We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to chill and meet people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dijembe Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to chill and meet people”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

As soon as we walked in to Dijembe we had a good feeling about the place. Michael gave us a warm welcome and then Michelle came and found us to say hi along with the lovely doggies! We arrived at a good time and made some great friends - French, Dutch, German, English and somehow roped each other into doing the bungee. The place is thoughfully and rustically designed, hammocks, daily camp fire, recycled items making bird feeders, candle holders. They have a communal meal each night, which we had 3 out of the 4 nights we stayed there. All great cooking and value. Pancakes for breakfast and we had a lovely double room with ensuite. We were sad to leave. It's a place for people who want to meet, swop tales, share a beer or glass of wine - maybe a few! A great time had by all - thank you Michael and Michelle for looking after us so well, we were sad to leave! Definitely stay a few nights!

I did the horse ride, which was ok. Definitely aimed at people who cannot ride just to manage expectations, lovely rescue ponies, who dine in the garden

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natraliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    47
    15
    3
    12
See reviews for
7
73
62
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Wow! Dijembe backpackers is truly one-of-a-kind. We were greeted by a beautiful warm smile and welcome shots! As you pass through the backpackers, you are able to read the walls and walls of stories and comments from all the wandering souls that have been fortunate enough to pass through Dijembe. We were sadly only there for less than 24 hours but in that time I had conversations and food that changed my life :) What an incredible place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We arrived at DIJEMBE totally by chance.... and soon realized how lucky we were to stumble apon such a unique place! A place were we could truly relax and enjoy all the nature around us! Whether we were sitting by the fireplace inside (or out), in the jaccuzi or just chilling on the hammok... we always felt at home! The food was YUMMY- breakfast and dinner! And the freshly backed bread- to die for!!:) We planned on staying for afew hours and landed up prolonging our whole trip just to stay for a few more nights!!
If you're looking for a great backpacker vibe and amazing atmosphere.... with friendly and inviting people- Dijembe is the place to be!!

We're already waiting to go back!!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaelrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Me and my boyfriend visited Dijembe when travelling South Africa with the Baz Bus.
One thing I will say is if you are coming to Storm's River (and you definitely should there is loads to do!) you 100% must stay at Dijembe. Never before in any hostel have I been greeted with such warm and friendly service, it felt like returning to a familiar place. Michelle, what a star, she greeted me like a friend she's known for years.
The location is absolutely beautiful, perfect for chilling outside by the fire with new friends whilst the sun is setting all around you.
Dijembe is also extremely close to all the activities that are offered in the Storm's River area such as black water tubing, flying around the trees being a monkey for the day and of course the Bloukran's bungy jump.
The dorms are incredible, all hand-made wooden bunk beds, a lot of effort has gone into this place and you can clearly see it.
Michelle and the gang really really do all they can to ensure you remember your stay with them!!!
Go to Dijembe, honestly you will not be disappointed..... I will be back...!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

WHAT A BEAUTIUL ATMOSPHERE :))

After a tired few days and some horrifying drama, I arrived at *Home*...
Dijembe backpackers was so welcoming to let me stay in the guest house where I had the whole house to me and my baby :)) What fun we had ;))
An old warm and welcome home, with a BIG yard made my heart melt in two, I never wanted to leave as the freshness of Tsitsikamma filled me with so much excitement!
I have to give a BIG thumbs up for the staff and the owner... they help me with so much as my baby was only then 7weeks old! I even got arranged a smoke :))
I DEFINATLY will go back there, but they must be very careful, I might just stay forever :))
IT IS A MUST if you want to feel the vibe of *at home* and the cost of it, WOW it is basicly for free :)) ENJOY, One love and Blessings, Misty *~*

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MysticGypsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J Bay
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Thanks to dijembe and there team for making our honeymoon so unforgettable. They really went out there way to make it a special moment for us. We will recommend you to all our friends all over the world. And especially that jacuzzi that was the cherry on the cake we have returned many times and we will c u soon again. Guys when i return the fist room outside at the waterfall is mine again love that room. Ps. keep the horses ready, I wish i could have just stayed there till the end of my days maybe we can book a room to retire in hey that would be great. thanks guys lots of love and kisses. sasie

Room Tip: Outside double rooms at the water feature
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chopperdocter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

If your looking for 5 star posh hotels this place isn't your pot of tea. However, as far as backpackers go, this one gripped my heart the most! Such friendly and helpful staff. Huge community feel to the place and a few local kids even come hang out there who are amazing to speak to. Would highly recommend the place. Just be prepared to stay a little longer than you planned because you'll feel homely there before you know it. Thanks to all who made my stay. :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sithresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Storms River hotels
0.4 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#2 of 12 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
#7 of 12 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
At The Woods Guest House
At The Woods Guest House
#1 of 5 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dijembe Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dijembe Backpackers Hostel

Property: Dijembe Backpackers Hostel
Address: Cnr of Formosa and Assegaai Street | Stormsriver Village, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you walk into Dijembe you become a part of what this homely and sustainable lodge's name promises: a circle of friends. Handmade hammocks, recycled building materials, fresh mountain water and small details like the 'frog city' which protects little amphibians in the wild green camping garden, prove the passion of the green Dijembe team. Respecting the Khoisan ancestors, Dijembe not only invites its guests to drumming and dances, but also preserves their heritage by including and strengthening the local community. Visit the local township with its art shops and taverns. Bounce through the National Park and explore nature on foot, affordable mountain bikes or on the backs of Dijembe's horses - or book some tubing. End the day with a wholesome organic dinner and bread from the stone pizza oven, then star gaze from the jacuzzi on the candle-lit deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dijembe Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dijembe Backpackers Hostel Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing