We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Kanda Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kanda Residences
Ranked #63 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

An absolutely magical place.
The service - superb
Eateries - great
Staff - more than friendly
Location - perfect

The pool villa was fantastic. Spacious and clean. Pool, perfect for a day in the sun. No concerns or complaints.
I've seen people express displeasure about the beach - it is rocky BUT if you want to hit the beach, get a cab or the hotel service car and you are there in minutes. This place is all about the villa. All about the pool attached to the villa.

I repeat - FANTASTIC

Room Tip: There isn't a bad villa on the property. All the views are magical
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drinBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, Marketing Executive of Kanda Residences at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for your good feedback online. I really appreciate hearing about your experiences. We are more than happy to hear that we met your expectations.

And we would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    44
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
108
95
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I travelled for a month in Thailand and was really looking fwd to Koh samui, but will
say the start of our trip on this island wasn't the best.

Check-in was fine, the room was ok. Dont be fooled by pictures of the beach. The sand is very coarse and rocky. It's not a friendly shoreline for any swimming, barefoot walking, or laying out. You get what you pay for, but the worst thing about the kanda residneces is after one night of staying here, my wife's luggage got infested with bed bugs!

We woke up one morning, she opened her luggage next to the bed, and about 10-15
tiny bed bugs had infested her luggage and were on the bed as well. My wife pretty
much flipped out and didn't want to stay another night.

So here's the biggest issue I have besides the bedbugs: we booked 4 nights so
obviously wanted 3 nights refunded as we were leaving. Well, they would only refund us 2 nights. Bear in mind our room was $450/nt. We told them they had a bug infestation problem, but they told us it's too late to cancel even though they had a bug problem , solely because they couldn't fill the room in time for that 1 night.

They should have refunded us our full 4 night stay for what we had to go through with the bugs, but only ended up getting refunded for 2 nights, which made us extremely upset for having to pay $450 for 1 night, for a room we didnt even use. Not cool Kanda!

We ended up changing our stay to the W hotel, which is a completely different
caliber, an expensive but amazing resort, so beware of the kanda. They have a
bedbug issue and definitely won't be willing to work with u if you want a refund.
Hope this helps you in your travels!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, General Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Kanda.We can see that you have repost the review ,while Tripadvisors have investigated your former review, and have taken it out as there are no such valid information.We have also internally investigated your complaint and unfortunately we find some discrepancies between your claims and what may have happened during your visit to Kanda Residences.
We have no record whatsoever of any guest complaining of bed bugs either in the room or in the luggage. Nor have any prior or subsequent guests made any complaints about any type of infestation at Kanda. As a resort and as a business we take these allegations extremely seriously. Our resort maintains the highest standards of cleanliness and regularly sprays for any type of bugs. Given the incubation time of bugs in luggage, it would seem extremely unlikely that the cause of the bugs originated at Kanda and while we are deeply sorry that this happened, we believe that the cause of the bugs could not possibly have been from our resort.
Further, we have investigated the suggested denial by our staff of a refund for your stay. We have also questioned Expedia locally and they have no knowledge of this case. Since your booking record was booked with Expedia, and it was supposedly cancelled in advance of your visit, there would have been no cancellation charge whatsoever.
As with the bed bugs incident, any kind of guest complaint would have been brought directly to my attention and in this case I have not been informed of either incident.
Please do contact me directly should you be able to shed further light on this problem as I would like to solve the problem directly. I would be delighted to discuss with you.
I wish you and your family a happy Easter and look forward to hearing from you
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stay 2 nights at the Kanda and enjoy the villa with nice views. The reception staff although very polite is not professional. Check in took about 25 minutes and any questions we had had to be forwards to the manager that look very stress.

The property located between Choeng Mon and Chaweng so you have to drive to get anywhere. Parking spots at the property are very limited and grads who supposed to get you in and out of the property are not helpful or can communicate in English. The beach of the property is very rocky and not suitable for swimming.

I would not recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty_Harp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Front Office Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

A very happy Thai New Year from all of us at Kanda. We very much appreciate your feedback on your experiences at our pool villa.

We are both sorry and surprised to hear that the check in time of your stay has gone beyond the standard as all check-ins are now carried out in villa and will only take about five to ten minutes at a maximum. We continually update training for all of our team, our front office team are able to communicate fluently in both English and Thai, we also have staff who speaks French, Mandarin and Russian. You may have faced an anomaly of which I personally apologise.

I strive at all times to create a warm and highly professional environment for our team to excel and for our guests to enjoy. I am grateful for your comments and be assured we will do everything possible to ensure the in-villa check-in is as efficient as it is courteous and fast.

The location of the resort is secluded and less than 5 minutes by car to both Chaweng and Cherngmon and 15 minutes to Fisherman's Village in Bo Phut.It is away from the hustle and bustle of traffic beaches.There is also an option of resort daily shuttle or local taxi that provide services to our guests in a very fair prices.

I am surprised to read your comments about parking as we have a resident parking space and additionally our parking lot across the street from the resort has plenty of spaces at all times.

I wish I could have received your comment during the time that you were staying with us and nor realise meeting with you in person at our resort. Please do contact me personally should I be able to help with your accommodation in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Excellent place, expensive but worth the price as private houses are huge, very well accommodated and furnished, all with big terraces, private pools and lots of plants and flowers.
We didn't like the breakfast though, no buffet, only a la carte, not that well cooked (but there are many places to go in Chaweng so it is a detail).
We also had to assist to the compulsory gala diner on New Year's Eve and were disappointed by the quality of the menu (especially for 200$ p/person !) as the food was not really good (especially the meat).
Otherwise, welcoming is warm, polite and staff is very devoted to their customers.
Better to go together with couple of friends or family as there is place for 6 persons per house... so it was really lots of space for the 2 of us !! But very nice and dreamful

Room Tip: We have preferred to stay in the house close to the reception than the second, next to the pool, cau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stefasia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, General Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

A very happy Thai new year from all of us at Kanda. We very much appreciate your feedback on your experience at our pool villa.Your comments are invaluable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.
Thank you for your recommendation that Kanda is suitable for couples and also a small group of friends and family with its residential facilities, multiple bedrooms and private pool.
We had a meeting with our F&B team on the feedback from our New Year event. The themed party of last year was The Royal night where we chose to serve the silver spoon set menu. We will take your comments to share with the team and look into a new theme night for this coming new year.
Regarding the a la carte premium breakfast, we also offer buffet station with cold salads and choices of Asian breakfast dishes until 11 am. The a la carte late breakfast is still offered until Noon for those who would like to wake up a little late.
Please do contact me directly should I be able to be of any assistance with a future visit.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Hotel location scores over every other hotel in the close vicinity. I had been to this hotel with my wife just a few days back, to enjoy a vacation after a long hard year of office pressure. Our room had an attached private pool with living area and kitchen. That worked out well for us since I had some cardio ailment due to which home cooked food is the best for me. My wife even cooked a little sea-fish dish just for me, while she and our daughter were having food at the restaurant. Lovely staff and very helpful front desk. The room service needs some improvement and needs to respond quicker. The rooms in general were very spacious and vibrant. They also have a small spa , though the facility needs a chin-up. We visited the spa and couldn’t get hold of the person in-charge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RiderRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, General Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

A very happy new year from all of us at Kanda Residences Samui. We very much appreciate your feedback on your experience at our pool villa resort in Samui. Your comments are invaluable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We appreciate your comments and feedback and currently look into an improvement of our spa.The new Wellness Centre are soon to be opened and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort and to experience new Wellness Centre soon.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

On first approach when we arrived at our villa - we thought we were in heaven! the view was magnificent.
We had a check list that we wanted a villa, which we could go to the local markets, not be too far from other good eating spots, self contained, yet attached to a resort with a restaurant, bar and gym...this ticked all the boxes. We had a three bedroom villa and we had the best room, but strangely no furniture, nothing on the walls and no personality in either the room or living space...We were ok on the upper level, but if you had to share with friends, they were not set up and there was a dampness problem.
It was advertised with the promise of outdoor bbq, which was great for us and a reason for staying there, but when we asked for the bbq, they tried to stripe us for more hire money...How expensive and hard does it have to be???
Idea of the resort is good, but gather the owners are not interested in the upkeep which is a shame and you wont find this out until you are there.
A three bedroom villa, but only one room useable, so beware
Staff always pleasant and as helpful as they could if they could understand.

Room Tip: Need to establish views and make sure that management ensures that all rooms are equally of the stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hungry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

A very happy new year from all of us at Kanda. We very much appreciate your feedback on your experience at our pool villa resort in Samui. Your comments are invaluable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team. As I am sure you know, our resort is relatively new and the more comments we receive, the more we are able to improve our offering and our service.

Our pool villas are available from three to four bedrooms. While we do offer one and two bedroom rate options, this is reserved for guests who travel in parties of two or four. In this case, the master bedroom (all of which are decorated in an attractive contemporary design) will be offered and the minor bedroom will not be available unless per-arranged with the resort.

Our service offering at Kanda is different from that of a hotel. We have an outdoor BBQ offering with in villa BBQ services and private Thai Cooking Classes. The price offered for this service is inclusive of food and a private chef. We are grateful for your feedback and we will ensure we communicate to our guests that this BBQ service is not complimentary.

We have had very few visits from Australia in our recent past and I would be delighted if you were able to also email us directly so I may learn more about your impressions of the resort and particularly the decor in the villas. Please email at gm@kandaresidences.com.

We hope to welcome you back at Kanda in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just returned from Koh Samui having spent 4 days at the Kanda Residences which was just not enough. The staff were fabulous, the Land of Smiles gave a fitting description for every staff member. From our greetings at reception, the staff in the restaurant, the buggy drivers, and even the chef! They remembered which villa we were in, where we were planning on going for the day/evening, and even our preferences for breakfast, drinks at the bar etc. Nothing was too much trouble, from helping to confirm flights, helping us to book a hire car, making dinner reservations at local restaurants, booking taxis etc etc etc..... The staff at the spa were also brilliant and the Thai massage at the villa was excellent. All that without even describing the villa which was wonderful, so spacious and well equipped, with a lounge, dining area and kitchen. We had a two bedroomed villa, the bedrooms were incredibly spacious and each had en-suite facilities. The outside areas had loungers, a private pool, and the most fabulous views. It really is a paradise and I am planning my return trip which will definitely be longer ..............

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edna_M0de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Happy New Year 2014. Kanda Residences Team wishing you a happy, healthy and prospect New Year.

Thank you very much for your support and staying with us at Kanda in 2013. We very much appreciate your positive feedback on our pool villa resort. Your comments are very valuable to us and are critical motivation for all of our team.

We would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.2 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
743 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
1.2 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
1.7 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
830 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanda Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanda Residences

Property: Kanda Residences
Address: 80/32 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Karma Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#39 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#41 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanda Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally-located, elegant, ocean-facing, over-sized pool villa retreat. Five minutes from both Koh Samui International Airport and Chaweng Beach. Choose from One to Three bedroom villas with minimum size of 400 square metres. Grand living area, private swimming pool, outdoor terrace and Thai-style sala (pavilion).Home to "Rock Pool" the iconic beachfront restaurant. Asian Wellness Centre with certified Wat Po Thai Massage therapist, Reiki treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kanda Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Karma Samui Koh
Kanda Residences Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing