We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing scenery, food and most of all the staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery, food and most of all the staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon for a two week stay April- May. Having never been to Thailand before we were not too sure what too expect.
When we first arrived we were greeted with cold towels, cold water and a flower bracelet for myself, It was such a lovely touch to feel so welcomed and we thought it couldn't get any better from there. The resort itself is AMAZING! Incredible views from almost every point and the beach is immaculately kept, just like everywhere else in the hotel. The rooms are spacious with everything you could possibly need!...UK plug socket, your own beach bag to use the whole stay, flip flops if you don't have your own pair, they really think of everything just to make your stay as easy as it can be. Housekeeping came whenever you wanted and even when we didn't they always called the room to see did we need anything at all. The cleanliness of the resort is a credit to them as there was never one thing out of place. I have never trusted staff in a hotel as much before with my belongings about because I knew everything would be safe.
The resort has two restaurants, which we ate in regularly, and neither disappointed, not once! A big selection on the menu for all types of dishes including european and thai, all freshly cooked to perfection, as well as the breakfasts which were delicious!
Last but certainly not least, the staff were beyond amazing in the whole resort! From Laura, Mai and the girls at reception that could not have done enough for you. Nothing was a task to them they would have bent over backwards for any guest and it was noticeably seen. From eating regularly in the restaurants we grew to know some of the staff, and a few of them stood out. Saifah was always a friendly face to see and was so eager to please whatever you wanted was no problem at all, you can see he puts so much work into his job and it pays off as his staff are second to none. Jack and Korn were incredible the whole stay, by remembering us every time we came to eat it made us feel so welcome, they could not have been any better at their jobs as because of them alone we would come back here and I hope they are recognized for that. Guy the activity manager is also amazing, so helpful and a genuinely nice man, you can tell he really loves his job with all the work he puts in.
Last and certainly not least Brian, the manager was so generous in giving us so much of his time to ask us questions about ourselves, our stay and day to day things. You can see he really cares about this hotel as it was very noticeable the long days - and nights he puts in for his work, and it shows his great relationship with his staff and guests.
All the staff at the Melati resort were so kind to us from the minute we got here. I am pleased to say I have never been in a hotel with staff as pleasant, helpful and eager to please and because of this we will most definitely be back and I really, really hope they are all given recognition for their very hard work, including Brian from higher management!..
It just doesn't get much better than here!

Ps. The 'Disappointed' review people must be crazy because that wasn't the same Melati resort we stayed at!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SCMcEvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa as your home to stay on Samui Island
and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are glad you enjoyed our resort, the restaurants and the service staffs.

At the Melati Beach Resort & Spa we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time and I will be sharing your review with the all team.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    292
    105
    50
    26
See reviews for
314
793
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel. We stayed there for 6 nights and found it very hard to leave the place as the staff who were nothing but friendly, accommodating and caring. The purpose of our trip to Koh Samui was to celebrate my husband’s 50th birthday and this hotel stood out for value of money plus the location on the island was perfect for us as it is close to Fishermans Wharf and Chewang Beach. On this actual birthday they arranged a cake and presented it to him at breakfast; so nice. On the 3rd day I suffered from really bad food poisoning (NOT from the hotel), they arranged for a taxi to take me to the hospital and back to the hotel, the next day there was a lovely bunch of flowers with a get well note. It’s touches like these that make a hotel like stand out from the rest. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and if I were to ever go back to Koh Samui, I’d stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms were clean and the bed was massive - luxuary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa as your place to celebrate your husband 50th birthday, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are glad you was touched by our service.

At the Melati Beach Resort & Spa we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time and I will be sharing your review with the all team.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is how I feel upon arrival. I booked this hotel 2 months in advance for 5 nights mainly due to the nice reviews I saw here, I will reconsider it for next time. The soon we arrive they said our room type is not avalaible and they will make an upgrade, lucky me I toiugh, no, actually is how they deal to do not recognize their own mistake , coz the upgrade was just for 1 night, the day after we were requested to leave the room by 12.00 despite our new room was not ready till 14.00 which I consdier absolutely unacceptable and I how them, after I complaint they "allow" me to saty in the room till 14.00 h. Every day after we left the room for breakfast, we expected to found it properly done and tidy, no day it was done, not even after lunch when we return for a nap after about 3 to 4 hours in teh pool or the beach they never did it; I called many times they promissed to come and nothing happens till I start to yell on them, seems you have to be a rude person otherwise they dont care. Mention separately is the food, stupidly pricey for extremely average quality; nothing was fresh, 3rd class seafood and inexistent thai specialities in Thailand!western food pretty untasty and low quality too. Concierge services the poorest I ver seen; we requested for information about a tout and the aussi girl sitting there just surfed on internet to check it and asked me to do teh same when I asked about the aquarium park , etc. All the rooms are conneceted thus I have to wake up every day at 6-7 am not because of my daughther who use to sleep well til 9.00 am but becasue of my neighbourghs, I complainened twice nothing happens, I asked to change my room, no room avalaible; exactly the sme last day my fligth depsrta 15.30 I asked for late check out (same the one in my room on my 2nd day did) and no room avalaible.
Last but not the least, they arrange for taxi to Chongweng one of those days, costs was 400 THB while from the aiport to the hotel was 500 THB for the same distance, fine; the ridiculous situation was on the alst minute after I already asked to arrange a taxi for cathcing my fligh backk; they organise the van an billed 200 THB per person, included my baby who is not even 2 years yet; thata was the straw thata borkes the camel's back honestly I never received such a poor service just thinking on money all the time. These people mix up the things, receibing 100 times the salutatio sa va dee kap is not a good service but a pain in the neck, I go Thailand for working every month and this is not how it works. I have never ever been treated worst in a definitely non cheap place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alvaro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment and unsatisfactory experience at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.
As customer service remains our top priority, feedback such as yours enables us to improve our service, facilities and therefore we are very grateful to you for bringing the issue to our attention.
On behalf of the management and the resort team, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your partner, please be advised that your experience in no way reflects our dedication to our valued guests.
We are currently establishing an intensive training program for the front office team to ensure that no similar incidents can occur. Melati Beach Resort & Spa has served Koh Samui for over seven years and has done so by offering wonderful accommodation in a warm and caring environment.
We would also take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage - we do hope that the above misgivings will not prevent you from considering our hotel the next time you are in Samui.
If you have additional comments, feedback please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,
Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Where to start! We stayed here for 10 days and on the 3rd day we had our wedding. Marnie did a wonderful job in communicating with us before we arrived organising everything for our wedding. We became a little concerned due to us never have been to Melati, Koh Samui. But from the moment we arrived the staff were outstanding, everyone was so friendly and did everything to accommodate our needs.
Our wedding was absolutely stunning (maybe a little biased) but in all honesty Marnie catered to our every need. Everything we asked for we got, and more. We would it again in a flash. Our guest were also very impressed with Melati
The grounds are beautiful with gardeners maintaining it everyday. The food was excellent (a shame there are not more options) The pools are amazing, the Spa is fantastic value, we did pamper ourselves almost everyday (it was our honeymoon of course)
Thank you again Marnie, and a special mention to John who made our stay very pleasant and all the other staff at Melati.
Ive posted a few photos of our wedding

Room Tip: The Pool Villa is amazing, you have your own pool and the room is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa as your home on Koh Samui and thank you for taking the time to sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.
The Team joins me in expressing our gratitude for such a nice review; we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We actively contribute to provide our guests with the best possible experience and I cannot wait to share your feedback with everyone here at Melati Beach Resort & Spa certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon.
If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com
Kindest regards,
Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Melati Hotel has a beautiful location on a lovely uncrowded beach. It is set in delightful gardens and the staff are courteous and friendly. The food although limited is delicious and of an extremely high quality. The resort is very quiet and relaxing indeed.

But ...

when we arrived after an 8 hour transfer (including airport time) from Bangkok , hotel reception which was well manned was fairly disinterested in us having assumed we were part of another party. It then transpired that our booking was incorrect and instead of 2 interconnecting rooms for us and our 10 and 8 year old we had one (too small) room. The other party was having the same problem as their booking was a cock up as well. Again the hotel wasn't that interested or helpful. We finally got to the small room and waited over an hour for our bags to arrive so couldn"t go down to the pool or do anything. We felt very neglected and a bit sad.

When we got to the beach, pool area it was filthy and in chaos. It was Thai New Year and very busy. clearly the staff were a bit overwhelmed. We were recommended the buffet (restaurant was closed ) and as we had been travelling all day and were exhausted we couldn't face leaving the resort. We were told the cost was two adults and children half price. We made the best of our stay and Kuoni refunded half our accommodation cost so we did not end up out of pocket but would have preferred not to share with our children much as we love them. At the end of the stay it transpired we had been charged for four adults at the buffet ( total £120+). My husband tried to raise the matter but again disinterest - I had signed the bill ( in the pitch dark after a trying start to our stay) and it was tough as far as the manager was concerned. It left a slightly bitter taste to a pleasant stay.

The resort is a distance away from the action which was fine with us but others struggled with it. Probably not a place to stay with teenagers for any length of time unless they just like the beach/pool. We had a great trip to the National Marine Park by speedboat and spent a happy time snorkelling.

Room Tip: go for a first floor room if you can. Grand deluxe is not really anything other than standard. Bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahlllllllllP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort & Spa for your family holidays on Koh Samui and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

The team and I are very glad and thankful you found our resort relaxing and beautiful with a courteous and friendly service.

Please allow me to inform you regarding your bill for your BBQ buffet dinner we didn't over charge you and we did well charge only 2 adults + 2 Child (half price). I have even your signature on the receipt where It is clearly stated 2 adults + 2 child. I'm sorry you are thinking we did not charge correctly but actually we did.

I hope you had a safe journey back home you and your family.

Once again, we are very grateful for your feedback and hope that you will give us a chance to serve you again in the near future.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,
Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We arrived at Melati after travelling from London - Dubai - Bangkok - Koh Samui, only to be told that our room had been double booked. We were offered a night's stay at another lesser hotel. After much deliberation we managed to receive our money back for the one night we missed and in addition a BBQ dinner.
When we did finally start our stay at the hotel, the resort is very nice. Friendly staff, great facilities and lovely rooms. Only negative I would say, is the location is far from anything else (Chaweng / BoPhut) and a taxi into town is c. £10
All in all, great hotel however the initial error tainted this part of our journey

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MistryMan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort and Spa as your home to stay on Samui Island and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are glad you enjoyed the resort and our food and we are very sorry for your "bad start".

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,
Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

As you arrive into the resort it has the traditional Balinese feel which gets you right into the mood of a holiday. The reception was friendly and a welcome cool facial towel was quite unexpected. The room was great with all the modern facilities you expect from a five star resort and the private pool was an oasis. The restaurants were wonderful with both traditional and western foods avaliable. All the resort facilities were great and the night entertainment and themed nights on the beach made our stay here even more memorable. The only thing a bit disappointing was we were not allowed late checkout but this was only minor and not a major issue. Over all a great place to stay and we will be coming back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Walterwhites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Melati Beach Resort and Spa as your home to stay on Samui Island and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are glad you enjoyed the resort and our food. Please trust your comments will be shared with the all team.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Melati Beach Resort & Spa.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at matthieu@melatiresort.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1.1 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
4.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#6 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 9/99 Moo 5 | Thongson Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#14 Family Hotel in Bophut
#14 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Melati Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melati’s 77 Villas & Suites are a minimum of seventy seven square meters of indoor-outdoor living space with more than seventy percent of all accommodation featuring personal swimming pools. The Resort is embraced by an expansive and lush tropical landscape, featuring a magnificent seven level waterfall accented by Melati’s exclusive seven tier service plan making Melati Beach Resort the ideal destination for those seeking indulgent romance and true relaxation. Melati also features not one but two central pool areas. Located beach front is a massive infinity pool known as The See with amazing views of neighboring islands, a swim-up pool bar and adjacent kids club. The See is the perfect place for those young in years or simply young at heart to while away the day in chilled out comfort; a place to be seen and a place to see. And for those seeking peace and quiet the Sanctuary Pool is a sunken oasis of pleasure reserved for adults only.Further accenting the guest experience are two restaurants, pool bar, lounge, full service spa with beauty salon, fitness center, yoga sala, meditation garden, tour & excursion desk and gift shop. Additionally the resort offers daily activities, limited yet complimentary wifi access for those in need, a complimentary Mac Internet Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Destinology, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melati Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Beach Hotel Bophut
Melati Beach Resort And Spa
Melati Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing