We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The Lodge(Bophut)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
193
86
36
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
86
36
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roomfisherman's villagecontinental breakfastthe ground floorthe penthousenice small poolquiet endsmall hotelthai staffwalking streeta couple of minutes walkbophut beachnight marketboutique hotelsome tlcbars and restaurantsquiet location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2009

After several trips to the Thai Islands, this year I decided to splurge a little and go to Koh Samui which I had been told was a little more expensive that most. I had been warned off of Chaweng Beach area and it was suggested that I go the Fisherman's Village of Bophut. I am so happy that I did do so. Staying at the Baan Bophut was heaven. A small hotel, beautifully furnished, quiet, lovely pool, amazing breakfasts and lovely beach front. The village is completely walkable with pretty much all of the restaurants and bars on the ocean front. Lucy, the owner of the hotel and her reception staff, were so helpful in arranging trips, snorkelling, Five Island Restaurant (bottom of island for the best sunsets). If you felt like an early night, there were loads of dvds to pick from to watch in your room.

Sitting on my front porch early in the morning and watching the mist rise and the young men with their water buffalo doing a morning trek on the beach was surreal. Watching the fisherman early and later in the day only a few metres out catching the fish was soothing.

The village is spotless, the cleaniest place in Thailand I think. I met many ex-pats who co-owned businesses in the village who again were charming, welcoming and a veritable source of info. As a solo woman traveller, I felt safe and that I had an instant "family" in the village.

I would highly recommend that you go to Villa Bianca owned by Malcolm and Guido, a beautiful (although pricey) Italian restaurant in town. Both owners are charming and gracious and Malcolm has some great stories to regale you with.

Larry's is fab for American style ribs and steaks and has wonderful blues and r&b music.

The Thai restaurants are great and, of course, serve all the wonderful (just caught from the sea ) seafood.

I would definitely recommend Baan Bophut and would definitely stay again if and when I return to Koh Samui. A small warning, the beach is gorgeous but there is a lot of coral and rocks in the water so I would suggest some bathing shoes so you don't slice your feet. You can walk down the beach a few minutes where it is less rocky for swimming.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz56TorontoON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We stayed for 4 nights in a room on the first floor with lovely sea views. The room was very comfortable especially the bed which was the most comfortable we had during our trip. The loungers on the balcony were very comfortable too. The swimming pool water deteriorated during our stay but when we complained it was cleaned and treated the next day. Everything was relaxing and laid back. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is a short distance to the main Bophut strip with restaurants and shops. The meals at the hotel were very good and reasonably priced. It was a great place to end our holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We have just returned from a 9 night stay at this hotel. It is situated near the end of the main street and was very peaceful, especially at night. The rooms are spacious and clean although the furniture is a little strange as the drawers are too shallow to put anything in! The room was cleaned daily and our only gripe was that we were in room 1 which is right outside reception. This meant that we were woken by anyone at the reception desk from about 7.30am onwards. So beware room 1! We also had a slight problem with smelly aircon at the end of the holiday but this may have been a temporary problem as it was only the last couple of nights and didn't really spoil our stay. The rooms look out onto the beach and it was very relaxing to sit on the balcony at any time of the day or night and chill!! Sunbeds weren't too much of a problem although they would benefit from adding a couple more. There are several dogs which roam the beach and sleep under your sunbed but they are harmless and don't bother you. The main street livens up at night and there are plenty of eating places and bars to choose from. The Starfish and Coffee serves great food and is very popular with interesting decor, we ate here several times and the service was excellent. There is a seafood restaurant with meal deals, the owner is French and stands outside in the evenings chatting and giving information about the menu. He is lovely and the food is fantastic, definitely worth paying a little bit more for. For anyone who is English and knows who Rick Stein is this man is the French equivalent!! (But sadly no Chalky!) The Aussie bar is lively and friendly, in fact we didn't get a bum deal anywhere!! We had a lovely relaxing time and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice place to chill.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dixyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Back to reality now being back home a week after the most fantastic stay at Baan Bophut. Having never been there before but reading on this site the great reviews I inquired as to whether it would be possible to get married on the beach at the hotel and as it was a very small wedding (just us and 2 friends) Lucy said it would be no problem and indeed there were no problems at all in fact it was perfect! Lucy, Tik and all of the staff gave us a wonderfull day and an excellent holiday as a whole.The hotel and setting are just beautiful, you have the beach to yourselves and yet it's just a short walk to the village where there are some great places to eat and drink. Although you can't really beat the spirit house beach bar for a setting to relax with a cocktail and chat with new friends. Thanks Lucy, you're a star! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank luckylady29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

This hotel met all of our needs with its location on the beach and proximity to enough other things for us to enjoy our stay immensely. We spent most of our days lying on an incredible beach at the hotel, swimming in their pool, enjoying cocktails at the beach bar, and exploring Koh Samui during the night. We had one of the suites, which was incredibly huge, but actually made it a little hard for the a/c to cool, so we would actually recommend one of the sea-view rooms that are not considered suites.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wileyc0y0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews