We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #21 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We are very confused about this hotel. Reading the comments before it is getting even worse!
In the first place we booked the Chaweng Regent beach resort of the same company, but we were offered the alternative to stay at Melati because of the renovations at Chaweng Regent. Although we booked a premier room at Chaweng Regent they would not offer us a better room then the standard 'Grand Deluxe' room. Because it was our honeymoon we prefered an upgraded room (Private Garden Pool) but we could not get that room without paying a lot of extra money. We finally decided to pay the extra money because we were affraid to be dissapointed on arrival. So we booked the Private Garden Pool.
The time we arrived they gave us the check-in form with the room-type Grand Deluxe. After we said that we booked the Private Garden Pool, they ahd to look in up and we got the right room. But... why do other people on honeymoon get a free upgrade to this room and we had to pay a lot of extra money for it?
This was our last hotel in Thailand after having stayed in 3 other hotels we expected more of the privilege of beying honeymooners. We only got flowers one day and no champagne, etc.!
As mentioned before by other people, the hotel is far from the centres of Chaweng en BopHut. We reccommend to hire a motorbike. Very cheap and easy to use! Do not take the hoteltaxi - very expensive! The shuttle bus is okay, but goes only 3 times a day.
The rooms are nice but we had a lot of ants in the bathroom en in the minibar area. Breakfast is quite good but not as you would expect from a 5 star resort. We've had better. The service at the pool restaurant is very poor. They work with 1 waiter per visitor (really!) but they did not manage to give the service you would expect.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelatiManagement, Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2010

Dear RJF2010,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Perhaps there is some confusion howerver.

Upon reading your review we pulled your information and contacted the travel agency you booked with. Based on the detail we have been provided, the travel agent had no mention, nor did our Resort, that you were on a honeymoon. Also the information indicates you were contacted by the agency prior and offered a promotional price for upgrade, which you denied. Beyond, in fact we market and pride ourself on being 10 - 15 minutes from the heart of Chaweng as we are a destination resort ideally for those seeking a peaceful and romantic getaway and not targeted for those seeking the adventures of Samui nightlife. Thus I am not sure where the confusion lies but certainly regret you didn't enjoy your holiday.

In reference to your comments about service, we have certainly taken note and will evaluate our guest experience and do our best to improve as we move forward.

Again, thank you for your feedback and should the information we have be incorrect, please do contact the resort and ask for the manager as I would be happy to learn more of your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

Really friendly staff, always happy to help. Their English is perfect and there wasn't any occasion where we struggled to discuss anything, from asking about places to go, to questions about food / culture, to arranging day trips out, to sorting out the final bill.

The resort itself is really beautiful, clean and maintained on a daily basis. There's a nice ambiance around the place, and Thai music played at the restaurant - sometimes live. Speaking of the restaurant, the breakfasts were amazing. Huge variety of foods from fresh fruits, fresh breads, various cheeses, cereals, usual hot foods such as beans, hash browns etc, as well as a variety of Thai meals. They will also cook you any egg breakfast you want and make you fresh juice of your choice. Really good! Dinner meals were also really good, though slightly pricey compared to eating outside the resort.

Rooms were great. Being honeymooners, they upgraded us to the room with a private pool! As you can imagine, this was greatly appreciated! Room was pristine, and we didn't see a single bug in our time there. Room had a massive bed (could fit a whole family on it!), nice indoor and outdoor shower, decent selection of channels (nice Samsung TV for me to not miss the football on too), and was well kept.

We sampled the Melati Thai massages too which were available at the resort, and have to say they were really relaxing. The beach was a nice 10 minute walk, though they're happy to cart you down there in 5 minutes if you ask them - we just preferred to go for a stroll. The main swimming pool is really nice, and the beach is clean.

All in all - it was ALMOST perfect for us. The ONLY downside I would say about the Melati is it's location relative to Chewang Beach. They provide a shuttle bus 3 times a day to and from the resort for 200 Baht per person, which is decent, but it's still a shame that it's a bit far. We ended up getting taxi's quite a bit, which cost us about 300-400 Baht depending on negotiating. It is however, close to the airport, football golf, the big budda temple, and is in a nicer part of the island. It's also a fantastic resort, so as long as you're aware of the distance to Chewang (main place to go really), then it's great (it's about 15-20 min ride).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phmzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We arrived at the Melati Hotel, as the sister hotel, the Cheweng Beach Hotel had unexpected building work and after extensive negotiations we opted to spend the last 9 days of our holiday at the Melati hotel. We booked our accommodation via Ebookers and they were amazing at helping smooth over the hiccup of changing hotels and not having to pay an additional £1000.
The first thing to say about the Melati Hotel is that the ambiance & rooms are quite spectacular. The rooms are huge although you do have to watch that the maid hasn’t left the shower blinds open for the dreaded mosquitoes to visit. Ignoring for a moment that the hotel is totally isolated it is situated in a gorgeous location, has two swimming pools of which one is an infinity pool literally feet from the very secluded ,quiet and virtually private beach and there are always plenty of sun beds around the pools and the beach.
The hotel has extensive water features that attract mosquitoes and we were all bitten at this hotel, my husband extensively. Hiring a car, costing about £20 a day is a must if you want to see some of the Island (highly recommended) and to escape the exorbitant and fairly limited menus of the two hotel restaurants. We travelled out to eat each night & the local restaurants are very welcoming and good value that you won’t be disappointed. The Hotel offer theme evenings each night but these are £25 per person while to visit an island restaurant a meal for four would be around £25 in total.
The restaurant on the beach offers a limited international menu and is perhaps the least welcoming restaurant we visited in the whole of Koh Samui. We had to ask for tables nearest to the sea even though they were empty. Staff in this gorgeous beach location restaurant were surly and unfriendly to say the least and always gave us the impression that guests were anything but welcome. Other staff were incredibly friendly and professional notably the lady who welcomed us and the very jolly buggy staff.
Breakfast was adequate but not as good as other 5 star hotels we have visited.
Overall we had a wonderful time here. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelatiManagement, Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2010

Thank you for your feedback.

Comments such as yours allow us to evaluate and improve our overall guest experience so that we may better serve you and all others in the future.

Based on your valuable comments we are currently reviewing our entire Food & Beverage program.

On behalf of our entire team, I hope we can welcome you back in the future so you can see that your comments have been addressed.

Be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Just got back from 6 nights at Melati for our honeymoon and we had a really great time. After reading tonnes of tripadvisor reviews, I chose this hotel and I was not disappointed.
Arriving in Koh samui early in the morning, we were welcomed by friendly staff at the airport, transferred to the hotel in an SUV (not free, quite expensive actually) warmly greeted at the hotel, cold towel, refreshing drink, etc.. check in was quite easy, then given a brief tour of the resort on a golf buggy and taken to our room...

The room was the best bit about this hotel, stunning, we had the pool villa and its really great, well decorated, massive bed, great outdoor area with private pool.. etc, we really loved it. Upon request, the room was decorated with flowers on the bed etc, for the honeymoon and about an hour later, they delivered a fruit basket with a bottle of sparkling wine, which was also nice. My only complaints about the room would be that there are far too many mosquitoes, we only used the outdoor pool a couple of times for this reason.. because we just kept getting bitten and it wasn't pleasant. Please note, this mosquito problem exists all over the island and is not specific to Melati, however, they do have a lot of ponds and water features at the hotel which can add to the problem. You always have to keep ur room doors and windows shut to keep them out which is a bit annoying, yet. when the cleaners come to make up the room, they leave the door wide open as the clean so the mosquitos just go right back in..very annoying. We complained to the hotel and they provided extra coil and repellent which was nice.

The pool area is also really beautiful with an infinity pool overlooking the bay, which is quite stunning especially in the mornings and in the evening.. The pool staff are quite rubbish though. They don't speak great english, and were not very attentive, had to ask for a menu 3 times and even after they brought it, they didn't come back to take the order..
Drinks and food, when they were actually served were really good, but pricey, as one would expect in a 5 star resort. Remember, there's 10% service charge and 7% tax on everything..
The resort is quite child friendly and hence its quite a family place, with a childrens area etc etc.. so expect families with children around, I wasn't expecting this, but it wasn't too bad..

Breakfast is not up to scratch for a 5 star resort, probably more like 4 star.. not a massive spread, but not terrible either..staff were not very attentive again and we did not receive good service during breakfast..not very impressed and probably one of the things that prevented me from giving 5 stars..

Dinner's at the resort can be taken at one of the two restaurants either by the reception of by the beach, we at by the beach twice, very nice atmosphere, live band (amazing) and great food.. a bit pricier than outside the resort, as expected..

Location.. lots of reviews moan about the hotel being out of the way, this is not really the case.. about 10 mins to Fisherman's Village (highly recommend, amazing restaurants) and 15 mins to Chaweng (main area in Koh Samui and very nice beach). whilst the hotel does provide a shuttle service, they charge 100bhat ppn each way.. and its only 3 times a day.. which isnt great.. private taxi is 500bhat each way which is just a rip off.. so, what we did and what I recommend if you're not scared, is to rent a scooter (250-300 bhat per day) and you can go wherever you want, whenever you want.. its not dangerous at all, helmets are provided and you can rent the scooter from the hotel which means, no scams! We had one for all 6 days and went everywhere with it, even to the otherside of the island.. which was a bit far and perhaps a car would have been better that day..u can rent a jeep for about 1000 a day, still cheaper than one return trip to chaweng by taxi.

Koh Samui is amazing, so if you're still debating whether to go or not, just go.. you won't regret it..

Melati is a wonderful resort, with a little more attention to service etc, it could be up there with the best!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anuj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Owner at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We stayed at the Melati Beach for 6 days in August. The staff are outstanding, very friendly and helpful, nothing was a bother for them. We arrived early off our flight and our room was not ready, however we were given another one to use to sleep and freshen up at no charge until our room was ready. The restaurants are great and the food is superb. The location is great if you are after quiet R & R time as the rersort is about 15 minutes from Chaweng which is the biggest town. The hotel runs three return shuttles a day for guests at 100 baht per person each way which is very cheap. You can easily arrange any tours or excursions from the hotel, cheaper then what we could pre-book from home via an agent. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moochNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

This hotel is brilliant and made for a fantastic holiday for my boyfriend and i. We arrived from singapore to the rather quaint koh samui airport and were picked up by a transfer. The staff could not have been more accomodating on arrival and our villa host drove us on a little golf buggy to our room. I would advise anyone to get a private garden pool villa. They have a good location in the centre of the hotel site, as one end by the beach to the reception is actually quite a walk. They are very large, beautifully decorated and the small private pool is lovely. We did not feel like there were a lot of people staying at the hotel, and the ancient pool provides a quiet oasis away from any kids at the main pool.

There is a large variety of food and drinks served, even for an 8 day stay. I would note that the cost of the drinks is quite high. We spent quite a few days on the beach, which some people in reviews describe as not very nice. However it is more than large enough and the sand is great. Also, there is a lady doing manicures, pedicures and massages at the right end of the beach for about a tenth of the hotel spa cost. Saying that, i would definitely recommend the spa to try at least once.

The hotel organised us a car for the day, at 1,500 Baht for the day. We then decided to take it for a couple of days and they gave us a discount down to 1,000 a day. We drove to the central town area on the east coast. I would recommend going to the restaurant The Library for dinner at night, it is part of the designhotels group and the food is also great. I would also highly recommend, if you are there for a special occasion, and dont mind a more expensive meal, going to the restaurant on the rocks at the six senses hotel and trying the tasting menu. It is an unbelievable view. Remember to arrive at about 6pm to catch the sunset, and request to sit at the front row.

For a day trip, I would definitely suggest going to the national marine park as it was stunning. I had done similar trips in Bali and phuket on the west coast, and the views here beat them both.

Back to the melati - The staff are always helpful, our room was spotless bar they do not clean the private pool everyday which would have been better and there is plenty at the resort to keep entertained. One head's up is to bring or ask for extra mosquito spray as there really are lots...

I would definitely go back to this hotel - it is brilliant

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed at the Melati for our 25th wedding anniversary and loved every minute of our stay. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed in a Pool Ville Suite which was private and relaxing. The main pool is beautiful the beach is small but reasonable private
The Melati is about a 15 minute drive from Chewang beach but there is always a taxi available. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyb40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denis M, Manager at Melati Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
1.1 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
821 reviews
3.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.9 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#16 of 104 in Chaweng
1,326 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#5 of 185 in Bophut
1,938 reviews
1.8 mi away
Outrigger Koh Samui Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melati Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 9/99 Moo 5 | Thongson Bay, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#11 Family Hotel in Bophut
#15 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £104 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melati Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melati’s 77 Villas & Suites are a minimum of seventy seven square meters of indoor-outdoor living space with more than seventy percent of all accommodation featuring personal swimming pools. The Resort is embraced by an expansive and lush tropical landscape, featuring a magnificent seven level waterfall accented by Melati’s exclusive seven tier service plan making Melati Beach Resort the ideal destination for those seeking indulgent romance and true relaxation. Melati also features not one but two central pool areas. Located beach front is a massive infinity pool known as The See with amazing views of neighboring islands, a swim-up pool bar and adjacent kids club. The See is the perfect place for those young in years or simply young at heart to while away the day in chilled out comfort; a place to be seen and a place to see. And for those seeking peace and quiet the Sanctuary Pool is a sunken oasis of pleasure reserved for adults only.Further accenting the guest experience are two restaurants, pool bar, lounge, full service spa with beauty salon, fitness center, yoga sala, meditation garden, tour & excursion desk and gift shop. Additionally the resort offers daily activities, limited yet complimentary wifi access for those in need, a complimentary Mac Internet Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melati Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melati Beach Hotel Bophut
Melati Beach Resort And Spa
Melati Beach Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing