We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buetiful Pool Villa”
Review of Kanda Residences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kanda Residences
Ranked #64 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We actually got married at Karma Samuii, and they were great in lots of areas but a bit lacking in others. The wedding set up was amazing, altough there were some problems that any one else coudl avoid if they did the same thing.
1) Don't use the hotel supplied hair dresser or photographer. They are both expensive and not good at their jobs.
2) The meals provided, although of excellent quality are very small compared to the meals that are nomally sold at padma. Their was no real discount on the price so i don't know why that was.
3)The drinks were supposed to stop after a certain dollar figure was reached but they continued serving in to the night and i was presented with a bill for over $2000 USD the next day, even though the contrract stated that the drinks would stop when the budget was reached.

Saying all this it was still an amzing wedding and a good time was had by all. Sue, the wedding coordinater at Karma, was fantastic and it was extremely easy to set up from Australia.

Would recommend to anyone seeking a small, high end wedding in Samuii.

Also i made the mistake of handing out soem large tips onthe nigh tof my wedding and it seems from then on the staff would just hand around a lot waiting for tips. Is human nature really, but did become annoying, especially for things like a turn down service,w here three staff enter your room and you have to find small notes to tip them all with.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mattx81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2010

If a pool villa is all you want then this is fine. However, the property is quite crowded with villas closely packed together. Swimming naked is not advised! The living room has a nice LCD TV but NO TV in the bedroom!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5STAR_JUDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Tucked in a cozy corner of the island, it is very accessible from the airport and is one of the best villa properties I have ever seen. Ideally suited for a family of 13, we could cook, party, swim, watch movies and do whatever we felt like in the 2 villas we had booked. The spa treatment was extraordinary and worth a visit if you stay there. The sea facing restaurant is also having the best view of the sea. One added bonanza is the common pool called the rock pool which is extremely luxurious overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andybhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We are seasoned travellers and have stayed in Koh Samui several times. This holiday we decided to take our (nearly adult) children with us. We had a 3 bedroom Villa with a pool; each room had it's own fantastic bathroom and all rooms were very large, beautifully finished and extremely comfortable.

The main area had a very comfirtable lounge area witn a plasma TV and full sound system, dining area and full kitchen. This had an opening to a great pool and lounge area with a magnificent view over the roof tops and the sea.

We really enjoyed our stay there; the accomodation was top shelf, the service and staff were fantastic and overall these things made for a absolutely wondefull holiday. Our kids (23 and 25 years old) had a great time and were blown away by how great this place was. It's not the cheapest but in our case was cheaper than 3 rooms in a good resort, without your own pool.

The resort manager is a yank , he cruises the place regularly and has a chat. I think his influence makes a difference you can see in the staff and service. Rooms are exceptional .. as good as we have ever had, facilities are also extremely good and overall the place is as good a location you will find in Koh Samui.

The only slight criticism I would make is that it is a couple kilometrs from Chewang and you need to get taxis all the time ... they should run a free shuttle service, but they don't.

Thanks Karma ... you made our holiday very memorable.

Wayne and Teresa Brook

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OyOyOy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

A nice hotel overall. I believe that this is a collection of individual villas that are for sale and are then managed by a company and run as a hotel. As such, the interior layout of the villas include a full kitchen, complete with all utensils, oven, micro wave, stove, etc. Very unlike a typical villa in a normal hotel and more like a house. The interior layout design is very good and makes use of space very well. We had a 3 bedroom villa. Although the pool area and living room have a rather limited view of the sea (blocked by the roofs of the seaward villas), the main bedroom upstairs commands an impressive view of the sea. The pool in the villa was small but functional and just right for a small family.

In villa dining (room service) was prompt. Food was delivered in about 20 minutes. Food in the restaurant (Padma) was good. Although a tad over priced and rather limited in variety. The food menu was exactly the same in the restaurant and for room service.

The location of the hotel is quite good. Some sort of hired transportation like a bike or car is mandatory if you want to get around easily. Just a short drive to Chaweng area and to the north were many restaurants and beaches can be found. There are many large supermarkets (Tesco, Makro, Big C) nearby which is rather surprising for a tiny island of Koh Samui. However for those who would like to use the fully equipped kitchen, the supermarkets are a real blessing!

The beach in Karma Samui is rather non-event. Very coarse sand / pebbles and rocky. Can't really swim in it. For guests that must have a beach, they might want to look elsewhere.

The spa is housed in a converted villa and is basic. However, for an in house spa, it is adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthEastAsiaMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We were met at the airport by the hotel car whose driver handed us cold towels and water which were so welcome given the heat. The 36 villas are very well equipped and comfortable and are set in a complex with plants, trees and flowers. As it is set on a hillside you have the use of a buggy to get from the restaurant if you wish although it's not that steep.
As there were only two of us we used the master bedroom although there were two others, these were set in a separate building to the living room and kitchen. The bathroom was very well equipped with two wash basins, a large bath tub, separate shower with drencher, and separate toilet. Off the bedroom was a very large closet with hanging rail and ample shelving. The living area also had fully fitted kitchen with Smeg appliances and laundry room. Outside was a pool, sunbeds with towels and sala.
Our villa overlooked roofs of lower villas but did not obstruct the view of the sea. It was extremely private and although the hotel was full we did not hear anyone. The staff even telephoned before entering the villa for cleaning etc. which was greatly appreciated as we spend most of our time relaxing.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was exceptional, varied, and ample, the staff could not have been more helpful. There seemed to be many families with small children, there is a kids club, if we hadn't seen them at breakfast we wouldn't have known as the way the complex is laid out it is very quiet and restful.
We used the spa which was a wonderful experience, the staff being very professional and, being Thai, relaxed and courteous. Prices very reasonable.
Our only complaint was nothing to do with the hotel but it's location. It is a little way out of the town, a great advantage, but the taxis were not cheap. It cost more for the taxi than the meal we had. If we weren't "wrinklies" we would have hired a moped which were very cheap and the villa had a garage.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChasMave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

What a stay.Hi to Jeff,Raymond and all the staff.If you want to pamper yourself this is the place to go.I have holidayed extensively through SE asia and this will be hard to beat.
Phuket v Samui, Samui wins hands down.The people are divine.Food and drink are first class but cheap as chips.We had 2 weeks at Karma so we could wind down and take full advantage of all the facilities at the resort.There was nothing better than having a beer or glass of red on the lower deck overlooking the ocean.A big hello to Ike who looked after our drinks.He would have to make the best Bloody Mary I have ever had.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
1.2 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
901 reviews
1.2 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
804 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
1.7 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Outrigger Koh Samui Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanda Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanda Residences

Address: 80/32 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Karma Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#40 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#43 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £182 - £620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kanda Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally-located, elegant, ocean-facing, over-sized pool villa retreat. Five minutes from both Koh Samui International Airport and Chaweng Beach. Choose from One to Three bedroom villas with minimum size of 400 square metres. Grand living area, private swimming pool, outdoor terrace and Thai-style sala (pavilion).Home to "Rock Pool" the iconic beachfront restaurant. Asian Wellness Centre with certified Wat Po Thai Massage therapist, Reiki treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kanda Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karma Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Karma Samui Koh
Kanda Residences Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing