We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kanda Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kanda Residences
Ranked #66 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
Level Contributor
145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Perfect Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just returned from Koh Samui having spent 4 days at the Kanda Residences which was just not enough. The staff were fabulous, the Land of Smiles gave a fitting description for every staff member. From our greetings at reception, the staff in the restaurant, the buggy drivers, and even the chef! They remembered which villa we were in, where we were planning on going for the day/evening, and even our preferences for breakfast, drinks at the bar etc. Nothing was too much trouble, from helping to confirm flights, helping us to book a hire car, making dinner reservations at local restaurants, booking taxis etc etc etc..... The staff at the spa were also brilliant and the Thai massage at the villa was excellent. All that without even describing the villa which was wonderful, so spacious and well equipped, with a lounge, dining area and kitchen. We had a two bedroomed villa, the bedrooms were incredibly spacious and each had en-suite facilities. The outside areas had loungers, a private pool, and the most fabulous views. It really is a paradise and I am planning my return trip which will definitely be longer ..............

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edna_M0de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    44
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
105
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed at Kanda residences for 4 nights in November and cannot fault the property. The staff are attentive and very helpful and the property is in a quiet location close to the airport. I have some specific dietary requirements and the executive chef Christopher took care of this with no fuss. The pool villas are not overlooked and it is a very private setting. Having stayed at other resorts in Samui, I will be back for certain.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DPCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Sir,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

My partner & I spent five days at Kanda in September 2013. This facility was re-branded in June and is being marketed as a 5 star resort which it is not! So saying that the villas are spacious, not overlooked and the small private pools are superb. We understand that each villa is privately owned the freehold having recently been purchased by a group of villa owners and the overall complex is now run by a management company. The villa we stayed in was a little tired but nevertheless quite stunning. The restaurant was good but very pricey for what it was. What lets Kanda down was the service and quality of staff.The reception staff appeared to have had little or no training and argued about the cost of something included in the charges and advertised on their own website that they had clearly never bothered to read! Housekeeping services were also not brilliant. As the Residence is under new management I assume all the problems that we experienced will be addressed in due course.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 2 September 2015
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to complete TripAdvisor survey regarding your stay at our resort. We very much appreciate and value your feedback. Your comments has serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at Kanda Residence Koh Samui last week for 3 in our during our stay in Koh Samui, our 10 year old boy loved the private pool very much so did I. Living area and kitchen is very comfortable my wife always cook for our family during our stay because they have full kitchen equipment that she needed. I feel like I stayed at my house but far more luxurious really good feeling here as well. Staff are very friendly and helpful when we ask for something wonderful place overall

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We will continue being a family friendly resort and we would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I recently spent a week at Kanda. We arrived well before check-in time and the staff provided a temporary villa for us to rest in before our sea view villa was cleaned

Our villa was absolutely wonderful. It was clean, spacious and had a spectacular view. We had complete privacy. Perfect for couples or families.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbird587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
338 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Only minutes away from busy Chaweng, reachable by taxi or tuck tuck , (do barter the price!) Kanda Residences is very peaceful , elegant and chic.

The villas are all very beautiful, comfortable , spacious and have all the amenities that you might need ( although next time I will bring my hair-drier as theirs is very slow).

We were on a wedding anniversary celebration and were allocated villa 32 on the beach front...wow! We could not believe how fabulous it all was and so secluded and calm and private.

All the staff from the reception to the restaurant , the security , the cleaning and the Spa, were polite, helpful, efficient , friendly and caring, thank you, you made our 2 weeks holiday very, very special! To top it all we had free What Po massages almost every day and Apple and her girls pummelled and stretched us to blissful relaxation. What more can one want?

... The breakfast menu was extensive and the food plentiful.
The beach is of crashed coral and a little rocky but quite pleasant. We enjoyed our private pool immensely even in the middle of the night! The rooms are well ventilated and have air condition and a rotating fan in the ceiling.

Advice: Bring loads of mosquito repellent! we put loads on and even used plugs in the room but still managed to get bitten.

Places to see nearby : Fisherman's Village is very pretty, with nice boutiques , restaurants and a lovely fine sand beach. (find out when there is the market in the evening as it's also very good).
Chaweng is very busy, noisy and a little dirty but it has it's charm and it is young and vibrant. The beach is good but also quite busy. We went to a the beach party bar one night and enjoyed mixing with the young and young at heart like us , listening to loud music , dancing and watching the fire jugglers. Very good fun!

Over all an holiday to remember!

Room Tip: All villas have sea view but if you are lucky to get villa 32 you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckyonelol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you very much for staying with us at Kanda for your wedding anniversary. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We take very seriously your feedback regarding mosquito repellent. To your comments, we will increase regular Eco-friendly pest control services and are now working on an organic method to grow more citronella plants that will help protect from mosquito. We hope these positive actions will quickly improve the situation.

Again, on behalf of all of my team, I would like to thank you for your kind words. We all hope to welcome you back to Kanda Residences Samui very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We sadly must say goodbye to Koh Samui and Kanda Residences today.
We have 3 children aged 15,10 and 8 yrs and no one wants to leave! Given its hard to please a teenager I would say her reluctance to leave indicates how great a time we have had!
Kanda is luxurious and relaxing.We felt like we had the whole place to ourselves and will definitely be telling our Australian friends to travel here at this time of year(September school holidays). The weather has consistently been in the low 30's and rain has been minimal.
The resort is immaculate and the pools are well maintained( we saw others on the island that definitely were not!) the staff are friendly and always helpful.
Apples wellness centre pampered all of us with facials, massages, manicures etc! Even the children were appropriately included in the pampering by Apple and co.
We chose Thailand for its great food and at Kanda we were not disappointed. We had great fresh food amazing fresh juices and tropical fruits daily.
A few tips- I thought when we booked that washing machine facilities were included.when we arrived we realised not. We paid for laundering and then we discovered a back door into what we were told was for housekeeping. This room comes of the kitchen and was locked from within. In the room is the washing machine! So not sure why it was locked? Next time I will follow this up earlier.
Reading other people's reviews I note that others have struggled with the layout of the bedrooms.The children's wing is detached from the parents wing and isn't easily made secure. This was manageable by us as our children are not very young and we were able to obtain a spare key from reception that they used to secure their room with but if you have young children it is quite disconcerting. Beware, it seems to be a common resort type of layout as friends of ours moved resorts 3 times because they were not able to adjust to the complete separation from young children at night.
But, to end I must say what an amazing time we have had! Thank you Kanda!
The Cantwell family

Room Tip: We were in room 30 with 3 bedrooms. Perfect location All rooms seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Family Cantwell,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Kanda Residences We very much appreciate all of your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

To your comment about our laundry service, we are in the process of refining our washing and laundry facility. We plan to provide a washing machine upon request as well as full laundry services to all of our guests. We sincerely hope this will solve any future problems you or any of our guests may have with our laundry facilities.

Again, on behalf of all of my team, I would like to thank you for your kind words. We all hope to welcome you and all of the Cantwell family back to Kanda Residences very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.9 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
1.2 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#4 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
0.5 mi away
Outrigger Koh Samui Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanda Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanda Residences

Property: Kanda Residences
Address: 80/32 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Karma Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#39 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#43 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanda Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally-located, elegant, ocean-facing, over-sized pool villa retreat. Five minutes from both Koh Samui International Airport and Chaweng Beach. Choose from One to Three bedroom villas with minimum size of 400 square metres. Grand living area, private swimming pool, outdoor terrace and Thai-style sala (pavilion).Home to "Rock Pool" the iconic beachfront restaurant. Asian Wellness Centre with certified Wat Po Thai Massage therapist, Reiki treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanda Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Karma Samui Koh
Kanda Residences Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing