We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Ranked #49 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great friendly hotel”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Just spent 35 days in Thailand, out off the 5 different hotels this was far the best.The owners were kind and gracious and lucy is the jewel in the crown.Rooms clean and tidy , spectacular views , pool was magnificent. Food exceptional good value and good portions.Read a few reviews I think they must having staying in another hotel. Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Fishermans village lovely.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    77
    29
    15
    4
See reviews for
48
179
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Recommended by friends. We were not disappointed. At quiet end of fisherman's village. Really friendly staff and . Nothing was too much trouble. Don't know what the previous lady was commenting on???? The beds were the best I've slept in in thailand. Great night sleep. Black out curtains too.. fantastic view. Great for couples. Lots of good restAuRants near by. Hotel.food really good too. Bathroom was more a wet room and housekeeping came every day. Tv and DVD cor chilling in room. According worked all the time. Amazing view over beach and sea. Can't say anything negAtive. Loved it so much that came back within 3 days for another stay. Everybody was lovely and 60% of their guests are returning guests. Loved it here Will book next trip to Thailand around staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

I very rarely have to write a poor review as I usually rely heavily on previous tripadvisor comments before making a choice. However, in this instance I do feel that I need to make other travellers aware that this hotel is lacking in a number of areas.
Pros - great sea view from the rooms.
Good location at the quiet end of Fishermans Village.
Comfortable bed
Cons - the rooms are falling apart. Shower leaks all over the bathroom as the drainage does not properly work which is incredibly dangerous.
Staff are unfriendly to the point of being quite rude. Having said that there is hardly ever anyone around to respond to any query, let alone if there was ever an emergency!
Room was not cleaned on two separate occasions - not acceptable at all.
Dogs mess all over the beach area directly in front of the hotel's garden area. I witnessed dogs urinating up the side of a sunbed and messing on the sand - horrible.
Breakfast is basic at best.
To sum up, if this hotel had a major facelift and a change in staff attitude it could potentially be a decent place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank sexychica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mangolust, Owner at Baan Bophut Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We have clearly failed this guest on several counts. Firstly, we failed to spell out the consequences of staying in her room until after the housekeeping staff had finished their shift nor of hanging the 'Do not Disturb' sign on the door.

We wrongly assumed, with the absence of a shower tray, curtain or enclosure that the guest would recognise a wet-room type of shower. Some drain quicker than others, but no standing water remains in any of our rooms after a few minutes.

To our cost and despite repeated demonstrations, we failed to ensure that the guest and her son had attained a basic grasp of how the room safes worked. This resulted in a midnight call to our receptionist by her son to retrieve his phone from his safe. That our receptionist may have shown some irritation at this ‘emergency' call out has obviously had some bearing on Sexychica’s remarks.

The very occasional dog turds are cleaned up immediately when seen or reported.

This guest made it plain when she first arrived with her son that she would rather be staying in the same hotel as her daughter who was getting married later in the week. That she couldn’t, due either to a late booking or the lucky daughter’s contrivance has very obviously influenced her review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Baan Bophut is perfectly located in Fisherman's Village. We visited many villages in the island and Fisherman's was definitely our favourite, beautiful views and great shopping and eating, and due to the surrounding road network the main street was generally pretty quiet.

The accommodations were a little bit older than I expected (after seeing the photos) but this is more than made up for by the exceptional service of the staff and the high standards they clean and service to. There is always (7.30am - 9pm) multiple staff at the restaurant/bar and they will make you anything you want at the drop of a hat and with a smile. The beach bar hut is like something you see out of a movie and is perfect to sit and have a beer or cocktail on dusk. Considering it is a public restaurant, very few people actually dine there (I think due to lack of signage/awareness) so you virtually have a private beach bar, and the prices for both food and drinks were very, very reasonable. The continental breakfast is basic, perhaps a little small, but good quality fresh fruit each day and plenty of cheap choices to add on to your breakfast if you want.

There were a couple of disappointments: the website says small children are not facilitated and noisy/boisterous youngsters are not allowed, but while we stayed there were two couples each having young and very loud children. I specifically chose this place so I didn't have to listen to screaming toddlers but unfortunately they seem to be everywhere! The hot water was also lukewarm at best, and for three days it was cold. On the third day I told staff and it went back to lukewarm so wouldn't be great in colder months.

Overall it was amazing value for money and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room, they open onto the beach and you can't beat the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabries
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were part of a large group staying here over New Year and took all but two of the rooms. The Hotel is perfectly situated on the beach in Fisherman's village. Easy access to shops restaurants etc. The staff were charming and friendly and when we eat there the food was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here in September with my girlfriend for 3 nights and we both loved it. The room was really clean and very comfortable with a massive comfy bed and a nice bathroom. The free wifi was also good and our room on the ground floor had a good signal. The staff at the hotel are all really friendly and helpful if you need them for anything. We ate at the hotel a few times and the food was always brilliant. In the mornings we took advantage of the complimentary continental breakfast and at lunch we would try a few different local dishes from the menu ( The pad Thai omelette was excellent ) There's a talented cook hidden away in that kitchen. The portions were also quite substantial and everything was very reasonably priced. The beachside pool and bar is a perfect place to chill out during the day with a few beers or a cocktail. The beach is clean and quiet and there is a small tiki bar if you want to listen to some tunes and enjoy a drink. The location is also spot on at a quiet part of Fishermans village but only a few mins walk to all the bars and restaurants in the area. We loved our stay in this part of Koh Samui and when we hopefully return we would definitely choose this hotel to stay in again

Room Tip: It's down to personal preference but we had a ground floor room and loved the fact you could str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanibalSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I loved this hotel in spite of its deficiencies, which I will deal with first. As mentioned by other reviewers, some of the towels are old and frayed and definitely need replacing and there are stains on the tops of the cabinets etc (another problem which would not be difficult to fix). Also, the water temperature in the shower never went beyond lukewarm but the weather was so hot it hardly mattered.

One previous reviewer mentioned that the deckchair covers were old and dirty but this problem has been rectified and I suspect a lot of the other criticisms are in the process of being dealt with as well.

I would definitely stay here again. The location is fabulous, near the end of Fisherman's Village (the nicest part of Koh Samui from what I saw) with great views and very close to shops, restaurants etc.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. (The one exception was when we were paying our bill. The credit-card machine wasn't working and the receptionist was most unhelpful though we sorted it all out in the end.)

The continental breakfast was good (though it would have been nice to have had a choice of cereals – it was either cornflakes or cornflakes, so cornflakes it was) and if you wanted a cooked breakfast as well, it was very cheap.

You need to decide what sort of holiday you want before choosing whether to stay here. The hotel has only a few rooms and is quite unlike the big resorts (a couple of which I visited) that proliferate here. It is certainly not luxurious but it feels like a more authentic experience to stay in a place like this than in a resort that is similar to those in all parts of the globe. Baan Bophut is delightfully low-key and to add to its attractions it is very well priced at about AUD$100 per night including breakfast in high season and even cheaper at other times.

I am certainly planning a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca5158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.0 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#13 of 187 in Bophut
965 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#76 of 187 in Bophut
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#94 of 187 in Bophut
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Smile House Resort
Smile House Resort
#43 of 187 in Bophut
606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Enjoy Beach Hotel
Enjoy Beach Hotel
#5 of 151 in Bophut
160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lawana Resort
Lawana Resort
#71 of 187 in Bophut
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Bophut Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Bophut Beach Hotel

Property: Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Address: 6/9 Moo 1 | FIsherman's Village, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Bophut Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique boutique hotel located directly on the beach in Bophut's Fisherman's Village. Private garden and beach area. 24-Hour swimming pool. Ocean view restaurant with Thai and Western specialties, and beachside bar. Newly renovated and modernized rooms and facilities (renovation completed 1st Sept 2014). Completely new penthouse rooms and suites. All guest rooms feature king beds, flat screen TVs, private seaview balconies. Penthouse rooms & suite feature separate seating areas, 4-post beds and large 48" TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baan Bophut Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing