We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Tanamera
Nearby Hotels
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$409
US$380
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$164
OZOHotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$146
Amari.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Beach Resort and Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
US$307
US$288
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Samui Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Muang Samui Villas(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
US$272
US$263
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Dance Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hansar Samui Resort(Bophut)(Great Value!)
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
190
60
11
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
60
11
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig buddhaliving roomkoh samuismall kitchenprivate terraceclean poolwalking distanceclose to the airportmassage ladiesperfect holidayoutdoor showerchaweng beachbeach sideislandpierskhunthailand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We came to Koh Samui for the Full Moon Party on the neighboring Koh Phangan July 2012. We stayed in one of the Beachfront Villas, and it was extremely relaxing and right on the water. It was the perfect place to relax before and after the craziness that is the Full Moon Party. The Villa manager, Tan, did a fantastic job for us booking our transportation back and forth to the Full Moon Party. He is completely trustworthy, and has excellent advice regarding the best modes of transport. He sent us to the best speedboat service which launced from 3 doors down, and got us a discounted ticket price. We had no issues coming home (walked right onto the speedboat), however we were on the last boat of the day at 7am so that might have played a part as I hear all the lines can be bad earlier in the evening. The rest of our stay at Villa Tanamera was very relaxing. There is a masseuse (unrelated to the villa I think) who gave massages directly outside the villa on the beach that was fantastic (for about $7 USD an hour). Tan also helped us with lunch and dinner reservations, and did a terrific job. I highly reccomend the Big Buddah Cafe (we ate there 3 times), as well as a nice italian restaurant that he recommended on the water in Bophut. If you are like us and wanted to party the night away, but be able to escape the craziness and have a nice relaxing place to recover from your hangover, you cannot do any better than this. It's about a 15 minute taxi to Chaweng. Excellent choice for the value. Only issue - There is only A/C in the bedrooms, not in the living room (which gets hot int he summer). If you leave the A/C running, it tended to drip a bit of water every now and then.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thairambler, General Manager at Villa Tanamera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear "Andy H"

many thanks for the review and and good to hear you had a great time on Samui and Phangan, I agree that Villa Tanamera is ideally located for not for only those who like to relax but also for the visitors who are here to party, its easy to get to to the party spots and its nice to be away form it all when you want to relax.
I have taken note of the aircon issue and we are looking into installing them into all living rooms,

Thank you for staying with us and hope to host you again in the near future,

Milos Kosanovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My hubby, myself and a friend stay here for 14 days in November 2011. From the moment we were picked up at the airport until the day we departed we were made to feel special by Tan, the manager. Anything we needed regarding info was provided and Tan was very helpful in every way. We stayed in the beach villa and the views were amazing. Lots of restaurants to choose from in the area and a few local supermarkets and chemist shops. Big Buddha is within walking distance and there's lots of little shops and a food market near the villas. The ferry to Phangan is a 10 minute walk away and there's lots of taxis and songtews in the area. Taxi prices were 250thb (daytime) and 300thb at night to Fishermans village and a songtew costed 50thb (daytime) and 100thb at night..

Room Tip: The 2 bedroomed beach villas were very nice.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JessNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thairambler, General Manager at Villa Tanamera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear "JessNorway"

thank you for taking the time to submit a review on Tripadvisor, it is much appreciated. Our team is our greatest asset and Tan is the man in charge, we are lucky to have him.

Thank you for the review again, and for choosing Villa Tanamera for your holiday, hope to host you soon again,

Regards

Milos Kosanovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We spent 3 wonderful nights here. We stayed in one of the beach villas and were woken each morning by the sounds of the waves. Tan, the hotel's manager was so helpful always and would go out of his way to help us with anything we needed. Our 3 year old loved him and followed him around everywhere. Breakfast was served each morning in our villa, which was wonderful. Although a cooked breakfast comes at a small added cost, it was really delicious. The pancake is a must try!
The pool may seem small to some but it was perfect for us. The beach has portions where the sand was coarse but it didn't seem to bother our son, who spent a couple of evenings playing football on the beach. The beach is just a small step from the villa. Absolutely perfect!
There are many restaurants nearby that Tan had personally recommended. Khunying is barely a 5 minute from the hotel and serves the best local food at very reasonable prices. Try their pork ribs and fried sea bass. Yum!
We will definitely go back to Villa Tanamera again. I only wish we had stayed there longer. A special Thanks to Tan for making our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neetanikhilneel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Villa Tanamera is not for you if you want pristine decor, complete hotel service or plenty of privacy. It is for you if you want a Samui home from home and to feel part of a little holiday community. Tan, the resident manager, is possibly the hardest-working (and friendliest, most charming) man in Thailand. His genuinely caring attention to detail is superb as is his wicked sense of humour. Ask him just about anything and he will do his very best to help.

The villas are looking a little tired but are spotlessly clean. Furniture is basic but comfortable. Beds are very hard but I like that. Breakfast is basic continental but served with smiles and style. The coffee and croissants are very good and for a little extra you can have a large plate of delicious local fruit. Or go to the Bangrak local market - a 5 minute walk towards the Big Buddha - and choose from an amazing selection of local fruit and veg for ridiculously low prices. The kitchen is adequate but very basic - bring a sharp knife if you think you'll need one. I found grocery shopping at Big C better than Tesco but the minimart over the road has most things you'll need and the owner is delightful (often offering me treats like hot fried banana!).

The setting of the villas is magical, the gardens are beautiful and although the beach can be a little dirty due to the number of boats moored there and the working fishing port just down the way, the view is sensational and I loved being able to hear the waves at night. The pool is quite deep and long enough to do some proper swimming. Poolside furniture is getting very frayed though and should be replaced.

I stayed in both the Poolside and Sala villas. Poolside have gorgeous blue tiled bathrooms, one of which is open air. There are a couple of design faults though which, if remedied, could make them a lot more comfortable. The lighting in the living area and on the balcony makes it almost impossible to read there at night (I moved a lamp from one of the bedrooms) and there is no fan over the living space, it's over the kitchen, so it gets very hot sitting on the sofa. The Sala villas have a small view of the sea from the downstairs verandah and a much bigger view (especially at sunset) from the large roof terrace - a beautifully private spot, complete with shower-with-a-view. The lighting is much better (there is light over the verandah sitting area) and the fan is over the sofa. My only criticism of these villas is that they look directly into their opposite villa over a small path (and I missed the groovy bathrooms of the Poolside!).

Within a few minutes walk are plenty of good restaurants - Khun Ying for fresh fish (though beware the owner upselling), U2 for basic Thai and very good sticky rice/mango, the place with the blue chairs opposite the villas which is only open during the day but does exceptionally cheap and good rice and noodle dishes, the amusingly-named Hip@Chill on the beachfront at Punnpreda Resort for something a little more upmarket (try the tuna carpaccio with celery and parmesan or the prawns and asparagus), and the Shambala for fabulous curries, very friendly service and a crazy cat.

Special mention must go to Dumi, the amazing masseuse based on the beach just outside the gate. She has an astounding instinct for the body and her prices are very low.

I have just left Villa Tanamera after ten wonderful days (extended my stay) and am missing it and the fabulous family there already. So Tan, Tam, Goong, Dumi (sorry if my spelling's wrong!) - I send my love and I will be back soon (don't take too many other bookings, ok?).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bloodgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thairambler, General Manager at Villa Tanamera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear "bloodgroup"

we are grateful for you taking your time to write such a thorough review of Villa Tanamera, it is really helpful receiving such feedback. We are planning a major re-furbishment of the villas later in the year in order to address the guest comments especially the decor and the poolside furniture, and more.
We are vey proud of our team led by Tan, they do a fantastic job, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you back at Villa Tanamera soon,

Best regards

Milos Kosanovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed at Villa Tanamera with my partner for 4 nights in April. Would reccommend it whole-heartedly! We were upgraded to a poolside villa on arrival which was FAB - this had 2 double bedrooms, a lounge, well-equipped kitchen an indoor bathroom and, my favourite, an open-air shower room. Villa Tanamera is a small, beautiful complex, spotlessly clean, lovely (small) pool and direct access onto the beach. Free wi-fi, breakfast served outside by the pool, and plenty of information / help with planning your stay and organising trips / transport etc.
The manager, Tan, was genuinely the most helpful and friendly member of hotel staff I have ever come across. He went out of his way to make sure we had all we needed, and more. For example, we were there during Thai new year and, not being sure we knew local restaurants / shops would be closed one afternoon, he was worried we might not have any food in and brought us some local food for lunch (and wouldn't take any money for it).
The only (small) downside is that if you want to go to some of the busier areas for shopping / restaurants, it is a little way away (cost us around £6-7 each way to Fishermans village - highly reccommended for dining out!). Having said that there are a few small bars / restaurants / shops within walking distance.
We had an amazing time here, and I will definately stay here again (and for much longer if possible!) when I am lucky enough to come to Koh Samui again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovelucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thairambler, General Manager at Villa Tanamera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

Dear "lovelucia"

thank you for taking time to review Villa Tanamera on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate your comments. Im glad you enjoyed the upgrade to the Poolside Villa, the out door showers are a hit with our guests and its nice to hear that Tan took such good care of you, he is a star!!!

Thank you again, and looking forward to welcoming you back at Villa Tanamera soon,

Best regards

Milos Kosanovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews