We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip Top”
Review of Cocooning Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cocooning Hotel
Ranked #77 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My wife and myself stay here for two days. It is a small hotel with a friendly feel. The rooms are small and basic but clean and put together well. You cant beat the price is such a nice area of Samui It is in a great location and the owners do anything they can to help you. They give you all the local knowledge not just in Samui but the islands close too.
Next time we go to Samui we will be going back to thank them for there help.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toshtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

The biggest asset of Cocooning is, without a doubt, the awesome owners. Welcoming, helpful, energetic and filled with great advice. I'd highly recommend staying here - particularly long term travellers looking for somewhere friendly and good travel advice from locals.

Stayed for two nights. Would have extended our stay but they hotel was booked out the next night.

Western beds! Yay! Nice room, clean, and had a safe. Safe was too small for laptops (not important for most people though!).

Wifi was fast and reliable - except not so much in our room (we think our room might have been getting interference from something though as the moment you stepped outside it was perfect).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem_TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I previously stayed at this hotel two years ago and it was ok so I chose to stay again as I loved the location. Bo phut being a lovely little chilled out place. When we arrived we were welcomed by Dave, Theresa and Brett and felt comfortable throughout. Always accommodating and helpful be it with tips on travelling around or advice etc we were well looked after. The room we had was the suite and for what we paid was great value, nice clean rooms and clean place. Good relaxing vibes and we felt part of the 'crew'. I'd say stay if we want to chill out or starting your koh samui travels here and work round. All in all great little place and great people. Try and stay Friday for the walking market also ;)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I stayed at this little treasure of a place for just one night but will definitely book here again. The location is spot on for Fisherman's village and the beach is just 2 minutes walk away. The owners Dave and Therese are very welcoming and make you feel like its a home from home.
The rooms are fresh and clean and tastefully decorated with a comfortable bed and joy...proper pillows, not the usual hard lumpy Thai type. There's a flat screen TV and DVD player and WIFI available.
The little plunge pool by the bar looked inviting and is on my 'to try' list for next time.
Thanks guys for a great short visit, see you next time.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
Thank TMcNSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights recently and will definately go back. The new owners Dave & Therese will go out of their way to help their guests and the breakfasts are not to be missed. The location is excellent and offers a great alternative to the hustle and bustle of Chaweng & it is only a five minute taxi ride to the airport for those flying in or out. The rooms are very clean and nicely furnished/decorated with a flat screen tv, DVD player and private balcony. Both Dave and Therese have made Thailand their home for over ten years and are more than willing to help guests with any queries or advise they may need, whether it's about diving, visa runs or which beach to visit. A top spot!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyKeeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I wouldn't normally write a review for a hotel but this one was so great and the owners so welcoming, that I felt the need to put something online about it. Really nice hotel, great location, very friendly staff and awesome full english breakfasts!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

My wife an I stayed here for 3 nights and we couldn't ask for more. I called in after a recommendation from a local bar/restaurant manager. I met Dave an Theresa, the owners, an they were extremely helpful. He told me the price for a double room, an after realising he only had availability in his suite (for the first night), he was kind enough to let us have that for the same price!!
The rooms were perfect for us, air-con, flat screen tv, DVD player!
The location is fab too, just nicely on the quiet edge of bophut fishermans village, but literally a stone throw to the centre. Perfect location, as bophut is definitely our fave place on the island. I'd recommend this place for sure!! Thanks again Dave an Theresa.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonge21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
5.9 mi away
Chaulty Towers
Chaulty Towers
#17 of 51 in Lamai Beach
249 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant
6.5 mi away
Bonny Hotel
Bonny Hotel
#19 of 51 in Lamai Beach
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#59 of 185 in Bophut
317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aspira Samui
Aspira Samui
#116 of 185 in Bophut
77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samui Heritage Resort
Samui Heritage Resort
#84 of 185 in Bophut
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocooning Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocooning Hotel

Address: 6/11 Moo 1 Fisherman Village | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Cocooning Hotel & Tapas Bar)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#54 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £25 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocooning Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes walk from the beach and perfectly located at the quiet end of the villages many shops and restaurants, Cocooning is a tranquil paradise and a great place to enjoy Samui from. Great value for money, the hotel is very competitively priced for the area and perfect for couples, families and singles of all ages. You will be guaranteed a warm welcome from Dave and Therese, the hotel's owners, who are by far the hotel's biggest asset. The dynamic duo from England and Sweden have lived in Thailand for over 10 years, offering a wealth of experience and local knowledge. They started their journey on Koh Tao where they met and worked in the diving industry, until they set up their first business together running a very successful beachside bar and restaurant. They were later married and looking for a new adventure with the imminent arrival of their first child, set their sights on Cocooning in 2012. They instantly added something special to the hotel and their little personal touches can be seen throughout. Service is most definitely with a smile and guests are made to feel instantly at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cocooning Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocooning Hotel And Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Tapas Bar
Cocooning Hotel Koh Samui
Cocooning Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing