We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place but so much more could be done with Cactus.”
Review of Cactus Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cactus Bungalow
Ranked #9 of 151 Bophut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Amazing place but so much more could be done with Cactus.”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Cactus Bungalows are sitting on an absolute goldmine, they just don't seem to be doing enough with the place. It is in a beautiful setting, the food is absolutely to die for, the owner and staff are lovely, the rooms are ok and something different, bathroom very nice, but they don't seem to look after the grounds very well. There is cute little paths leading to each room, but they are all full of weeds and everything looks like all it needs is a good lick of paint and a little TLC and the place would be perfection! The rooms are also a little bare and could do with somewhere for you to hang your clothes.

The restaurant is pretty much full up every night, it was when we were there anyway. As the food is absolutely top class, as is the service and all the staff are so welcoming and it is in a very nice setting with candles, music, pool table etc.

It is definitely worth a stay, as you will be made to feel very welcome and the dining is a dream however it is just a little sad to see all of its hidden potential not being made!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wigglesworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    59
    23
    18
    12
See reviews for
28
86
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Nice bungalows definitely upgrade to an aircon room as they only have fans in some and no mosi nets and there are hundreds if you leave the windows and doors open. Beds are uncomfortable but staff are nice and location is good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGoGadget_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Of the main area's of Koh Samui; Chaweng, Lamai and Bophut we felt that Bophut was the best. Chaweng was way too busy/loud/dirty to really stay there for too long and enjoy it, although it is nice to visit for a day or maybe two. Lamai didn't really have too much in it but Bophut was a great mixture of lots to do and places to eat and drink whilst having a beach that really allowed you to relax. These bungalows are literally ON this beach.
The location was fantastic. The bungalows are a 10 minute walk along the beach from the famous Fisherman's Village which has some absolutely fantastic restaurants and bars as well as a great street market offering clothes, food, cocktails, bags, jewellery and live music. The atmosphere is something to be experienced.
The bungalows themselves are small but clean. They have a bed, a toilet, a fan and a shower. That's about it so if your looking for luxury then you may be put off by it. But we certainly weren't and it was more than enough for the little time we actually spent in the room.
The owner and staff were extremely friendly and welcoming from the moment we got there to the moment we left, even arranging our transfer to the airport for us without us even having to ask!
I wouldn't recommend walking along the main road at the non-beach side of the bungalow. It's dirty and has nothing but a supermarket and a pharmacy so if your going anywhere walk along the beach or arrange day trips/taxi's from the kiosk right beside the bungalows.
Would definitely return here. But as I said, if your used to lots of space and luxury and feel you couldn't cope with a small room with nothing in it then this probably isn't the place for you. But for everyone else, I'd highly recommend.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alandaly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This place has to be the most miserable little dump on Samui. A shoddy, shabby fleapit of a place. Filthy rooms (if you can call the hideous little concrete cell a room). The place hasn't had a lick of paint in 10 years (the last time I had the misfortune to stay here). Light bulbs hanging off wires, no mosiquto screens, no TV, no hot shower, no fridge, nothing. You can get much, much better for 600 baht a night else where. Remember Tenko (80's BBC TV series)? Uncared for, unloved - which is a pity because with some TLC and location-wise (right by the beach) it could be great .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I stayed there 5 nights and really enjoyed my stay. For a very, very reasonable price you stay right ON the beach, in a clean, spacious and stylish bungalow surrounded by a beautiful tropical garden. The owner and staff are friendly and helpful, the food and the atmosphere in the restaurant are just perfect. All you may need is right there or next door: massage parlour and fruit sellers on the beach, travel agency / laundry / bike rentals in a small shop behind the bungalows, on your way to the main road. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobry_vecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for the final night of our 3 week vacation. We definitely wish we had stayed for a few more nights. The AC room was very simple but we spent all of our time at the restaurant/bar and the beach that was only steps away. WIFI worked very well at the bar and beach

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alohabrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bergen nh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

The most important of a hotel/stay is the bed, this was the most horrified bed i slept in. The iron springs were sticking in my back and did not sleep at all. Tried to lay on the pillows. This bed was finisht for à long long time. Musquitos al over the place and no net above the bed. Hoe much is that? i dont complain ever because i could sleep everywhere but when i pay for a bed i need a bed no more....

Room Tip: Lots of other hotels near the beach, also next door freehouse seems good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evlessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#45 of 186 in Bophut
1,537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 186 in Bophut
2,296 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#19 of 186 in Bophut
972 reviews
0.0 mi away
Free House Bungalow
Free House Bungalow
#111 of 186 in Bophut
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cactus Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cactus Bungalow

Property: Cactus Bungalow
Address: 175/7 Moo 1 | Suratthani, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cactus Bungalow 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of Bophut Beach. Created 13 years ago and designed by the owner. Still considers itself as a guest house. One of the last old school getaways in Samui. Attractive prices. Great food from traditional Thai to home-made pizza. Cocktail bar (great mojitos) and free pool-table. For the ones who like it smooth and simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cactus Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cactus Bungalow Hotel Koh Samui
Cactus Bungalow Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing