We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good in Parts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Melati Hotel has a beautiful location on a lovely uncrowded beach. It is set in delightful gardens and the staff are courteous and friendly. The food although limited is delicious and of an extremely high quality. The resort is very quiet and relaxing indeed.

But ...

when we arrived after an 8 hour transfer (including airport time) from Bangkok , hotel reception which was well manned was fairly disinterested in us having assumed we were part of another party. It then transpired that our booking was incorrect and instead of 2 interconnecting rooms for us and our 10 and 8 year old we had one (too small) room. The other party was having the same problem as their booking was a cock up as well. Again the hotel wasn't that interested or helpful. We finally got to the small room and waited over an hour for our bags to arrive so couldn"t go down to the pool or do anything. We felt very neglected and a bit sad.

When we got to the beach, pool area it was filthy and in chaos. It was Thai New Year and very busy. clearly the staff were a bit overwhelmed. We were recommended the buffet (restaurant was closed ) and as we had been travelling all day and were exhausted we couldn't face leaving the resort. We were told the cost was two adults and children half price. We made the best of our stay and Kuoni refunded half our accommodation cost so we did not end up out of pocket but would have preferred not to share with our children much as we love them. At the end of the stay it transpired we had been charged for four adults at the buffet ( total £120+). My husband tried to raise the matter but again disinterest - I had signed the bill ( in the pitch dark after a trying start to our stay) and it was tough as far as the manager was concerned. It left a slightly bitter taste to a pleasant stay.

The resort is a distance away from the action which was fine with us but others struggled with it. Probably not a place to stay with teenagers for any length of time unless they just like the beach/pool. We had a great trip to the National Marine Park by speedboat and spent a happy time snorkelling.

Room Tip: go for a first floor room if you can. Grand deluxe is not really anything other than standard. Bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahlllllllllP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa for your family holidays on Koh Samui and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

The team and I are very glad and thankful you found our resort relaxing and beautiful with a courteous and friendly service.

Please allow me to inform you regarding your bill for your BBQ buffet dinner we didn't over charge you and we did well charge only 2 adults + 2 Child (half price). I have even your signature on the receipt where It is clearly stated 2 adults + 2 child. I'm sorry you are thinking we did not charge correctly but actually we did.

I hope you had a safe journey back home you and your family.

Once again, we are very grateful for your feedback and hope that you will give us a chance to serve you again in the near future.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,
Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We arrived at Melati after travelling from London - Dubai - Bangkok - Koh Samui, only to be told that our room had been double booked. We were offered a night's stay at another lesser hotel. After much deliberation we managed to receive our money back for the one night we missed and in addition a BBQ dinner.
When we did finally start our stay at the hotel, the resort is very nice. Friendly staff, great facilities and lovely rooms. Only negative I would say, is the location is far from anything else (Chaweng / BoPhut) and a taxi into town is c. £10
All in all, great hotel however the initial error tainted this part of our journey

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MistryMan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort and Spa as your home to stay on Samui Island and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are glad you enjoyed the resort and our food and we are very sorry for your "bad start".

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,
Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

As you arrive into the resort it has the traditional Balinese feel which gets you right into the mood of a holiday. The reception was friendly and a welcome cool facial towel was quite unexpected. The room was great with all the modern facilities you expect from a five star resort and the private pool was an oasis. The restaurants were wonderful with both traditional and western foods avaliable. All the resort facilities were great and the night entertainment and themed nights on the beach made our stay here even more memorable. The only thing a bit disappointing was we were not allowed late checkout but this was only minor and not a major issue. Over all a great place to stay and we will be coming back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Walterwhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort and Spa as your home to stay on Samui Island and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are glad you enjoyed the resort and our food. Please trust your comments will be shared with the all team.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My daughter was married here on 8th April 2014.
Bianca & Esene decided that Melati's was the best and most beautiful place to have their wedding. The amazing pool area which also leads onto the beach was perfect for their photos.
The staff at the restuarant and the pool side bar was fantastic. It was relaxing and also our friends made the holiday and wedding perfect.

Room Tip: Any room you pick would be perfect. They are pool rooms which are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Striller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa as your home holidays and wedding place in Koh Samui.

I would also to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

The team and I are glad you enjoyed very much your daughter's wedding and that you rated our service team as "fantastic".

I hope you had a safe journey home and we hope to welcome again in the near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

Kindest regards,
Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

the resort is very very nice! the rooms are BIG and they give you everything you need
the beach is great and the see is nice and the pools are exelkent
the kids activity are also great!
the only problem is that you need a taxi for every thing and they charge a lot! and the resaurant is VERY expensive the most expensive rest we had in all thiland and we were there for a long time in expensive hotels
but if you want to stay in teh place and money is not an issue then its great!

Room Tip: ask to be near
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Sheila,
Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort and Spa as your home to stay on Samui Island and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.
The team and I are glad you enjoyed the beach, our pool and your kids liked our Kids Club.
I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you & your family again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.
If there is anything I can do for you please reach me via my email matthieu@melatiresort.com.
Kindest regards,
Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We booked this resort holiday because we were looking for a purely relaxing beach holiday with comfort, good food and thai massage in a beautiful spa.
We had room 206 which was a balcony room with views of the tropical gardens and surrounding rooms. The room was very large with a huge comfortable bed. Very clean and comfortable with a large sofa and all the usual amenities you would expect from a 5 star hotel. Rain shower was lovely with a window looking out on to a tropical view. The balcony bath was a unique idea but quite hard to get in and out of! I only used this once to try it out but in the heat and humidity, the lovely rain shower was more than adequate for cooling down.
Room service for ice, sliced lime etc for sun-downers was very prompt with no problems.
The gardens: as everyone has said, beautiful! If you are a keen gardener, then you will love the stunning flowers and planting all set along a waterfall river which steadily slopes down to sea level. I really enjoyed strolling around then, looking at the flowers and listening to the crickets in the mornings.
After a few days we started taking part in the 730 yoga, Pilates and tai chi sessions which lasted about 40 minutes and took place on the beach. There was never more than 4 participants and everything was at a beginners level which was fine for me and my lack of flexibility! Rain and Bank taught these free sessions really well and helped me to get the most out of the relaxing effects of this kind of exercise. Give it a go and enjoy - you feel like you have earned your breakfast once you have done them. There were also 1030 sessions under the shade of the yoga sala at the spa which I did most days too.
Breakfast: a brilliant selection everyday. Hot western food and asian specialities, delicious fruit and pastries. Nothing was missed and they served a very nice latte too. The juice bar: don't miss it. The man there will make up any combination you want with fruit, veg, ginger etc. Gives you a nice morning boost. We favoured going there by 830 each day after a dip in the sea so that it was still fairly quiet.
We had the half board option and were not at all disappointed. The View on the beach had a great selection of thai and italian food although we tended to eat the thai food. Kan Sak Thong was the 'posher' option in a beautiful evening setting. Ann and the team looked after us so well and made the evenings really special with their attentive expert service.
There were regular buffet evenings with a huge range of food on offer which we did once but I am not really a buffet fan and prefer to have a nicely paced meal served at the table. f you have a big appetite and a big family then you may well love the selection on offer with some foods cooked in front of you. Wine is quite pricey at about £35 so similar to restaurants in London.
The spa was really good. 90 minute Thai massages were not cheap at 2200BHT BUT they were really intensive and invigorating! We had the treatments in the air conditioned calm surroundings of the spa complex in the late afternoons but you can also have them under comfortable massage salas by the pool. Very nice if it's quiet but the pool is the hub of activity during the day being right on the beach.
The sanctuary pool was amazing. So quiet and restful during the day. Only about 12 sun loungers so you felt like you were in your own luxury villa with huge pool! It's adults only so the kids have the run of the main pool with plenty for them to do.
We went on a cycling trip one morning to see the local temples and market which was great. A chance to take some nice photos and see some scenery if you are really lazy like us.
We got the platinum privilege card on arrival at 50kTHB as we knew we would spend it all on spa, wine etc. With this you get an additional 12,500 spend which for us was a good deal. Handy when you fancy something from the menu which is not covered by half board option. If you choose these others foods then you pay 50% of the menu price.
Some things to note: if you have wine with your meal, make sure the staff are aware of the privilege card. We had a small wrangle at the end of the trip with invoicing over this. The issue was quickly resolved though when I pointed out the the card can be used for all 'beverages' including wine!
Weddings: there were a few while we were there. I can completely understand why people choose this resort for their wedding as the scenery and facilities are great. We just happened to be unlucky as the wedding parties than came were huge and took over the whole beach pool area, bar and breakfast area. There was no detail of the wedding plans that we didn't know all about due to their volume and obvious excitement... The good news was that the guests didn't bother with the sanctuary pool as it did not have a bar and tended to go to Chaweng for their evening meals.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Jon,
Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort and Spa as your home to stay on Samui Island and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.
The team and I are glad you enjoyed the resort and our food. Please trust your comments will be shared with the all team.
I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.
If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com
Kindest regards,
Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We took a delayed honeymoon to Melati and were not disappointed.
Arrival was a little chaotic - we stood at the front with our bags and no-one taking any interest. Went into reception and again we were acknowledged but not much interest. Eventually got to our room and the passkey didn't work. Not the arrival we hoped for but it got better.
Our bed covered in flowers and "Happy Honeymoon" and a bottle of sparkling and fruit basket.
The room was great- spacious and comfortable, huge bed, nice bathroom and shower and the best bit which was our private pool. Go for this - it really is great to relax by and in your own pool. Outside shower and sala in tropical setting.
Eating is good too - two restaurants plus we booked a romantic beach dinner which was great. Wines can be expensive in Thailand but we loved the local (from Hau Hin) Monsoon wines. Cocktail hours (3 times per day for 2 for one deal) were great and we really enjoyed them.
And the staff - brilliant.

Room Tip: Go for the private pool - large pool near ocean is full of kids and adults pool not as inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255100Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort and Spa as your home to stay on Samui Island and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.
The team and I are glad you enjoyed the resort and we are proud you did choose us for your honeymoon. Please trust your comments will be shared with the all team.
I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you & your wife again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.
If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com
Kindest regards,
Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1.1 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
813 reviews
0.9 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Outrigger Koh Samui Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#18 of 104 in Chaweng
1,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#5 of 185 in Bophut
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 9/99 Moo 5 | Thongson Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#14 Family Hotel in Bophut
#15 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £70 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melati Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melati’s 77 Villas & Suites are a minimum of seventy seven square meters of indoor-outdoor living space with more than seventy percent of all accommodation featuring personal swimming pools. The Resort is embraced by an expansive and lush tropical landscape, featuring a magnificent seven level waterfall accented by Melati’s exclusive seven tier service plan making Melati Beach Resort the ideal destination for those seeking indulgent romance and true relaxation. Melati also features not one but two central pool areas. Located beach front is a massive infinity pool known as The See with amazing views of neighboring islands, a swim-up pool bar and adjacent kids club. The See is the perfect place for those young in years or simply young at heart to while away the day in chilled out comfort; a place to be seen and a place to see. And for those seeking peace and quiet the Sanctuary Pool is a sunken oasis of pleasure reserved for adults only.Further accenting the guest experience are two restaurants, pool bar, lounge, full service spa with beauty salon, fitness center, yoga sala, meditation garden, tour & excursion desk and gift shop. Additionally the resort offers daily activities, limited yet complimentary wifi access for those in need, a complimentary Mac Internet Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melati Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Beach Hotel Bophut
Melati Beach Resort And Spa
Melati Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing