparent).
Minor grudges: Room temperature was comfortable, but even with AC on, it felt warm, as there's a space under the entrance door.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aleksei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We stayed 10 days july 2008 and the room was very nice. The hotel is very near to restaurants and the beach. The restaurants on the beach are great. The area is nice and not ”heavy” like Chaweng. We had breakfast at the hotel every day and they provided tre differents selection of breakfast.

We lost a credit card (the machine swolded the card) and the hotel owner helped us very quickly. He went to the bank in the city and later in the afternoon we could get the card back. You have to take care using the machines if you leave the card one minut it will be swolen. It ´s easy to go to chaweng with taxi if you prefer an european atmosphere but the hassel on the beach is really terrible.

There is also a very nice night market in the village where you can have fun and try worms. We loved the atmosphere of the fisherman village at night with nice restaurants.

Yellow rooms? I hope the owners are going to paint the rooms white again we really like the interiror design they had last summer.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

stayed 5 days in february
Nice hotel near the beach. Good pool. Clean rooms
Hotel restaurant was ruthlessly painted whaite and seemed innaproriateley clinical.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sean9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.0 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#76 of 185 in Bophut
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#21 of 185 in Bophut
995 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#57 of 185 in Bophut
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#93 of 185 in Bophut
162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 185 in Bophut
2,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villagian Samui
Villagian Samui
#62 of 157 in Bophut
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Diem Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Diem Hotel Restaurant

Address: 3/28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Price Range: £37 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carpe Diem Hotel Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carpe Diem owners, Jean-Christophe and Vincent, brothers from France, cordially extend an enthusiastic welcome, providing you with their unique charming, seductive mixture of French & Thai hospitality. Opened in December 2005, Carpe Diem offers you a pleasing warm environment, impressive well appointed rooms, swimming pool, gastronomic restaurant set in a wonderful tropical garden. Situated at Bophut, in the Fisherman Village, is Carpe Diem a peaceful hidden oasis of tranquility within 10 minutes easy access to many of the island most popular places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Carpe Diem Hotel Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carpe Diem Hotel Restaurant Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing