We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money. Bad location though”
Review of Villa Tanamera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Tanamera
Ranked #57 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Although situated near Buddha beach pier, this place was very unnoticeable and took us a long time to find out. Even the taxi drivers were unaware of this hotel and have a tough time figuring out its location. Tough to get taxi available after 1030PM to move to Chewang or other happening areas if you want to venture for for partying at night.

If you require peace, avoid studio as it is facing the road and there is loud music coming from opposite bar. there are only 2 studio rooms, both facing the road. You will get better places in this price. We booked room with breakfast - which had very limited/no choice - there is just cornflacks and toast etc, even eggs are charged. There is no kitchen in this place, breakfast is prepared in a corner of hotel managers office. Beach is good but has dead fishes floating.

While booking the room from agoda, we specified that the room should not be facing the road. However this information was not provided either by agoda or on the hotel website. Upon arrival, when we refused to adjust to the noisy studio, the manager very bluntly gave us 3 choices -
1. take this room
2. pay for the upgrade (though discounted to thb 500)
3. leave and look for another place OR talk to agoda directly to sort.

Thanks to Agoda, after a 45 minutes call they assisted us in complimentary upgrade to pool side villa as we almost decided to leave this place to another hotel.

It is an good place to stay if you are travelling in a group of 4 or more. you can opt for bigger villas with 2 rooms.

Room Tip: Look for more options around this hotel incase you want to stay in this area
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drifterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
There are newer reviews for Villa Tanamera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

Love...Love this Villa with direct access to the beach.....looking for quiet enviroment ,peaceful atmosphere and a complete rest....than stay here. There are only 6 villas with a small swimming pool. The villa that I stayed known as Sala Villa comes with 2 rooms ,living room , a kitchenette , TV, DvD/ CD player and a private roof terrace with a beautiful sea view. I spent 5 nights. There are good restaurants nearby. A 10 minits drive will take you to the Fisherman's Village and approx.15 min to the Airport. The Resident Manager is so helpful and likewise the staffs. The place is clean. Not a single complain. Will definitely go back and will try to get the Beachfront Villa....

Room Tip: Travelling in 4's than I would suggest the Beachfront (best) or Sala or Poolside Villas. Single...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yes062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Tan is a gentleman. He can't do enough to help you out.

Great place for a stopover before our flight out the next day. Tan suggested we go to the Fishermans Wharf for the evening to check out the market - he was right! It was very good and the wife got the ring she was looking for.

They also drove us to the Wharf, collected us and then did the same again the next day for the airport. Excellent service.

We were 2 adults and 2 boys under 4. They loved the pool. We stayed in a poolside villa which was perfect for what we wanted.

Recommended!

Room Tip: If you want the Beach Villas then you need to book direct on the Villa Tanamera website, but Tan sai...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickety152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights, nothing to complain about: the staff is very helpful, the location is quite convenient, very close to the airport without the downsides, the hotel is very nice with pool villas all equipped (small kitchen!). I recommend this choice, mos def

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Tdewoillemont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012 via mobile

We've stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel was clean, small and cute. Staff was friendly. It has beach access but I never saw someone swimming. Web stayed at the studio room though beachfront villas looks amazing. Especially in late night, pure Serenity.

The only negative thing I would say is the location. There's not much to do around rather than Big Buddha which you can easily access with a daily tour from Chaweng or Lamai or anywhere in the island. I would definitely stay at Chaweng next time. Please remember that my review is for the low season, maybe better during high season. What you must do is reyting a vehicle, taxis and rest of the transportation options are blackholes for your pocket.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Respector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thairambler, General Manager at Villa Tanamera, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Respector,

thank you for your review, and for staying with us at Villa Tanamera. Sorry that the location wasn't to your liking, I agree that it is a quiet and relaxing part of the island and taxi or motorbike is needed if one wants to visit Chaweng or Lamai. For most of our customers this is seen as an advantage as those areas are busy and noisy and most people prefer to just visit for the day but actually stay somewhere else, more quiet.

Best regards

Milos Kosanovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Villa tanemera tripadv yorum; rooms are clean, cozy, bathroom and toilet are clean. Lush green athmosphere but the hotel is on the main road. Even at was low season there was too much noise also there is a bar just across the street which is quite noisy too. We stayed at the studio room, probably beachfront villas are more relaxing.
The area is not the best place to stay in samui. Since there are better locations like Chaweng and Lamai there is no need to stay in Bo phut.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karabay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thairambler, General Manager at Villa Tanamera, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Karabay O,

thank you for your review and the nice comments about our rooms and gardens. It is true that the main entrance is on the main road, and the studio room has windows facing both the beach and main road, while all the rest of the villas are in the gardens on the beach side. The studio room is very good value for holiday makers on a budget, and I am sorry you found it noisy. Please note that we are not in fact on Bophut Beach, we are located in Big Buddha Beach. Bophut is the next beach along, West of where we are located. I agree that Chaweng and Lamai are suited to those who are looking for busy areas with bars and nightlife, our beach is more on the quiet side,

Thank you for staying with us,

Milos Kosanovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here for our honeymoon in 2009 and all i can say is how amazing the hotel and staff were.... I honestly can not say one bad thing about villa Tanamera and Tan was just great to us and booked us in to some really amazing restaurants and really really could just not do enough for us.... anything we asked he instantly knew what we wanted, he made our honeymoon that extra bit speacial. We stayed in one of the beachfront villa's and every morning awoke to have breakfast on the veranda over looking the ocean.... it was so beautifull.... 2 ladies would be just outside (mother and daughter) who would give the greatest massages and i took full advantage of this, they were lovely people. All in all if anyone is thinking od staying here please please do not hesitate, you will never regret it!!! We have sent friends and family to stay and they have all come back saying the same as me and now myself and my husband will be returning with our son in March 2014 for 3 weeks and i can not wait!!

Room Tip: Beach front villas are amazing, a real touch of luxury
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimy117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thairambler, General Manager at Villa Tanamera, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear kimy117,

thank you for a great review, we are glad that you picked Villa Tanamera for such a special occasion such as your Honeymoon, and we are looking forward to seeing you again with the new family member,

Best regards

Milos Kosanovic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.4 mi away
The Privilege Hotel Ezra Beach Club
1.8 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#18 of 184 in Bophut
990 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#55 of 184 in Bophut
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Boujis Boutique Resort
Boujis Boutique Resort
#25 of 103 in Chaweng
108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Choeng Mon
704 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saboey Resort and Villas
Saboey Resort and Villas
#42 of 184 in Bophut
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tanamera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tanamera

Address: 34/28 Moo.4 | T. Bophut Amphur, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#31 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £32 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Tanamera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the front of Bang Raks Beach these Koh Samui villas are a combination of relaxing place and modern elegance. Each villa boasts 2 bedroom, living room and kitchenette and features a balcony or terrace. Whether you're a couple looking for a quiet and romantic getaway, a family looking for a cozy place to holiday, or even a larger group wanting ultimate privacy and service, our private Beach Villas resort are the right choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Tanamera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tanamera Hotel Koh Samui
Villa Tanamera Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing