We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Travelers Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

During my travels I has the opportunity of staying at the Tube an Axe. I would not call it a back packers lodge as the class of accommodation was 4 star like with extremely helpful and friendly staff. The fellow travelers were a;so welcoming and we had a lovely time. You will not get a better deal from any other place Tube n Axe is the way. Thank you to all the staff you guys are amazing see you next year.

Room Tip: All Rooms are great and clean. I would advise that if you are a couple book a room and not a dorm fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco P N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

We have stayed 2 nights in our little tent before doing the otter trail, and we like it so much that when we finish ed the trail we stayed another 2. Beautiful gardens, cool bar area, free wifi, one of the most pleasant hot showers someone can have, and more than welcoming and helpfull staff (especially Suki and Pumlani). If we come back to storms river we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatiasFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Tube N Axe for two days and had a lovely time. The location is ideal, on the edge of quaint Storms River Village and surrounded by plenty of greenery. The staff are very accommodating and helpful. When you tell them what
you are interested in doing for the day they go out of their way to make it easy for you.

I went out to the Tsitsikamma National Park both days that I was there, forgoing any of the more adventurous activities, and enjoyed both the Waterfall Hike (which is on very challenging terrain) and the one to the suspension bridges that cross the mouth of Storms River. Tube N Axe provides the first transfer to the park for free to Baz Bus travellers, and the cost for the second transfer was about 200 rand.

The lodge itself is lovely and cozy and there is a nice, chill vibe in the common area after dark. You can curl up on a couch, play pool, get a drink at the bar, or go outside to enjoy the roaring campfire they light nightly.

They do a really nice breakfast buffet in the morning for about 35 rand with plenty of freshly baked goodies and fresh fruit to enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelleyabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I called the day before my arrival at Tube & Axe to make a reservation and request pick up at the gas station nearby (which their website advertises they provide for free). I waited for almost two hours and spoke several times with people on the phone who kept saying the driver was coming, although he never showed up and I got a ride with other people.

Everything at the hostel is pay extra. The dorm rooms are spacious and clean, but you have to pay for absolutely everything. The bar tender guy was extremely unprofessional and got absolutely plastered the night I was there and acted like a five year old child. It was ridiculous.

On my way out, I asked for a ride back to the gas station (since again, the website advertises this transport is free) and they said I would have to pay because the shuttle is free only one way-- even though I never got the one way pick up, anyway.

Would definitely recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and bright and the beds beyond comfortable!
The staff were helpful and informative and the atmosphere was quite laid back.
The bathrooms were clean and in good order also. The breakfast...what can I say about the breakfast? The muffins were so fresh from the oven that they were still steaming, the bread obviously oven baked and super fresh also...what more could you ask for?
I've done the tubing a couple of times and have been pretty lucky to get rapids on more than one occasion, even in low water where there are less rapids the guides made sure that we had plenty of fun with always a laugh and joke to be had with everyone and some jumps from high rocks.
I really enjoyed my whole experience at Tube N Axe in its beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I have not stayed at Tube n Axe before because I wlove so close we often go there for something to drink and to play a game of pool.

Moses makes the best cocktails and for the best prizes! He makes the bonfire outside and plays the music loud and everyone has an amazing time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simone V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Lovely setting for a clean, well maintained en-suite room. Good price for room, food and drinks. Helpful staff. Safe village to walk in evening after dark. Visit Marilyn's for cocktails or food. Explore Storm River's Mouth and kayak up the river,
be warned that the waterfall walk is very challenging when you reach the rocks, the canopy tour is a must, visit the big tree and make sure you visit the Total garage on the N2 for a walk across the bridge over the river. It is so beautiful in the Tsitikamma forest and Tube n Axe is a superb place to base yourself.

Room Tip: Private, family room en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrownOwlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Storms River hotels
7.9 mi away
Tsitsikamma Lodge
Tsitsikamma Lodge
#2 of 4 in Storms River
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
Tsitsikamma Village Inn
#1 of 4 in Storms River
943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
Tsitsikamma Backpackers
#3 of 12 in Storms River
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Serenity Retreat
Serenity Retreat
#8 of 12 in Storms River
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andelomi Forest Lodge
Andelomi Forest Lodge
#9 of 12 in Storms River
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dijembe Backpackers Hostel
Dijembe Backpackers Hostel
#2 of 12 in Storms River
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge

Address: Cnr. Saffron & Darnell Streets, Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park 6308, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Tsitsikamma National Park > Storms River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Storms River
Price Range: £20 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Storm Rriver Backpackers - This fantastic youth hostel is located in Storms River Village on the pulse of adventure and is ranked among the top backpackers lodges in South Africa let alone Garden Route. Our Accommodation offers warm cosy beds, clean facilities, Stormsriver Activities and Adventures. A buzzing night-life attracts travellers from all over to Tube ‘n Axe Backpackers Lodge and Accommodation. Storms River Village is a must visit while in Tsitsikamma and Garden Route area. Tubenaxe is also home of Blackwater Tubing and it is close to the Garden Route National Park at the famous Storms River Mouth – we offer shuttles on a daily basis to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tube 'n Axe Backpackers Lodge Storms River, Tsitsikamma National Park, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing