We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Bophut Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Ranked #53 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013 via mobile

We arrived to baan bophut to high expectations but sadly we were left very disappointed with the hotel.
First the positives:
Great location,wonderful views,good sized rooms,powerful a/c in room, lovely infinity pool,
Now the negatives:
Maybe because it was the low season, but even though the staff were friendly enough the just seamed as though they couldn't be bothered! and it seemed there was nobody in actual authority if a major problem occurred.
The vent in the bathroom obviously hadn't been cleaned for months as it was blocked with thick dust which was then falling onto the rim of the tiles leaving a thick line of dust.
The towels were so old they were fraying and looked more like cleaning rags,also a couple of them were very badly stained!!!
The bedside tables and dressers were very badly stained and marked.
The cushions on the lovely oversized deck-chairs on the balconies were so badly worn and ripped, that they should in my opinion be replaced ASAP!!
Overall the hotel is in need of some TLC to bring it back to the
hotel it once was!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricnjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    71
    28
    15
    4
See reviews for
46
173
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed for three nights at the end of April, great small boutique hotel, quiet and peaceful, nice but small pool but big enough to have a swim and cool off.
Air con very good, big comfy beds and pillows, clean and lots of good towels.
So good we returned for one night on our way back to Bangkok.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin001_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Currently sat on the beach directly in front of my room. (I recommend the ground floor). Perfect setting. The view is one of the best you can get. Friday nights there is a street market just outside the hotel it really makes this quiet part of samui come alive. Mind the mai thai cocktails. They will soon have you drunk. We have been so impressed we have extended our stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kc_circle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

When we decided to go to Koh Samui for our annual Easter trip to Thailand, last year, I did a lot of research to find the perfect hotel, in the perfect setting and Baan Bophut ticked all the boxes.

We increasingly choose to stay in small, independent hotels rather than the 5* chain hotels - this isn't necessarily driven by the huge mark up in price, but the fact that we like the personal service that comes from smaller hotels. We also like to be on the beach, but also able to walk to bars and restaurants in the evening. And this is exactly what we got.

The hotel is on a very quiet stretch of beach, opposite end to the Hansar and has fantastic views over Koh Phangan; it's truly idyllic and every day we reminded ourselves how fortunate we were to be staying in such a fabulous spot. And there was never that rush to find a bed, or worry about what happens if you go out for lunch and whether you'll come back to find your 'stuff' has been moved. It was totally relaxing.

We requested a room on the ground floor - there are 4 of these and 4 above on the 'top' floor. This decision was made after trawling through previous reviews, and for us, it was the perfect choice. And we spent many an hour sitting on our veranda, enjoying a G&T, watching the sun set and admiring the views. The room itself was absolutely fine - quite contemporary and had everything we needed. And I have to agree with other reviewers about the bed - it was as comfortable as any that we have had in a 5* hotel. The shower is of the 'wet room' variety', but that was absolutely fine and we didn't experience any problems with it.

Breakfast is included, but is a fairly simple affair - tea, coffe, juice. A fruit platter and a croissant with jam. However, for a few extra baht, you can add whatever you want. I tended to opt for an omelette with bacon, or poached eggs on toast ( in addition to the set breakfast). My husband often had the Thai breakfast with extra chillies! The full English also looked great. Lunches were also fabulous - if we were around for the day, we always had lunch at the hotel; it was cheap and as good as anything you could get anywhere else. The chicken sates were superb!

In the evening, we would either turn right to the main 'drag' or left if we were going to our favourite restaurant: The Hut. This is a great little restaurant - always busy and hard to get a table, but it's worth the effort. Even better, wine is only 90 baht a glass - the cheapest we found anywhere. Our favourite bar was Ba Bar - down a little 'alley', on the right side facing the beach. They have live Blues there three times a week and everytime we went, we had a ball.

The Friday Walking Street starts at the hotel, and it was wonderful to be able to walk out the front door and be in the heart of things - its a great night out. We drank far too many mojitas for our own good, and loved walking up the street sampling the street food. Then at the end of the night,there was no hassle about taxis charging exorbitant prices, and we would return to our veranda for a night cap.

Because the prices were so reasonable at the hotel, we had no issue about getting drinks, cocktails etc from the bar, but we did stock up on some essentials like Baileys etc, and got ice from the 7/11 in Bophut which we kept in the freezer compartment of the fridge. This is something you rarely get in 5* hotels, in our experience, and we really enjoyed the flexibility of this. Incidentally, the 7/11 is a short walk and we stocked up on beers etc, and I also got a Thai SIMM card for my unlocked iPhone. Definately worth doing! The bank is also opposite 7/11.

Even when the hotel was full during our two week stay, it never felt crowed, and there were times when it felt as though we were on our own private beach. It felt far more exclusive than the 5* hotels, like The Hansar, where everyone seemed so regimented and there were loads of small kids in the pool. (We have nothing against kids, it's just now ours have well and truly grown up, and whilst we don't yet have grand children, we want to enjoy our holiday without them). However, the final bill, including our drinks and lunches, and extra breakfast bits was incredibly reasonable, and a fraction of what we have paid in the past.

When we chose Baan Bophut, we had to weigh up whether or not we wanted a better beach, or be in Bophut itself, which is really quite upmarket compared to other places. It's relaxed and Bohemian and our sort of place. Bophut won, and we are so pleased we made that choice. It's easy to get to other beaches - songthaws are relatively cheap, but we hired a scooter for a few days and went to Silver Beach and Cheongmon.

We will return to Koh Samui, and maybe combine it with Koh Phangan or Koh Tao, but we won't even consider staying anywhere else. Thanks to Lucy, and her amazing team for making our holiday so unforgettable, and one of our best yet in Thailand.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed over Easter, it was just perfect, Tracey and her staff are Fab and were very helpful, nice simple room, great breakfast on a beautiful beach in Fishermans Village, couldnt be better.
Great for couples, not really for kids albeit there were some families and they seemed very happy

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Our family (teenage boys 13&15) stayed for 2 nights in rooms 7 &8 as the family room was booked. we were on the first floor with beach views and really enjoyed the good service, clean big rooms and relaxed atmosphere. Good food and a cocktail bar on the beach added to the stay. fisherman's village was a lively place at night and we really enjoyed the Thai food at The Hut near the hotel but book during the day as it is popular. we also hired a car for the day and had a trip around the island seeing a few other places such as the Buddha, nearby Wat and a few other hotels such as the jungle club which had amazing views. nikki Beach was worth a beer to see the DJ in the pool.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

clean and large room, friendly and helpful staffs, good view from any room, small but good swimming pool. There are a few small cons which I don't care. A beach bar like its neighbour "Waterfront" will make the hotel even more attractive.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K_Gon_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#23 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#79 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#87 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Smile House Resort
Smile House Resort
#40 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawana Resort
Lawana Resort
#71 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Enjoy Beach Hotel
Enjoy Beach Hotel
#6 of 151 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Bophut Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bophut Beach Hotel

Property: Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Address: 6/9 Moo 1 | FIsherman's Village, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Bophut Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique boutique hotel located directly on the beach in Bophut's Fisherman's Village. Private garden and beach area. 24-Hour swimming pool. Ocean view restaurant with Thai and Western specialties, and beachside bar. Newly renovated and modernized rooms and facilities (renovation completed 1st Sept 2014). Completely new penthouse rooms and suites. All guest rooms feature king beds, flat screen TVs, private seaview balconies. Penthouse rooms & suite feature separate seating areas, 4-post beds and large 48" TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Baan Bophut Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing