We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secret Garden Beach Resort
Ranked #23 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at the Secret Garden for five days (Nov 2012). Loved everything about this place.

The room: adequate, big bathrooms, hot showers, working A/C... the only thing was that the bed was rock solid (common in Thailand). Clean sheets changed daily. One complaint I had was that at night, there was a party on the road across from the resort so... imagine listening to the Gangnam Style four times a night wasn't pleasant though. Wifi worked well in the room.

The restaurant: best thing about this resort was the restaurant & bar. Right on the beach, served great food, drinks (smoothies, cocktails, fresh juices) and snacks. You can seat at the restaurant, or one of the shaded huts in the garden and watch sun setting on the beach. Great!

The beach: this was my first time to Big Buddha Beach, and I was surprised at the quality. The sand soft and the water was swimmable (despite there is a seatran? ferry pier next door) the water quality was better than, dare I say, Bophut. Personally I like plane-spotting, so great to see planes flying over from Koh Phangan and landing at nearby airport. At night I would go out to the sea and the water was calm enough for a perfectly tranquil night swimming.

The location: Bangrak was a lovely area. It reminded me of what Bophut once was (10 years prior). Peaceful but has all the modern conveniences. ATM just around the corner, great noodle place as well as somtam vendors just next to Samui Pier Resort, mini mart and massage huts all within splitting distance.

I stayed in three resorts in Koh Samui and one in Koh Phangan over the course of three weeks, and despite it not equipped with swimming pool, Secret Garden was the best out of four resorts. Will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    149
    31
    9
    10
See reviews for
50
281
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Due to a longer-than-expected cab ride from the port, we arrived about an hour late to this hotel only to find out they had given our reservation away!
Very disappointed in their complete lack of understanding or customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is the first stop in koh samui...went to hotel bar and restaurant for brunch...very enjoy the view and the staff very friendly. Food was fantastic and i try pina colada...it was very nice...bar owner was very friendly and asking if he can took our picture for there broucher cover, and of coz we said yes...look forward to see it when i come back on december...this was very special moment for me.

Room Tip: ask for sea view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airtravel2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Short taxi ride from koh samui airport, but cost 500 baht £10.00

No one at reception, but sign pointed to bar, where we were met by polite staff, and given beach bungalow number 4.

The huts are right on the beach, well maintained, cheap to rent, good A/C, tv & DVD, but showers are not powerful enough to remove sand from everywhere! There is a safe in the cupboard, and the doors can be secured. WIFI is quick! So you can plan trips and book accommodation.

Staff are polite, helpful, and the food and drinks at the restaurant / bar are also nice.
Room is cleaned daily, and water placed in the fridge.

Room Tip: Please wear beach shoes!!!! We walked west, along the beach, and there was broken glass all over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Lovely spot, great service, good value and good food. This place is right on the beach, which is perfect. It's also a short taxi ride to Chaweng if you want a big night out.

We also hired a scooter for a day from the hotel. It was very well maintained - slightly more expensive than elsewhere but worth it for the added comfort of knowing it was a decent bike.

If in doubt, book! This place is great!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This place defied our expectations for the better! When you pay such a good price you expect to unpick certain flaws but I can honestly say my partner and I were blown away by the kindness of the staff, the surrounding views and the bungalows which were a delight to stay in. We stayed here for 5 nights and were gutted to leave!

Absolute top marks to Jan and everyone who made our stay a very memorable one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maxi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were looking for a hotel not far from the pier as we were taking the ferry early the next morning and check-in this pace by chance. We could have stayed longer. Very clean rooms, friendly staff, very friendly atmosphere. Had excellent live music in the evening. the restaurant and beach area is really great to relax.
congratulation to the owners, you can tell they really put some effort into details.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cothai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.4 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#16 of 185 in Bophut
978 reviews
2.2 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 185 in Bophut
1,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#11 of 185 in Bophut
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Beach Resort

Property: Secret Garden Beach Resort
Address: 22/1 Moo 4, Ban Bangrak, Big Buddha Beach | Suratthani, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#14 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#17 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden Beach Resort is a small boutique resort with 14 accommodations, beachfront restaurant and bar, tropical garden with swimming pool and a large beach area with loungers, umbrella's, restaurant/bar service and Thai massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Secret Garden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Beach Hotel Koh Samui
Secret Garden Beach Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing