We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dijembe Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We only stayed here for one night but were made to feel very welcome. As it was low season there were only a few people staying so we pretty much had the place to ourselves.

The place was very clean, there was a free breakfast of DIY pancakes, and even a hot tub on the balcony. We took the dijembes and guitars from inside and sat round the fire outside singing, there was a great atmosphere.

All the staff were friendly and chatty, and knowledgeable about the Storms river area

They even had a tame goat named Baz. What's not to like?!

Room Tip: Any bed you pick will be comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fliss1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

It's been an amazing stay in Storms River. Dijembe has a vibe that is more than special. The place, the staff, the animals, the food it is a total package we enjoyed so much. Brad, Helena, Cindy, Wade, James and all the others that made our stay one to remember, thank you! We have been in many amazing places on our travels through South Africa this is one at the top off the list!

Room Tip: There are two perfect en suites and the dorms seemed fine as well. There is a charming cottage at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthijs V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

5 friend & I stayed in Storm's River for one night. Arriving at Dijembe Backpackers, you immediately get the grasp of what kind of hostel it is: maybe not the most "clean" or "fashionable" hostel, but what an amazing atmosphere. Some walls are devoted as a guestbook to those who stayed in the hostel: you can see a lot of people have enjoyed it there and I can see why. The hammocks, the animals in the front garden, the jacuzzi, the wall decorations, ...: it all contributes to the unique and peaceful ambiance of the hostel. The crew was also very friendly and had a lot of nice tips to have a drink or bit to eat in Storm's Rover itself. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubenJacquemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

so much personality here. a pet goat, flapjacks in the morning and beer bread at night. the staff is so interesting and crazy and fun, forget whoever you're traveling with and just hang out with them by the fire. and play the drums or didgeridoo. they'll help you make the most of the area with hike and adventure recs and give you a great laid back, hippie town place to stay. highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room by the frog pond is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDVOisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The crew is very welcoming and good to have lots of fun with. We booked only one night, but wanted to stay longer. So they even arranged a place to sleep outside the backpackers cuz they were already fully booked. I would go back there anytime!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandroid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed with these guys for 2 days in low season and although they do at first seem crazy they are lovely helpful people who are a pleasure to spend time with.

The horses do roam into the bar and the goat will eat your food if you leave it in reach! But the location is lovely and they have a wonderful jacuzzi on the deck that is open to the stars and has mountains of bubbles!

Thank you Guys!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Pug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Dijembe backpackers. Every morning breakfast was ready with great pancakes, lemons fresh from the tree. The double rooms were clean and very nice. The atmosphere was cool, the staff were very kind and helpful, they made our stay in Stormsriver a succes! BTW: good music!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Storms River
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
726 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#3 of 12 in Storms River
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
#7 of 12 in Storms River
202 reviews
21.7 mi away
Rocky Road Backpackers
Rocky Road Backpackers
#5 of 9 in The Crags
115 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
The Fernery Lodge & Chalets
#1 of 12 in Storms River
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dijembe Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dijembe Backpackers Hostel

Address: Cnr of Formosa and Assegaai Street | Stormsriver Village, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Storms River
Price Range: £8 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you walk into Dijembe you become a part of what this homely and sustainable lodge's name promises: a circle of friends. Handmade hammocks, recycled building materials, fresh mountain water and small details like the 'frog city' which protects little amphibians in the wild green camping garden, prove the passion of the green Dijembe team. Respecting the Khoisan ancestors, Dijembe not only invites its guests to drumming and dances, but also preserves their heritage by including and strengthening the local community. Visit the local township with its art shops and taverns. Bounce through the National Park and explore nature on foot, affordable mountain bikes or on the backs of Dijembe's horses - or book some tubing. End the day with a wholesome organic dinner and bread from the stone pizza oven, then star gaze from the jacuzzi on the candle-lit deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dijembe Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dijembe Backpackers Hostel Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing