We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene location and wonderful stay”
Review of Kanda Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kanda Residences
Ranked #61 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Hotel location scores over every other hotel in the close vicinity. I had been to this hotel with my wife just a few days back, to enjoy a vacation after a long hard year of office pressure. Our room had an attached private pool with living area and kitchen. That worked out well for us since I had some cardio ailment due to which home cooked food is the best for me. My wife even cooked a little sea-fish dish just for me, while she and our daughter were having food at the restaurant. Lovely staff and very helpful front desk. The room service needs some improvement and needs to respond quicker. The rooms in general were very spacious and vibrant. They also have a small spa , though the facility needs a chin-up. We visited the spa and couldn’t get hold of the person in-charge.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RiderRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, General Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

A very happy new year from all of us at Kanda Residences Samui. We very much appreciate your feedback on your experience at our pool villa resort in Samui. Your comments are invaluable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We appreciate your comments and feedback and currently look into an improvement of our spa.The new Wellness Centre are soon to be opened and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort and to experience new Wellness Centre soon.

Best Wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

On first approach when we arrived at our villa - we thought we were in heaven! the view was magnificent.
We had a check list that we wanted a villa, which we could go to the local markets, not be too far from other good eating spots, self contained, yet attached to a resort with a restaurant, bar and gym...this ticked all the boxes. We had a three bedroom villa and we had the best room, but strangely no furniture, nothing on the walls and no personality in either the room or living space...We were ok on the upper level, but if you had to share with friends, they were not set up and there was a dampness problem.
It was advertised with the promise of outdoor bbq, which was great for us and a reason for staying there, but when we asked for the bbq, they tried to stripe us for more hire money...How expensive and hard does it have to be???
Idea of the resort is good, but gather the owners are not interested in the upkeep which is a shame and you wont find this out until you are there.
A three bedroom villa, but only one room useable, so beware
Staff always pleasant and as helpful as they could if they could understand.

Room Tip: Need to establish views and make sure that management ensures that all rooms are equally of the stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hungry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

A very happy new year from all of us at Kanda. We very much appreciate your feedback on your experience at our pool villa resort in Samui. Your comments are invaluable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team. As I am sure you know, our resort is relatively new and the more comments we receive, the more we are able to improve our offering and our service.

Our pool villas are available from three to four bedrooms. While we do offer one and two bedroom rate options, this is reserved for guests who travel in parties of two or four. In this case, the master bedroom (all of which are decorated in an attractive contemporary design) will be offered and the minor bedroom will not be available unless per-arranged with the resort.

Our service offering at Kanda is different from that of a hotel. We have an outdoor BBQ offering with in villa BBQ services and private Thai Cooking Classes. The price offered for this service is inclusive of food and a private chef. We are grateful for your feedback and we will ensure we communicate to our guests that this BBQ service is not complimentary.

We have had very few visits from Australia in our recent past and I would be delighted if you were able to also email us directly so I may learn more about your impressions of the resort and particularly the decor in the villas. Please email at gm@kandaresidences.com.

We hope to welcome you back at Kanda in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just returned from Koh Samui having spent 4 days at the Kanda Residences which was just not enough. The staff were fabulous, the Land of Smiles gave a fitting description for every staff member. From our greetings at reception, the staff in the restaurant, the buggy drivers, and even the chef! They remembered which villa we were in, where we were planning on going for the day/evening, and even our preferences for breakfast, drinks at the bar etc. Nothing was too much trouble, from helping to confirm flights, helping us to book a hire car, making dinner reservations at local restaurants, booking taxis etc etc etc..... The staff at the spa were also brilliant and the Thai massage at the villa was excellent. All that without even describing the villa which was wonderful, so spacious and well equipped, with a lounge, dining area and kitchen. We had a two bedroomed villa, the bedrooms were incredibly spacious and each had en-suite facilities. The outside areas had loungers, a private pool, and the most fabulous views. It really is a paradise and I am planning my return trip which will definitely be longer ..............

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edna_M0de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed at Kanda residences for 4 nights in November and cannot fault the property. The staff are attentive and very helpful and the property is in a quiet location close to the airport. I have some specific dietary requirements and the executive chef Christopher took care of this with no fuss. The pool villas are not overlooked and it is a very private setting. Having stayed at other resorts in Samui, I will be back for certain.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DPCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Sir,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My partner & I spent five days at Kanda in September 2013. This facility was re-branded in June and is being marketed as a 5 star resort which it is not! So saying that the villas are spacious, not overlooked and the small private pools are superb. We understand that each villa is privately owned the freehold having recently been purchased by a group of villa owners and the overall complex is now run by a management company. The villa we stayed in was a little tired but nevertheless quite stunning. The restaurant was good but very pricey for what it was. What lets Kanda down was the service and quality of staff.The reception staff appeared to have had little or no training and argued about the cost of something included in the charges and advertised on their own website that they had clearly never bothered to read! Housekeeping services were also not brilliant. As the Residence is under new management I assume all the problems that we experienced will be addressed in due course.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2015

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to complete TripAdvisor survey regarding your stay at our resort. We very much appreciate and value your feedback. Your comments has serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at Kanda Residence Koh Samui last week for 3 in our during our stay in Koh Samui, our 10 year old boy loved the private pool very much so did I. Living area and kitchen is very comfortable my wife always cook for our family during our stay because they have full kitchen equipment that she needed. I feel like I stayed at my house but far more luxurious really good feeling here as well. Staff are very friendly and helpful when we ask for something wonderful place overall

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We will continue being a family friendly resort and we would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I recently spent a week at Kanda. We arrived well before check-in time and the staff provided a temporary villa for us to rest in before our sea view villa was cleaned

Our villa was absolutely wonderful. It was clean, spacious and had a spectacular view. We had complete privacy. Perfect for couples or families.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbird587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.2 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
821 reviews
2.8 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#30 of 185 in Bophut
940 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
915 reviews
13.8 mi away
Conrad Koh Samui Residences
Conrad Koh Samui Residences
#4 of 7 in Taling Ngam
85 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanda Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanda Residences

Address: 80/32 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Karma Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#40 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#43 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £178 - £821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanda Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally-located, elegant, ocean-facing, over-sized pool villa retreat. Five minutes from both Koh Samui International Airport and Chaweng Beach. Choose from One to Three bedroom villas with minimum size of 400 square metres. Grand living area, private swimming pool, outdoor terrace and Thai-style sala (pavilion).Home to "Rock Pool" the iconic beachfront restaurant. Asian Wellness Centre with certified Wat Po Thai Massage therapist, Reiki treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kanda Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Karma Samui Koh
Kanda Residences Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing