We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNSAFE SAFE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Free House Bungalow
Ranked #113 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“UNSAFE SAFE”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

THE WORST hotel I've ever stayed at! I have been to some horrible places but this beats them all!
I had money stollen from my safe and the staff seemed to know nothing about it! They wouldn't give me any names or tell me who the manager is... the slim women at reception is so rude and unhelpful. Never came across someone as horrible. I am the paying customer!
Never ever stay here!
Horrible staff. Room has no air con! And then to have money stollen! Was to stay 3 nights but only managed 1! The hotel is also a bit far from the town.... so why stay here? Go spend your money else where!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cozbawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    45
    24
    15
    21
See reviews for
23
54
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a full moon package. Upon arrival we were greeted by a rude woman who had no idea of our booking. After talking her through it we were taken to our room. The rooms are perfectly acceptable however for the same price we had stayed in a much better bungalow half an hours drive away. However the next day upon returning after a trip we noticed our room had been disturbed. Our first thought was to check the safe where we had found 3000 baht, 10 us dollars and 20 GBP had been taken from the safe. When we asked the same lady who had been rude to us the day before, she claimed to know nothing and we were treated as if it was our fault.

Would not have booked here if it hadn't been as a package.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bophut hotels

Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I arrived on the 27th May at sunset. Dumped my gear in my bungalow. Went for a quick swim. Then found the next morning that while I was out briefly "some one" went in and stole $300us, and 10000baht from my room. The staff refused any liability, even though no one else was around at the time of the theft. They were also really rude and unhelpful. No not stay here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you want to have money stolen out of your safe , poor customer service , over priced food which tastes diabolical then stay her ! They also try to scam you if you want to rent mopeds and the hotel is miles away from everything . I hope know one stays here but if you do good luck , you will need it .

Room Tip: Don't get one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sam5555510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great little beach bungalows. I stayed here one night waiting to catch the ferry to Koh Tao, and this was a perfect little Thai place. There is an open bar on the beach. The rooms were nice, good AC, clean and decent water pressure--and HOT water!! I would have stayed here longer if I had not already booked ferry tickets. This place is not fancy--and it was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixiegirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This resort is well positioned to The Fisherman's Village. Food at their restaurant is a bit on the pricey side compared to eating out in the village but it was very tasty. Rather have breakfast some where else. It is a small resort and is quiet unless you have noisy neighbours. The shower room is very spacious and the bed is comfortable. The patio is great but the chairs are very uncomfortable and need replacing. Hammock is a great idea but ours had a big hole in it. The front lady is not very friendly and gets grumpy but is helpful when you book tours through her. Massage area on the beach is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llevieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This place has exactly everything you need to stay on the beachfront on a budget. Rooms - comfy beds, functional showers with hot water and toilets. Your own little space outside the room complete with a hammock. The rooms are just behind the bar/restaurant (which is right on the beach) and are set on either side of a path with the most beautiful frangipani and other flowers. The staff (owners) are Oh and Kaeu and they ensure that your stay is the most relaxed it can be. The food there is exceptional - I a mean true Thai and so fresh and so cheap. Note: I have given up nights at 5 star hotels in Samui to spend extra nights in the place.
For a true beach experience stay here - all you need is your bed, toilet, hammock, the bar, the food, the sand and the sea. It is a very difficult place to leave.

Room Tip: If you want to pay a little extra - get one with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuinOfTheState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.6 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#95 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#77 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#17 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#52 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cactus Bungalow
Cactus Bungalow
#9 of 151 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boardroom Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Free House Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Free House Bungalow

Property: Free House Bungalow
Address: 175/7 Moo. 1, Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Free House Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mini-resort offers 4 bungalows near or on the beach. They are pet friendly, and accept all major credit cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Free House Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Free House Bungalow Hotel Bophut
Free Hotel Koh Samui
Free House Bungalow Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing