We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money stolen from safe!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Free House Bungalow
Ranked #122 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a full moon package. Upon arrival we were greeted by a rude woman who had no idea of our booking. After talking her through it we were taken to our room. The rooms are perfectly acceptable however for the same price we had stayed in a much better bungalow half an hours drive away. However the next day upon returning after a trip we noticed our room had been disturbed. Our first thought was to check the safe where we had found 3000 baht, 10 us dollars and 20 GBP had been taken from the safe. When we asked the same lady who had been rude to us the day before, she claimed to know nothing and we were treated as if it was our fault.

Would not have booked here if it hadn't been as a package.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

I arrived on the 27th May at sunset. Dumped my gear in my bungalow. Went for a quick swim. Then found the next morning that while I was out briefly "some one" went in and stole $300us, and 10000baht from my room. The staff refused any liability, even though no one else was around at the time of the theft. They were also really rude and unhelpful. No not stay here.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you want to have money stolen out of your safe , poor customer service , over priced food which tastes diabolical then stay her ! They also try to scam you if you want to rent mopeds and the hotel is miles away from everything . I hope know one stays here but if you do good luck , you will need it .

Room Tip: Don't get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sam5555510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great little beach bungalows. I stayed here one night waiting to catch the ferry to Koh Tao, and this was a perfect little Thai place. There is an open bar on the beach. The rooms were nice, good AC, clean and decent water pressure--and HOT water!! I would have stayed here longer if I had not already booked ferry tickets. This place is not fancy--and it was perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dixiegirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This resort is well positioned to The Fisherman's Village. Food at their restaurant is a bit on the pricey side compared to eating out in the village but it was very tasty. Rather have breakfast some where else. It is a small resort and is quiet unless you have noisy neighbours. The shower room is very spacious and the bed is comfortable. The patio is great but the chairs are very uncomfortable and need replacing. Hammock is a great idea but ours had a big hole in it. The front lady is not very friendly and gets grumpy but is helpful when you book tours through her. Massage area on the beach is lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llevieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This place has exactly everything you need to stay on the beachfront on a budget. Rooms - comfy beds, functional showers with hot water and toilets. Your own little space outside the room complete with a hammock. The rooms are just behind the bar/restaurant (which is right on the beach) and are set on either side of a path with the most beautiful frangipani and other flowers. The staff (owners) are Oh and Kaeu and they ensure that your stay is the most relaxed it can be. The food there is exceptional - I a mean true Thai and so fresh and so cheap. Note: I have given up nights at 5 star hotels in Samui to spend extra nights in the place.
For a true beach experience stay here - all you need is your bed, toilet, hammock, the bar, the food, the sand and the sea. It is a very difficult place to leave.

Room Tip: If you want to pay a little extra - get one with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuinOfTheState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a small, business with a bar/restaurant and some small bungalows. The location is beach front and a short walk away from Fisherman's village (great restaurants/bars/shops). The rooms are clean and tidy and th beds are comfy. The staff were friendly and eager to help. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
2.6 mi away
Samui Mermaid Resort
Samui Mermaid Resort
#106 of 185 in Bophut
277 reviews
7.2 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
449 reviews
3.7 mi away
Behind The Scene Hotel Club @ Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Samui Heritage Resort
Samui Heritage Resort
#85 of 185 in Bophut
148 reviews
3.9 mi away
Marine Bungalows
Marine Bungalows
#239 of 319 in Ko Samui
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Free House Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Free House Bungalow

Address: 175/7 Moo. 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Price Range: £14 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Free House Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mini-resort offers 4 bungalows near or on the beach. They are pet friendly, and accept all major credit cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Free House Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Free House Bungalow Hotel Bophut
Free Hotel Koh Samui
Free House Bungalow Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing