We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunned at how great this place is for a Backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunned at how great this place is for a Backpackers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

we were 3 couples staying at the Backpackers, on arrival we were met with friendly staff who immediately made us feel so welsome, rustic and beatulully decorated i could not believe that this is actually a back packers. the rooms took my breath away as it was like walking into a guest house, there are many meal options, great food with an amazing evening vibe and bond fire outside.

thank you guys for a wonderful stay i do recommend not paying hotel prices when you can stay at a place like Tube N Axe with awesome accommodation at less the price.

fantastic staff and wonderful owner who you can see takes pride in his work. a birdie told us that he does everything himself including the building. very very impressive

thanks guys and we will see you soon on our next visit

Room Tip: take the double rooms, however the dorm rooms are just as nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank obapty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    57
    26
    10
    11
See reviews for
20
54
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Had a lovely few days here with wonderful staff, lively fun bar, good food available, activities organised and great and clean accommodation.

Rooms looked lovely but we stayed in the raised tent which if you like that kind of thing is great fun, very cheap and a memorable experience.

Try the bungee - an AMAZING experience! Though check the water levels before booking tubing. It was too shallow when we did it so not that much fun, unless you enjoy jumping into the river from lots of different jumps including a tree!

Room Tip: Try the tent for something different and fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Both the backpackers and the area are really beautiful. The backpackers is clean and well maintained and the kitchen was reasonably well equipped. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyx_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

loved the place.
the rooms and gardens were all very neat and clean; helpfull staff, good atmosphere in the bar; we stayed in the family room which was perfect.
Do the canopy tour in StormsRiver, great fun.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G0th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

has a bar and plays loud music but when it comes to rooms:broken bed and heavy food smell, stayed 1 night-not the best place

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sami7986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-Upon-Tyne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

3 of us travelled along the Eastern Cape and generally stayed in upmarket accommodation. When we got to Tsitsikamma however we couldn't find anywhere to stay so decided to give a backpackers lodge a try and it was one of the best decisions we made that holiday. We had done the Bloukrans Bridge bungy earlier that day which was amazing and then booked ourselves on a more relaxing activity, Tree Top Canopy Tours, which was fun and filled with some amazing views as you zipped through the forest. There was a real mix of age groups and the tour was enjoyed by all so don't worry that it might be too much or too little for you. Back at Tube n Axe we filled up on the cheap but tasty food you can order at the front desk and sat with the other guests around the fire drinking and chatting. The hospitable bar staff helped us through a range of shots and a little too much Jaeger to finish off the perfect day. If you meet the barman, Wes, make sure you order a JC le Roux and request Purple Rain. The next day we headed out early for some Black Water Tubing. This was a really amazing experience travelling down stream in a rubber ring, soaking up the sun and views. The water was calm but there are some really fun twists and turns when you go through the faster flowing water. There are also cliff jumps for those a little more daring. I really don't think you can get it wrong in the this place. Whatever you do, you'll enjoy it as the place is so beautiful and the people are so friendly. Amazing.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyrokeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

Really loved the elevated tents to stay in. Good vibe. All round staff were really cool, especially the guys that took us tubing. Pity the water wasnt high , as we had alot of walking to do, but it was all great fun.

Plus the cat there was a real character ( : One thing that would have been nice , was a pool. There seemed to be one there but it was covered up & what not.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smookee-NU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Storms River hotels
0.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armagh Country Lodge Rafters & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#2 of 12 in Storms River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serenity Retreat
Serenity Retreat
#8 of 12 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#9 of 12 in Storms River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge

Property: Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Address: Cnr. Saffron & Darnell Streets, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Storms River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Rriver Backpackers - This fantastic youth hostel is located in Storms River Village on the pulse of adventure and is ranked among the top backpackers lodges in South Africa let alone Garden Route. Our Accommodation offers warm cosy beds, clean facilities, Stormsriver Activities and Adventures. A buzzing night-life attracts travellers from all over to Tube ‘n Axe Backpackers Lodge and Accommodation. Storms River Village is a must visit while in Tsitsikamma and Garden Route area. Tubenaxe is also home of Blackwater Tubing and it is close to the Garden Route National Park at the famous Storms River Mouth – we offer shuttles on a daily basis to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing