We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy People”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secret Garden Beach Resort
Ranked #23 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Happy People

Secret Garden is one of the most fun places I have stayed at during my entire Thailand trip!
The staff was friendly; the Sunday buffet was out of this world and the cocktails during happy hour was even better.
The Bungalows is a 30 sec walk to the beach and you can hear the water when you fall asleep at night.
The setting is idyllic and you have to pinch yourself sometimes to remind you that you are not dreaming.

Room Tip: Stay in the Bungalows they are the best!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
There are newer reviews for Secret Garden Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

A really nice location on the front, the beachside bungalow is well worth the money. Open the patio doors and the sea is right there in front of you.

The restaurant is very nice and serves some fantastic food both Thai and non-Thai for very reasonable prices.

The staff are also very friendly and 'happy hour' brings in a lot of the English expat. community, which was great for meeting new people.

All in all, what you see in the pictures is exactly what you'll get - Reccomended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Benpg1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

After reading the good reviews my girlfriend and i booked here for 3 days. When we arrived at The resort we're directly approached by The resortmanager "mr. Touch". Hè kindly attended us to one of The Bungalows. A very good start of our stay. The bungalow was amazing, seperate bedroom, kitchen, livingroom and bathroom. And this in just 10 meter from The beach. Which is perfectly clean and beautiful.
We liked it so much we immediately booked for another 3 days. One of the owners 'John' came to say hi in the evening and offered us a drink after closing time. Just very attentive.
We decided at first that we would eat outside of the resort, but the food was so good that we stayed in the resort. The kitchen was very diverse and very good especially regarding to the price. The cocktails on the other hand were a bit pricy, but for this they have happy hour.
Also very clean rooms and resort. The staff is brilliant and speaks very good English. We would definitely recommend this resort, like I said "paradise"!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Roos1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Got caught in the rain so walked into secret garden, and we are glad we did! Staff are extremely friendly and food is delicious and reasonably priced! Restaurant is right on the beach with an awesome vibe, would recommend the samui dream cocktail and sweet and sour chicken! Will be back for happy hour!

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Rhiannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Based on the reviews from TA I zero'd in on Secret Garden (SG), located at the Bang Rak beach / Big Buddha beach, about 30mins taxi ride (400B) from the Nathon pier.

The property is right on the peaceful and calm Big Buddha beach, known locally as Bang Rak. There are around 6 individual hut kind of accommodations. We stayed in a Beach Side villa (1400b), which is technically closer to the beach but one can barely see a hint of the sea from the patio in the front. For a really sea-view option, try the beach front villa.

The rooms are spacious enough for two and the bathroom is quite big and in a lovely open air design. They had a electric kettle, TV, DVD player and AC in the room. The service is one of the highlights for this resort. They employees in the restaurant area are very courteous, pleasant and welcoming. You can easily find yourself getting into a conversation with them and they also know when to leave you alone.

We found the food there to be above average and dined there couple of times during our 5 day stay. SG has a 7/11 department store, ATMs, restaurants and smaller bars all in a 5mins walkind radius. I was happy to chose this location over Lamai Beach as this one was lot closer to Chaweng area where we frequented almost every evening. We hired a bike (280B) for the 5 days, which gives you a lot of flexibility and convenience. Also taxis are very expensive here. Traffic is minimal compared to Bangkok and the roads are lovely.

La La the resident mongrel is a great companion while you are in the resort and she too knows to leave you alone if you are not up for it! I wouldn't mind to come stay here again if I do a Samui trip in the future.

Thanks John and team.

Room Tip: A beachside villa is not beach front but away from the road, so quieter
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krishna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We would like to thank John and the staff members for making our stay at Secret Garden part of an awesome journey in Thailand!!! We had a lovely time!

They offer great service, daily room cleaning, good food and a great atmosphere. Daily happy hour and BBQ on Sundays which was delicious! Relaxing stay with beautiful views!

Close to airport, seven 11, ATM, Fisherman's Village. This spot is picture perfect!!!!

We would definitely recommend Secret Garden and we will see you guys again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stsnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at the Secret Garden for five days (Nov 2012). Loved everything about this place.

The room: adequate, big bathrooms, hot showers, working A/C... the only thing was that the bed was rock solid (common in Thailand). Clean sheets changed daily. One complaint I had was that at night, there was a party on the road across from the resort so... imagine listening to the Gangnam Style four times a night wasn't pleasant though. Wifi worked well in the room.

The restaurant: best thing about this resort was the restaurant & bar. Right on the beach, served great food, drinks (smoothies, cocktails, fresh juices) and snacks. You can seat at the restaurant, or one of the shaded huts in the garden and watch sun setting on the beach. Great!

The beach: this was my first time to Big Buddha Beach, and I was surprised at the quality. The sand soft and the water was swimmable (despite there is a seatran? ferry pier next door) the water quality was better than, dare I say, Bophut. Personally I like plane-spotting, so great to see planes flying over from Koh Phangan and landing at nearby airport. At night I would go out to the sea and the water was calm enough for a perfectly tranquil night swimming.

The location: Bangrak was a lovely area. It reminded me of what Bophut once was (10 years prior). Peaceful but has all the modern conveniences. ATM just around the corner, great noodle place as well as somtam vendors just next to Samui Pier Resort, mini mart and massage huts all within splitting distance.

I stayed in three resorts in Koh Samui and one in Koh Phangan over the course of three weeks, and despite it not equipped with swimming pool, Secret Garden was the best out of four resorts. Will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
1.4 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#21 of 184 in Bophut
991 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Privilege Hotel Ezra Beach Club
5.8 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Saboey Resort and Villas
Saboey Resort and Villas
#42 of 184 in Bophut
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#10 of 184 in Bophut
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Beach Resort

Address: 22/1 Moo 4, Ban Bangrak, Big Buddha Beach | Suratthani, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#17 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £29 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden Beach Resort is a small boutique resort with 14 accommodations, beachfront restaurant and bar, tropical garden with swimming pool and a large beach area with loungers, umbrella's, restaurant/bar service and Thai massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Secret Garden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Beach Hotel Koh Samui
Secret Garden Beach Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing