We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

I spent my holiday there in Aug 08 with my wife. The resort is very new. The room is very big and clean. The swimimg pool is huge and beautiful. We were very impressed on the good breakfast. I would like to reccommend the Friday night buffet. All seafoods were fresh and worth for money. The beach is very peachful and quiet. It was a good for relaxing holiday. A lot of mosquito but it is a normal in Thailand. Don't miss to try the spa. It was very nice relaxing time. The service is super. Most of the staffs were friendly. They tried hard to please all guests.
It took about 15 mins from hotel to the Samui center, Chaweng Beach. The hotel shuttle buses also were provided. It was quite convenient when you needed some shopping. I will definately go back there again when looking for a good relaxing vacation!

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Thitigorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    887
    292
    105
    50
    26
See reviews for
314
793
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

WHERE:
Melati is situated approximately 20 minutes from Chaweng by car, and ten to fifteen minutes from Samui airport. It is about five minutes off the main-road that goes around the island, in Thongson Bay, on the north-east tip of the island I think.

THE HOTEL:
The hotel has a "main-buiding", where you find the reception, breakfast restaurant, tour-desk and internet-room/small library with a few books and dvd's (not much). The main-building lies farthest away from the beach (together with the spa and the fitness-centre).

The rest of the hotel consists of two two-storey buildings with four grand deluxe rooms in each, and many villas spread around the beautiful gardens.

The gardens are beautifully kept, and we were actually surprised about how few mosquitos there were. I don't think any of the rooms really has a view of the beach (maybe some with a sea-view), but it feels like you are in a tropical jungle/rainforrest (though not too jungle-ish), so it's nice views anyway.

Down by the beach (and the pool) is a restaurant, a bar and a (very small) kids-club. This area is really, really amazing. The pool is an infinity-pool, and the restaurant is located close enough to the beach to hear the waves rolling in. It's a very romantic setting.

THE ROOMS:
For the first six days we stayed in a grande deluxe room, on the second floor. The room was great, with a huge bed, plasma tv and dvd, small changing room, big! bathroom, separate showerroom and terrasse with a tub. It felt really private. We were really happy with this room, and were glad we hadn't spent any money on an upgrade.

But because the air-condition broke down, we were moved to a pool-villa. This villa was really amazing, with a private garden and pool, and views over the "acient" pool (a pool in the middle of the property). So of course, if money don't matter, I would recomend the pool villa.

In order to get a villa down by the pool, and closest to the beach, I think you would have to book a presidential suite (most suited for families). But there is a wall around the villa, so it doesn't mean you get a better view.

THE BEACH:
Very quiet (we were alone), but not very good for swimming. To shallow, and too many rocks in the centre of the beach. But the sand was white and it was better than busy busy Chaweng.

THE RESTAURANTS:
There are two restaurants, one that serves breakfast and dinner in the main-building, and one by the pool/beach which is open all day.

In general I thought the food was good, but not better than one would expect from a five-star resort. Also I thought the restaurants were too quiet. Very few people. But this was the overall feeling at the resort. Probably since they had just opened.

They had a house-band that played guitar and sang for you every evening in the restaurant by the beach. I'm not too found of having someone standing by my table singing, but it was really nice to have live music though.

THE SERVICE:
It was easy to notice that the hotel hadn't been open very long. The staff was very nice, and smiling, but things didn't run as smoothly as it should. The room service took too long (up to 45 mins), the laundry came back a day late, more than one waiters served your table (therefore the same questions several times) etc. Don't misunderstand, they really try, but maybe almost too much; and then it's no longer as professional as you would like at a five-star resort..

THE SPA:
Beautyful setting, but have gotten better massages elsewhere. Had aroma massage and deep-tissue massage, and it wasn't a huge difference. Also had french pedicure, but could have been better. But the staff at the spa are great!

All in all we had a great stay at Melati. It was a huge relief checking in there after only one night at Muang Samui Spa Resort in Chaweng (Chaweng never again). But it's quite quiet there, so it's best for a relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — Pool, quiet location
  • Disliked — almost none spoke well english
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tipfromme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

We are a family of three, kid 4 yrs old, and stayed here for 10 days in a pool villa suite from 12 july to 22 july. The villa was great (but ask for a good location as resort is long and narrow) pool was cleaned every second day, housekeeping was good. Restaurants have good food and beach restaurant has a fantastic view and a cool breeze. Must -try: the seafood BBQ every friday night. The chef was very forthcoming and he'll prepare special dishes too.

The location is nice and out of noisy Chaweng, so if you book this hotel you want it peaceful and quiet. Shuttle bus to Chaweng works fine, you can also get a car with driver quite cheap too for as long as you want. Safer than renting a car!

The staff is very welcoming and try hard to please guests, maybe too much. Our boy is shy and didn't appreciate the constant attention from every staff.

The problem is that there are too many small issues all the time to make this a five star hotel. Staff forgot what we ordered many times in the restaurants,and you don't get real answers if you ask for something and they can't deliver. Maybe it's cultural, you won't get a 'no' but instead silence. It took us a week of repeated requests to get an electric mosquito plug for the villa.

Yes, there is a real mosquito problem, but if you ask them to spray your garden often you will survive. Be aware that this problem also exist in Chaweng, so it's not unique for Melati.

All in all, a great experience but not yet professional enough to be a five star resort.

  • Liked — Hotel facilities and friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Too many small issues not resolved professionally
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sandnesfamilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

Melati beach is a resort that you would either love or hate. you cant be indifference about Melati, unless you are spending every day and night outside the resort, which is unlikely since melati is far from the main area in samui (chawing).

I went to melati with my b.friend for 3 weeks, and we faced many problems of such that you dont expect to see in a 5 star resort.
before you go melati, please do learn some thai, coz u will have a great difficulty geting any answers from the staff even the people in reception. noone speaks english in this 5 star hotel, few basic words is the max it gets to, so dont be suprised if u see the staff shaking their head to anything u say!!!
the spa is too quite, and u will get extremly bored since there is no forms of evening or daytime entertainment. and dont get fooled by best dinner in samui, its a trick. they cant even cook a simple burger for which they charge almost 3times the price in the outside of hotel restaurants.

the hotel is 20min from the main area of samui and u need to put aside 500bat for ur taxi there. 500bat is the hotel taxi price, but dont get tricked like we did, coz if u walk 3minuted down the road u get a taxi from outside the resort and they charge 300bat, but hotel will not tell u that!!! infact they avoid telling u anything involving outside hotel activities.

the swimming pool is the amazing part of melati. they are two pools, one massive one. however, after the second week, the pool got cleaned only once!!! people cleansed their flipflops in the pool from the sand, and the sand was left in the pool until the day we left.
the rooms is the second best part of melati. massive, amazing, a mini house. we had the junior pool suite. it was A****. however, we didnt get to swim in our mini pool coz of the mosquitos, who terrorised us day and night in melati, eventhou we bought our own repelents. the hotel repelent lotion that is left around the room, gets charged on ur bill twice the price of a whole bottle you can buy outside.

overal, melati is amazing for those who are not bothered with 5star service, and want to relax and get pampered expensively. otherwise, reconsider your choice since you will be dissapointed by many things, including the food, service, activities, prices, and staff problems.

  • Liked — room and the swiming pools
  • Disliked — the service provided by the staff and food quality
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank eliza21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2008

Very good hotel !
personel was very friendly.
Rooms were very beautiful !
Food was also very good.
Swimmingpool was fantastic.
We have seen one musquito !!!!!!!!
For us it was paradise.
It was our honeymoon and everthing was perfect.
We really want to go back.

  • Liked — the swimmingpool
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cindy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2008

Me and my boyfriend came to Melati for our annual vacations and we stayed there for 7 nights (6/7/08 - 13/7/08). Both of us come from Greece and we both have very great travelling experience, as my boyfriend is a prominent doctor and we travel at least 10 times a year staying always at 5 stars hotels. So, this is our experience from our staying at Melati. 1. Melati is on the making; it is not finished yet so there is a lot of things to be done still. 2. The private beach is very small, the waters are very shallow and the sea has plenty of seaweed and small rocks. 3. The main swimming pool is very small for a 5* hotel, very shallow (max depth 1.20) and not very well kept. 4. There are only 2 restaurants serving a very limited selection of food and "the Deus ex machina" there is the hotel chef Aurellio who goes to any length to save the day. 5. Housekeeping maintenance is hardly acceptable. 6. The private "pool" in our garden pool villa room was never attented and the water was never checked out. We both totally avoided the use of it. 7. Although it was not the raining season we had heavy showers and thunderstorms 3 days out of 7, so be prepared. 8. There must be found a way to control the mosquitto problem because nothing else we tried could stop the little monsters from sucking your blood and the problem is really a Big One. 9. The location is in my opinion as bad as it can be since it's far from the heart of island's life. A taxi is necessary to take you there and get you back.
On the bright side the staff is excellent, very polite, always smilling, eager to serve and as a matter of fact the did everything to prepare a very nice birthday party for my friend. It's the only thing that makes "the clock ticking".
So, to sum things up: we came here with great expectations for the best vacations of our life as advised by our travel agent whom we held greatly responsible for the dissapointment we have experienced and we ended up wishing to get back home as soon as possible or else " Country road take me home to the place I belong....."
This place has the potential to be a great resort as they wish it to be but a lot of work needs to be done yet.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — The beach, the sea, the pool
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Triplover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1.1 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
4.6 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#6 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 9/99 Moo 5 | Thongson Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#14 Family Hotel in Bophut
#15 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Melati Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melati’s 77 Villas & Suites are a minimum of seventy seven square meters of indoor-outdoor living space with more than seventy percent of all accommodation featuring personal swimming pools. The Resort is embraced by an expansive and lush tropical landscape, featuring a magnificent seven level waterfall accented by Melati’s exclusive seven tier service plan making Melati Beach Resort the ideal destination for those seeking indulgent romance and true relaxation. Melati also features not one but two central pool areas. Located beach front is a massive infinity pool known as The See with amazing views of neighboring islands, a swim-up pool bar and adjacent kids club. The See is the perfect place for those young in years or simply young at heart to while away the day in chilled out comfort; a place to be seen and a place to see. And for those seeking peace and quiet the Sanctuary Pool is a sunken oasis of pleasure reserved for adults only.Further accenting the guest experience are two restaurants, pool bar, lounge, full service spa with beauty salon, fitness center, yoga sala, meditation garden, tour & excursion desk and gift shop. Additionally the resort offers daily activities, limited yet complimentary wifi access for those in need, a complimentary Mac Internet Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Destinology, Travelbag, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melati Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Beach Hotel Bophut
Melati Beach Resort And Spa
Melati Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing