We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Villa and the Rock Pool!”
Review of Kanda Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kanda Residences
Ranked #65 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the Villa and the Rock Pool!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Loved our stay at the villa! Staff and facilities were excellent. Views were amazing. Food and drink were reasonable price, great tasting and the Rock Pool has the most amazing views. The actual villa had a good sized private pool and great size of rooms and decor. This place made the holiday fantastic! The private beach was not sandy but this did not matter, as the views were amazing and it was nice for a early evening walk. Hotel staff catered for our day trips and anytime we needed a taxi. Would recommend having the buffet breakfast in your deal, sometimes had two breakfast meals in one morning!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Preeti J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for spending your time to comment on your recent stay.

We are very glad to see, that you remark our hotel, the food offer and the perfect location around. We were also very pleased to read your comments about the friendly and helpful staff in our hotel. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees.

we looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes
From Kanda Residences team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    44
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
106
93
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Myself and my wife stayed in Villa 14 at Kanda Residences for eight nights at the beginning of February. It was one of the best holidays we have ever had.

Kanda Residences is just minutes from the airport in Koh Samui, and the resort picked us up and brought us straight to the villa. The villa had been prepared beautifully with flower petals strewn around the main bedroom and the bathroom.

The villa consists of three large bedrooms all of which are en-suite. These a an infinity pool at the heart of the villa, with the large, open plan kitchen/dining room/living room.

The resort was quiet at that time of the year and was the perfect location to relax and recharge. The staff at the resort were so helpful, from helping us to book cars and trips to providing information about places to eat.

We ate at the Rock Pool restaurant several times for breakfast and dinner, and the food was excellent and staff very helpful throughout. The restaurant is right on the water and is the perfect location for cocktails as the sun sets.

Kanda has a communal pool and its own private beach but with our own private pool in Villa 14 with an incredible view over the seas around Thailand, it was the hard to leave.

Just minutes from Chaweng Beach, this is the perfect location to explore Koh Samui but with everything you need on hand in Kanda, it was very hard to take ourselves away from Villa 14.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for your good feedback.
I really appreciate hearing about your experiences. We are more than happy to hear that we met your expectations.

We are very happy to note that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your kind words regarding our food, service, rooms, locations and of course private pool villa!
We will pass on your comments to our staff.

And we will update our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes
From Kanda Residences team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I've been in a lot of places all around the world, but nothing was as good as my stay at Kanda Residences in Koh Samui.
This is mostly due to the perfect 24/7 service the staff provides.
The villa gives you a very luxurious feeling and makes you never want to leave.
I even considered moving to Thailand because of this.

The villa's we had consisted of 3 small bungalow-like buildings. 1 for the living room, 1 for the master bedroom(+big bathroom) and 1 for 2 other bedrooms. The outdoor private swimming pool was the area we spent most of our time. Next to the pool there's this roof covered bed where you can relax.

The bedroom was very clean, and airconditioned with state of the art airconditioning units.
The whole villa, including garden, gets cleaned twice a day by a team of around 8 people. It's a very special sight, and you almost get the feeling to help the people because of their hard work.

The living room was the room we spent the least of our time (because we like to be outside, and it didn't rain while we stayed there), but if it's raining it's the best place you can be because of the entertainment system.

Breakfast was always fresh (and very good) and was available till 11:00.
This also goes for lunch and diner. The chef, Chris, makes diner a very special occasion with his original dishes. From traditional Thai food, to whatever you like. Scott, the South African beverage manager, adds even more quality with his kindness and knowledge.

We'd like to thank all of the staff and especially general manager Liz and the owner, Alan, for their exceptional service and kindness.

Jim from the Netherlands

Room Tip: Every villa has its very own private pool. If you're closer to the reception you could encounter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JMKK1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Mr. Jim

thank you very much for you nice feedback.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Kanda Residences and that you appreciated the great location, our nice staff, the tasty breakfast as well our spacious rooms. We will pass your compliments to our employees.

And we will update our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel.

Best wishes
From Kanda Residences team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Kanda Residences was amazing! We traveled with 2 adults and 2 13yr old twins. We booked a 2 bedroom private pool villa in April and stayed for 2 nights. Everything was great. The reception was very friendly and helpful. Our villa was the most gorgeous place we have ever stayed! The 2 bedrooms and living area are separate from each other in a private courtyard surrounding your private pool so may not be good for young children, but your front gate can be locked from the inside. The breakfast was excellent. There are other pools and a magnificent view from the restaurant. The beach in front is rocky but pretty. Its a short songthaew ride to Chaweng (50 baht per person) This place has definitely got 'Spoil Yourself" written all over it!

Room Tip: Private pool villa...WOW!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Littlebrownjug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, Marketing Executive of Kanda Residences at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for posting a fabulous review of your recent stay with us and for highlighting our staff on Tripadvisor. That means a huge value for all of them and they will be encouraged by your kind remarks.
I am extremely happy to note that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your kind words regarding our food,service,rooms and of course private pool villa!
We will pass on your comments to our staff.

And we looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your kids back in the near future.

Best wishes
From Kanda Residences team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon several years ago when it was called Karma and were looking forward to coming back. Can safely say now that we have children it's even better!

They've expanded the place somewhat from when we were here last (added a very nice outdoor restaurant and on the cliffs with wonderful seaviews) but it has the same charm we remembered.

We splashed out a little and went for one of the oceanfront villas and it was well worth it! The spacious grounds surrounding a sizeable pool and coury yard was our home base for a week.

Almost ashamed to admit it but we hardly left the resort. With the beach just below the villa, the big pool in the villa and even bigger pool on the hotel grounds there was little reason to frankly.

With two small children now it was exactly what we needed...!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay.
It was a pleasure for us having you as our guest and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel "Kanda Residences" and very happy to hear that we met your expectations.

We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

We are looking forward to welcome you again
Best wishes
From Kanda Residences team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

An absolutely magical place.
The service - superb
Eateries - great
Staff - more than friendly
Location - perfect

The pool villa was fantastic. Spacious and clean. Pool, perfect for a day in the sun. No concerns or complaints.
I've seen people express displeasure about the beach - it is rocky BUT if you want to hit the beach, get a cab or the hotel service car and you are there in minutes. This place is all about the villa. All about the pool attached to the villa.

I repeat - FANTASTIC

Room Tip: There isn't a bad villa on the property. All the views are magical
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drinBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KandaResidences, Marketing Executive of Kanda Residences at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you so much for your good feedback online. I really appreciate hearing about your experiences. We are more than happy to hear that we met your expectations.

And we would like to honour our returning guests with special privileges to thank you your continued support. We will update you about our programme in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from Kanda Residences team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife and I travelled for a month in Thailand and was really looking fwd to Koh samui, but will
say the start of our trip on this island wasn't the best.

Check-in was fine, the room was ok. Dont be fooled by pictures of the beach. The sand is very coarse and rocky. It's not a friendly shoreline for any swimming, barefoot walking, or laying out. You get what you pay for, but the worst thing about the kanda residneces is after one night of staying here, my wife's luggage got infested with bed bugs!

We woke up one morning, she opened her luggage next to the bed, and about 10-15
tiny bed bugs had infested her luggage and were on the bed as well. My wife pretty
much flipped out and didn't want to stay another night.

So here's the biggest issue I have besides the bedbugs: we booked 4 nights so
obviously wanted 3 nights refunded as we were leaving. Well, they would only refund us 2 nights. Bear in mind our room was $450/nt. We told them they had a bug infestation problem, but they told us it's too late to cancel even though they had a bug problem , solely because they couldn't fill the room in time for that 1 night.

They should have refunded us our full 4 night stay for what we had to go through with the bugs, but only ended up getting refunded for 2 nights, which made us extremely upset for having to pay $450 for 1 night, for a room we didnt even use. Not cool Kanda!

We ended up changing our stay to the W hotel, which is a completely different
caliber, an expensive but amazing resort, so beware of the kanda. They have a
bedbug issue and definitely won't be willing to work with u if you want a refund.
Hope this helps you in your travels!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanda_ResidencesTeam, General Manager at Kanda Residences, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at Kanda.We can see that you have repost the review ,while Tripadvisors have investigated your former review, and have taken it out as there are no such valid information.We have also internally investigated your complaint and unfortunately we find some discrepancies between your claims and what may have happened during your visit to Kanda Residences.
We have no record whatsoever of any guest complaining of bed bugs either in the room or in the luggage. Nor have any prior or subsequent guests made any complaints about any type of infestation at Kanda. As a resort and as a business we take these allegations extremely seriously. Our resort maintains the highest standards of cleanliness and regularly sprays for any type of bugs. Given the incubation time of bugs in luggage, it would seem extremely unlikely that the cause of the bugs originated at Kanda and while we are deeply sorry that this happened, we believe that the cause of the bugs could not possibly have been from our resort.
Further, we have investigated the suggested denial by our staff of a refund for your stay. We have also questioned Expedia locally and they have no knowledge of this case. Since your booking record was booked with Expedia, and it was supposedly cancelled in advance of your visit, there would have been no cancellation charge whatsoever.
As with the bed bugs incident, any kind of guest complaint would have been brought directly to my attention and in this case I have not been informed of either incident.
Please do contact me directly should you be able to shed further light on this problem as I would like to solve the problem directly. I would be delighted to discuss with you.
I wish you and your family a happy Easter and look forward to hearing from you
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.9 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
1.2 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
0.5 mi away
Outrigger Koh Samui Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanda Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanda Residences

Property: Kanda Residences
Address: 80/32 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Karma Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#40 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#42 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanda Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally-located, elegant, ocean-facing, over-sized pool villa retreat. Five minutes from both Koh Samui International Airport and Chaweng Beach. Choose from One to Three bedroom villas with minimum size of 400 square metres. Grand living area, private swimming pool, outdoor terrace and Thai-style sala (pavilion).Home to "Rock Pool" the iconic beachfront restaurant. Asian Wellness Centre with certified Wat Po Thai Massage therapist, Reiki treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanda Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Karma Samui Koh
Kanda Residences Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing